“The Wedding Garment”

Matthew 22: 1-14. The Parable of the Wedding Feast

Jesus again in reply spoke to them in parables saying, “The kingdom of heaven may be likened to a king who gave a wedding feast for his son. He dispatched his servants to summon the invited guests to the feast, but they refused to come. A second time he sent other servants, saying, “Tell those invited: ‘Behold, I have prepared my banquet, my calves and fattened cattle are killed and everything is ready; come to the feast.’ “ Some ignored the invitation and went away, one to his farm, another to his business. The rest laid hold of his servants, mistreated them, and killed them. The king was enraged and sent his troops, destroyed those murderers and burned the city. Then he said to his servants, “The feast is ready, but those who were invited were not worthy to come. Go out therefore, into the main roads and invite to the feast whomever you find.” The servants went out into the streets and gathered all they found, bad and good alike, and the hall was filled with guests. But when the king came to meet the guests he saw a man there not dressed in a wedding garment. He said to him, “My friend, how is it that you came in here without a wedding garment?” But he was reduced to silence. Then the king said to this attendants, “Bind his hands and feet, and cast him into the darkness outside, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth.” Many are invited, but few are chosen.

The Old Testament portrayal of final salvation under an image of a banquet is in Isaiah 25: 6. “On this mountain the Lord of hosts will provide for all peoples. A feast if rich food and choice wines, juicy rich food and pure, choice wines.”

My dear readers: I started with these Bible verses just to tell you that I never understood what the wedding garment truly meant. I always thought that this man was wearing regular clothes instead of a tuxedo. In the commentaries in different Bibles I read that “The Christian who lacks the wedding garment of good deeds will suffer the same fate as those Jews who rejected Jesus.” In others also talk about the need of repentance to enter this banquet. Little did I know that I was going to get an extraordinary explanation of what the wedding garment is all about, and again, just for my own ongoing conversion. I was amazed… But, I will first give you a few of the things I learned before the time when I was going to receive what my Mother called, “the garment of holiness.”  And yes, my Mom has been all over in the last weeks and I must start by saying that she must have been interceding big time for me… AND AGAIN, this teaching is for me to help my daily conversion. With the help of the Holy Ghost, you take whatever may help you, and may be the “garment of holiness” or “wedding dress” may sound ridiculous to you, but it has opened my eyes.

In the last 2 years, this Mom of mine has impressed me much under her title of Our Lady of Good Health or of Vailankanni (probably because of my poor health!)and I have written in a previous recent blog about her apparitions in the XVI C in India, and her Shrine is now considered the “Lourdes of the East.” I wanted to have her image in my house. Of course, it is available in the Internet but I do not have a color printer. And Mama knew it and somehow, she moved the people at the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception to place her image right in front of their publication, Mary’s Shrine – Spring/Summer 2013.  She has been honored at the Crypt Church of the Basilica, in the Oratory of Our Lady of  Vailankanni, which was originally dedicate on August 16, 1997, in conjunction with the 50th Anniversary of the Independence of India. On this past September 8th (her feast day), they had a Mass and the celebrant and homilist was Bishop Antony Devotta of Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu, India. Somehow, she appeared in the front of this small magazine… and I became the rightful owner of her image which arrived on April 3…. But I must say that she had other plans for me as you will find out. This is how God works in our lives. She cannot decide things. God does but of course, she is part of them. You will find out all what she has done since her arrival…For more information, you may Google Our Lady of Vailankanni and you can see her statue and the huge Shrine in the south of India.

But let me start my sharing according to the calendar sequence after my last blog. I want to warn you that almost at the end of this blog on April 21, there is a mistake where the words “The and “The appear and I could not correct them… Sorry… At times I wonder if these computers have their own stubbornness built in!

Back on March 26 and following days, my immune system had been super active. Both of my knees are burning with pain most of the time. My visits to several doctors have not rendered any fruits at all. I had been summoned to offer up all of this suffering in atonement for the sins of the Supreme Court Justices and their June upcoming decision on DOMA and Proposition 8, regarding same sex marriage. On this day, at 8 AM, I was concerned about my lack of answers for my health issues. I was praying the Rosary at 8:30 AM with EWTN during which she sent me to a page in the Bible, 560. Psalms 3 and 4 talk about being “threatened but trusting” and explains what trust in God means. Obviously, it was a call to trust…

On March 27, I visited my retinologist for the third intra-ocular injection and the study done in my left eye prior to the treatment revealed a “dramatic decrease of the fluid behind the retina.” However, on Wednesday, April 3, the same day that Our Lady of Good Health arrived!!!, the good results were gone and a central darkness came back to my left eye. At least my driver’s license renewal is out of the way… This hints to me that the injection has not helped much, and I am even suspecting that I may have become allergic to the medication injected…

March 28 to March 30. I attended Holy Thursday, Good Friday and the Easter Vigil services with great effort, since in two instances I had to drive at night… For Good Friday, March 29, I was sent to pay much attention to my crosses… and to become devoted to them as I kissed the Crucifix. Notice that I have advanced in this journey. Back on February of 2013 I wrote this:

1. I went from an intellectual and indifferent understanding of the need to say “yes” to God’s will, including all crosses but hoping to get rid of them

2. To a calm and collected but still frowning “yes” to my crosses

3. To a peaceful acceptance of my crosses

4. To hourly offering them up for the salvation of souls

5. To offering them up in expiation of the sins of my neighbor

6. To running to welcome my friends, the crosses.

Now I can add 7. To be devoted to my crosses or truly rendering honor to them, old and present, as indispensable agents of my salvation and that of others… and you will see the place of all crosses in the wedding dress… Just wait!!!

As you can see, He was building a case precisely to understand the Garment of Holiness.  In other words, I must be devoted to my crosses as I am devoted to my Mom… I must see in them a greater good, an infinite source of grace, so huge that I cannot afford BUT to be very happy with them…

When I kissed the Crucifix on this Good Friday Service, I did it with a special desire to consecrate myself to my crosses, and this consecration being expressed with my devotion for them.

March 31. On this Easter Sunday I passed on to my theologian son in Nebraska, the digital prayer of Pope Francis…which appeared in my parish bulletin…  and as I continued to translate for him some old homilies of then Archbishop Jorge Mario Bergoglio. My son spoke of this digital prayer through an Internet site and it went viral… Many days later, I received from Costa Rica another site in Spanish with a picture of this prayer… You may like it… if it copies well when I post this blog… If not, here is the place you can find the original

MARIADELRAYOAVALOS.BLOGSPOT.COM

In case you have not read it, in English it says,

 “How our five fingers can help us pray”

1– The thumb is the finger closest to you, so let it remind you to pray for those who are closer to you. They are easy to remember. To pray for our loved ones is “a sweet obligation.”

2– The next finger is the index finger. Pray for those who teach, instruct and heal. This includes teachers, professors, medical doctors and priests. They need support and wisdom to be able to guide others on the right path. Keep them always in your prayers.

3– The next finger is the tallest. It reminds us of our leaders. Pray for the President, members of Congress, corporate leaders and managers. These people conduct the destiny of our country and guide public opinion. They need God’s guidance.

4– The fourth finger is the ring finger. It may surprise you, but it is the weakest finger, as any piano instructor can confirm. It should remind us to pray for the weakest, those burdened by problems or infirmities. They need our prayers day and night. We can never pray too much for them. It should also remind us to pray for married couples.

5– Lastly, we have the pinkie, the smallest of all the fingers, which is the way we should see ourselves before God and others. As the Bible says, “the last shall be first.” Your pinkie should remind you to pray for yourself. Once you have prayed for the other four groups of people, you will be able to see your own needs in the right perspective and will then be able to pray better for them.

 

Some days later, I learned from the Lord in His Eucharistic Presence that this format is very important to know because every time we see our hands, or use them for whatever, they must remind us of the need to pray and of the list of intentions…! So, it is true, it is great imagery for our right brains and a great tool to teach children.

On April 3rd, when I received the image of Our Lady as mentioned above, I prayed much for her Shrine in Washington, D.C. They do not know how much they did for me as she led me to understand the garment of holiness or the  image to grow in holiness. I had also finished translating much for my son from old documents of our Pope Francis, and especially one on the Social Doctrine of the Church, my son’s specialty and delight… On this same date, President Obama announced that 100 million dollars will be spent researching the science of our brains… Personally, I would say that every human being should know in detail what they carry in their skulls, and that is a service to all of us that is extremely important…

I had gone to Mass on Saturday, April 6, since I was not feeling well and mornings are worse. On Sunday April 7, I was able to watch the many programs for the Feast of Divine Mercy and I started “wondering”… In general, I was left with a huge question: “Do we really trust in Jesus?” We have this beautiful Feast and we talk about His mercy and yet, we continue to have evidence that the pews have lost members in the last 60 years, our about the time when the writings of St. Maria Faustina were made public. Have we perhaps spent time talking much about what to do, like doing the will of God  and even about the greatness of His mercy but personally have failed to be dressed in holiness attire which will lead us to truly trust in Him and this way, to testify to His love and to have His mercy descend upon us like never before?

I wrote much as I sat to ponder what apparently the Spirit of God was asking of me… I wrote, “To do the will of God is not a concept but a disposition without fears, questions wondering or doubts about tomorrow. The Divine Mercy devotion should be more than saying the Chaplet of Mercy. The devotion should be a journey of formation to say the “yes” that Our Lady said, one of TOTAL TRUST in God. It is not a fragmented yes here and there and repeating like parrots, “Jesus I trust in You.” It is a way of life where I need graces to become the best servant possible. These graces can come only from the Love of God, the Holy Spirit. And He can enter the recesses of my soul to shine in my areas of darkness, but only when I STOP WONDERING ABOUT EVERYTHING as the Israelites did in the desert. Otherwise, I will stay in the DESERT OF my own mind surrounded by sand and cactuses (my lack of trust) and without the good soil to give life to the graces seeded by God in my soul.

I wrote much and I am only sharing a few parts, but I ended with a prayer, “Holy Spirit, give me what it takes to trust fully in God’s infinite mercy and cease wondering as the Israelites did for 40 years, or as we do every Lent for 40 days. Make me fully understand that evangelization is not just preaching the Good News but living the Good News and always ready to experience a white or red martyrdom to save souls. It is then that I will be a carrier of God’s mercy to my brothers and sisters. It is then that the Divine Mercy feast will be lived in my heart day in and day out. But in order to light the torch of Your mercy in my heart to be taken to other hearts, I need the trust of a child. I ask for Your mercy to become such a child. Through your mercy, help me enter the Feast of Pentecost 2013 with the most perfect yes to God’s will.”

After writing this prayer, I heard this, “Wondering what is to come is the contrary to having faith. If you learn what is next then faith is not needed.” I was sent to a page in the Bible, Hebrews 11, all about faith. I then understood that “wondering” truly wounds my trust in Jesus and blocks His mercy.

Monday, April 8.

On this day I had more answers related to the  teachings received for this month. By grace I ended turning the television and EWTN was airing the installation Mass of Archbishop Alexander K. Sample in Portland Oregon. His homily was uplifting… He was on fire… He said, “We need a Pentecost because Jesus is alive. We need Saints.” There was the answer for me… Becoming a saint for these times is a must, and somehow I suspected that I had to learn more about how to become a true saint… Yeah, some of us look a little holy because we pray all the time but this is in comparison to a dissipated world… What about if someone would compare me with any of my Carmelite family, like St. Teresa of Avila or St. John of the Cross, or the Little Flower…  Hmm. I am certain that I would flunk the test… I understood that the world is so upside down and pagan and even our Church is suffering from this apocalyptic status of those around that want to change our moral code, using violence and laws,  that we need, or said differently, I need to follow a set of ideas to try to become a true holy woman, for the sake of what is going on… And yes, we know much about our Saints in the Church, but I was yearning for the whole package or plan as reflected in the wedding garment received later, which makes my right brain very happy with images that have meaning and organization of the content to memorize it more easily.

Tuesday, April 9.

On this day I understood clearly that whenever we complain or even ponder publicly about the sins of others against us, we lead those hearing us to sin against them because we are creating resentment in their hearts. We are creating an atmosphere of unforgiveness which is present in our hearts as we talk… If we had forgiven them, we would lack the desire of exposing them. Of course we have to talk about what is wrong in general, but mostly about what is potentially good in us to change those who are lost or deaf or blind. This is a nice trick from Satan since repeating what they do wrong will not help me or them, but emphasizing what we can do against those negative forces can train us to heal ourselves and others in the process without expanding the chances of resentment.  My jaw was opened wide. HOW MUCH I NEEDED TO FIND OUT ALL ABOUT HOLINESS OF LIFE… and to be merciful… It is my holy life that can trust in Jesus to receive His mercy for me and my enemies. In the Court of Law, yes, everything has to be exposed. In the court of public opinion, we can lose points in our walk with our God. And again, holiness is not looking prayerful and nice, but radically loving all and especially our enemies, and then God finds love and conquers evil…

Thursday, April 11.

I understood this,

“I should have total faith that all my crosses are made perfectly for my spiritual well being and that of others, and therefore, I should be devoted to them, and God will change them as needed. The uncertainty of what is next in my life is a very important cross to be offered back but being accepted with great desire! This faith is what sanctifies daily my call to proclaim the Gospel. The actions of my flesh accepting these crosses united to my perfect trust that God is behind them, become a power house. Satan will attack this plan. He will create events to distract me, even events that seem good. Distractions are the first kind of obstacles that he uses. They hide under the radar of importance in my present moments! But when minor distractions are detected, then often enough Satan will try minor persecutions and lies that put in question the perfect love of God for me at every second of my life.”

(I then remembered that a minor persecution appeared in my life when refilling my prescription which became impossible. (I had tried to obtain a refill of the blood pressure medication and had to do it through the pharmacy. They in turn would alert the doctor via a fax and obtain the refill order. The process should not be any longer than 48 hours. However, I called on a Monday and by Thursday the pharmacy had no idea what happened to the first fax. I had to call the doctors’ office and complain big time since my last dose of the medication would cover up to the next 48 hours. Finally, I was able to pick the medication but without any answer as to why this process had failed, in an era of great communication. Sure enough, the pharmacy ordeal did create resentment and a major distraction in my walk of holiness…)

“However, the power of faith to receive daily crosses with great abandonment out of love of God, when fully lived, obstructs the plan of Satan! The important point is to understand these things and how Satan is behind them, and to become attached to live my crosses with great devotion, in an automatic hymn of love and trust in God, Who in turn releases His mercy for me to love others as He does.”

Notice the subtlety of these points. They truly tend to go under the radar of seeking holiness of life. In retrospect, I now can see how my understanding of knowing and wearing a wedding dress (a garment of holiness) in my pursuit of attending the banquet of salvation, is of the upmost importance.

Friday, April 12.

After the 8:30 AM Rosary with EWTN, I was given a beautiful explanation of how to LIVE in the now IN CONSTANT DEVOTION TO MY CROSSES!

I was sent to two pages in the Bible and was asked to put them together…

Luke 1: 5-20. Zechariah doubted despite the announcement of the coming of this child who would be a great man à “He will be filled with the Holy Spirit and he will turn many of the children of Israel to the Lord their God. He will go before him in the spirit and power of Elijah to turn the hearts of fathers toward children and the disobedient to the understanding of the righteous, to prepare a people fit for the Lord.” Well, the announcement was extraordinary… but Zechariah, a priest, only thought in human terms and doubted. He wondered about how the power of God would be able to create a baby from two old people and decided to put down the importance of this baby for Israel.

But Our Lady to a similar announcement said, “How can this be since I have no relations with a man?” Once she was told how, she said “Yes…” even to the strange announcement that the Holy Ghost would do it… Wow! She could have doubted such intervention not heard of before… but she believed… the unbelievable…

On Luke 7:1-10, the Centurion (a gentile) said to Jesus, “Say the word and let my servant be healed.”

It was clear that faith is indispensable for miracles to happen and constant devotion to our crosses will increase our faith. At this point I was asked to attend the Confirmation Mass in my parish for the following Sunday. I wanted a sign in Scripture (with the word “go”) and was led to a page, where Peter was asked to go to Cornelius and as we know, a Pentecost occurred…Hmm. I got a double hint… Our first Pope had made many mistakes, but this time he became a giant in accepting the rejection of his own for doing so. Four days ago, when we had that reading at Mass, the celebrant brought this point up, of how St. Peter cared more about obeying God’s will that what others could say. I was also told to attend this Confirmation Mass in order to pray for a Pentecost to help “some people” understand what they were supposed to do for the Church. On April 13, the Holy Father announced the name of 8 Cardinals he chose as an advisory team to him in the guidance of the Church. I learned about it after the Confirmation Mass, but realized this was most likely what I was sent to do, to pray for them.

Wednesday, April 17.

I had my Honda car serviced and I was given a ride back from Walnut Creek to my house, two cities north. I had to wait for some 6 hours. I was picked up in the late afternoon by a Honda driver and in the van there was an Indian lady also in route to pick up her car. When we arrived, we talked a little as we waited to pay our bill and became sort of friends. I asked her about Our Lady of Vailankanni… and she knew her even though she is Hindu. She then taught me how to pronounce her name… She has visited Our Lady’s Shrine…

It is obvious that the chances of choosing a particular day to have the car serviced and to be picked up with another woman in the same routing who knew Our Lady and not being Catholic, even that they have two chauffeurs doing this service for Honda customers, well, those chances are small unless the Lord was into it.  And why do I tell you this entire minutia of information? Well, because ever since her image came to this house, she has been sooo active in directing me, and this incident was pointing to her… She was about to speak… and wanted my full attention…

Thursday, April 18.

Under the title of Our Lady of Vailankanni she explained to me in detail what the GARMENT OF HOLINESS CONSISTS OF. I have never read it any place. I would have never occurred to me, until she brought it up on this Thursday, April 18 at 2:45 PM, precisely the following day of my encounter with the Indian woman at Honda and as the city of Boston was in the midst of finding the Boston bombers…

On this date, many Bostonians were praying at the Cathedral of the Holy Cross. The explosion of the fertilizer plant had just occurred in West, TX, and I wanted to go to noon Mass to pray for all of this and to thank God for finding more information about my Mother in the Honda visit. She had already taught me the need to stop “wondering in the desert of my brain…”  In hindsight, she was trying to warn me not to waste time… with wondering as Israel had done and something that she did not do, when she did not wonder HOW THE HOLY SPIRIT WOULD IMPREGNATE HER. I arrived at 11 AM to my parish and there was not one place to park… I went and did a little shopping at the nearby health food store and was back by 11:33 to no avail. I came back home sad… Very sad! Well, at 2:45 PM, my Ma started revealing to me all about our dress for holiness…

The dress/suit or garment of holiness is made of the following parts, and just like any other garment. She gave me the list and basic explanation. I have added some more information for each part in order to remind myself of the importance of knowing the reasons behind the garment parts, and so to always be ready wearing this wedding dress in case I am called from this earth…

1. For a dress or garment there is need for a cloth or material. This can be very expensive or not. This cloth represents our yes to the will of God, and those who say yes to God’s will with great ardent desire choose an expensive silk cloth. Those who say yes to His will but some days and some not, have the cheapest cloth. WONDERING cheapens the material since it destroys our trust in God.

————————————

Mathew 7:21-23. Not everyone who says to Me, “Lord, Lord,” will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of My Father in heaven. Many will say to Me on that day, “Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in Your Name? Did we not drive out demons in Your Name? Did we not do mighty deeds in Your Name?” Then I will declare to them solemnly, “I never knew you. Depart from Me, you evil doers.”

Entry 1184: Jesus to St. Faustina: “Know My daughter that your silent, day-to-day martyrdom in complete submission to My will usher many souls into heaven.”

Saying yes to the will of God means abandonment to Divine Providence, which is the child of perfect trust. And perfect trust is the key to God’s Mercy.

Perfect trust in God means:

1) To never know or wanting to know where we are going, while being totally sure that God is directing us at every present moment.

2) To be ready to lose everything: comforts of life, secure situations leading to a predictable retirement or to lose our good name if need be.

3) To be sure that when we must make minor or major decisions, if we ask the Holy Spirit to show us the way, He will do so by giving us an internal conviction full of courage, determination, peace and joy.

4) To trust in God is never trying to win our battles against those who may oppress us, even if we are capable to do so. Instead, to trust means that we wait for the Holy Spirit’s guidance to organize and win our battles. To know that we may be taken before “synagogues” and rulers and authorities , and yet not worried about how to defend ourselves or what to say, for the Holy Spirit will teach us at the moment what to say, as in Luke12: 11-12.

2. The dress/suit/tunic needs to be cut following a pattern. It cannot have 3 sleeves because we have only two arms. It cannot have 4 legs because we humans have only two legs. It should have an opening on top for our head to go through. This pattern is the Word of God, Jesus Himself and the love of God and of neighbor are parts of the pattern.

————————————————-

 “My mother and brothers are those who hear the word of God and act on it.” Luke 8: 21“Rather, blessed are those who hear the Word of God and observe it.” Luke 11:28)

“Be doers of the Word and no hearers only, deluding yourselves, for if anyone is a hearer of the Word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks at this own face in a mirror. He sees himself, then goes off and promptly forgets what he looked like. But the one who peers into the perfect law of freedom and perseveres, and is not a hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, such a one shall be blessed in what he does.” James 1: 22-25.

3. But the cloth and the pattern are not enough. The garment needs to be stitched together. Every stitch is a cross. Therefore, accepting our crosses is indispensable to hold together our garment of holiness.

I am going to quote here part of a blog I wrote in 2008 titled, “Following Jesus via the Cross,” because I want to emphasize how important is this stitching of our garment of holiness.

Of all the crosses He carried, His impending cruel crucifixion and death preceded by His own disciples’ abandonment must have been terrifying. I always keep His words at hand regarding the above point. “I am troubled now. Yet what should I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour?’ But it was for this purpose that I came to this hour. Father, glorify Your name. Then a voice came from heaven, ‘I have glorified it and will glorify it again.’”

If the above is not clear, I have nothing else to say from now on. I wonder if when we sit to look into this year of 2008 and make a list of resolutions for the New Year 2009, if we should not put at the top of the list: “I must deal with my crosses in the same manner as Jesus did, and remember these verses of John 12 when I want to resist them or run away from them.”

I have tried to do it through the years, and little by little I have endured very heavy crosses and they did not destroy me… And by that I mean that they do not leave me with hatred, bitterness or lack of forgiveness for the ones who harnessed me with those crosses. In fact, I found them to be my great heroes and heroines since they allowed me to further be trained in this “science of the cross.” Many very important canonized Saints in the Catholic Church found the cross to be the key to be trained in faith, hope and love… And the clearest reason for this is that Jesus would have never died on a cross unless He thought this example was important for us… Actually, the carrying of our crosses with full acceptance on our part is the main power to undo our self-love and constant need for self-gratification, entertainment and/or self-importance. He wanted to tell us about the medicine to cure all of those maladies of the soul once and for all, and in union with His constant Sacrifice

4.  However, the stitches need thread, and the thread could be strong and expensive or of poor quality. PRAYER is the material that makes the thread for the stitches. Little prayer makes for a weak thread. A robust prayer life makes for strong thread that keeps the garment together.

—————————————-

Here, I want to speak about prayer. We must see prayer as a conversation with God. Whatever we pray must be presented to God as a true discourse that we believe in Him and love Him. I receive so many envelopes containing prayers and asking for money for good causes. Yet, to pray is to dialogue with a God Who is crazy about us, and was never meant to repeat words but and occasion to encounter the Crucified. I suspect that if we always wear the “wedding dress” in all its parts, our prayer life will be immensely improved. I have studied at length and in great detail the great Saints who teach about prayer. However, once you know about it, like the mansions of St. Teresa of Avila, we should pay attention to seeking God in prayer just to be with Him. It is a matter of love, of caring for Him, of seeking His Presence as often as possible. And yes, in order to stitch our garment with our crosses, those crosses must be always swimming in our prayer life… The stitch and the thread are two sides of the same coin. You cannot stitch without thread, nor use thread without stitching.

5. The color of the garment varies. It can be beautiful light blue as the sky or yellow/orange as in a sunset; both produce a beautiful garment if we take care of each piece of our garment. A black garment is worn when we live in the storms full of fears and lacking trust in Him or in disobedience with much sin.

6. Our Lady is the assistant seamstress who adjusts the garment to each soul accordingly. When we have a suit or dress made or one bought, there are parts that must be adjusted to our frame and height.

7. The dressmaker is God, the Holy Trinity, Who through His love and mercy puts together the garment of holiness according to how we choose the materials.

8. The Catholic Church at large is the brand name of this garment. The parishes are holiness dressmaking centers, where the Sacraments wash the garment when it gets dirty and her teaching keep these garments intact by reminding us of its different parts: doing God’s will, following the Word of God, accepting our crosses, praying much and honoring Our Lady.

9. Satan will work 24/7 in destroying our wedding dress or garment of holiness. Our job is not to fear him, but to be aware of him and keep our wedding dress impeccable by wearing it as we focus on each part; this will keep the devil tied up in a corner.

I will share some thoughts of my dear Jesuit Jean-Pierre de Caussade, from his book, “Abandonment to Divine Providence.”

Our Authority over Unclean Spirits – Fr. Jean Pierre de Caussade, S.J.

A simple soul is more fully enlightened by a grain of pure faith than Lucifer by all his intelligence. The knowledge possessed by a soul faithful to its obligations, quietly submissive to the intimate orders of grace, gentle and humble towards all, is worth more than the most profound penetration of mysteries…

What is Lucifer? He is a brilliant intelligence, the most enlightened of all, but intelligence discontented with God and His order. The mystery of iniquity is nothing but the result of this discontent manifested in as many ways as possible. Lucifer, as far as lies in his power, wishes to leave nothing in the state in which God has ordained and placed it. Wherever he penetrates, you will always find the work of God disfigured. The more lights, knowledge and general capacity a person has the more he is to be feared, if he has not the foundation of piety which consists in contentment with God His will. It is the regulation of the heart that places us in union with the divine will; without that union, everything is but pure nature and, usually, pure opposition to the divine order. God has not, properly speaking, any instruments but humble souls. (End of quote)

On this same April 18 and after receiving this understanding of the wedding dress, she asked me to proceed and pray many Rosaries for the next three days. I remembered when I prayed for 12 hours in front of His Eucharistic Presence for the U. S. Presidential elections (2004) that gave President Bush No. 2 his second term. I have written this story a couple of times before. At 9 AM, Senator Kerry, Catholic and pro-choice, was pretty assured that Ohio would go for him and this was expected to be the key state, as Florida had been four years before. I did not know about his words in Columbus, OH. I learned them when I returned home. I ended up praying 27 Rosaries with intertwined Chaplets of Mercy, and prayed only for the will of God to be done… I was not allowed to pray for my Republican candidate and I had already voted ahead of time… And yes, we got a pro-life Protestant President.  This time, the call was similar. The world is in chaos and our country was dealing with the recent Boston bombings. These Rosaries were meant to be said against Satan as well…

 Friday, April 19.

At 9:45 AM, I had a major deal with my Mother of Vailankanni. I would pray for all things that are good for me (like health problems), my family and others and for this country, and in the style of the widow who bugged the judge!  I was in church by 11 AM for my Holy Hour. I took her picture to church… There, she added other intentions: 1. For a New Pentecost for the Church. 2. For me to truly become devoted to my crosses. 3. For my work for the Kingdom in all its aspects. I was able to pray 3 Rosaries during the Holy Hour. I had already prayed one at home for my family. I did pray a total of 9 Rosaries on this Friday. 

Saturday, April 20. I was able to pray 18 Rosaries.

Sunday, April 21.

This was Good Shepherd Sunday with prayer for vocations. Many homilies were heard through television and they spoke of how important it is to seek Jesus, the Good Shepherd. The Gospel for this day was about how the sheep know the voice of the Shepherd and how He knows them. Well, this sheep was trying to obtain the most durable thread for the wedding garment of many through much prayer. I realized that I had a master plan to follow in order to truly follow my Shepherd. My wedding dress as I had understood it, contained the necessary elements to follow Him. I could not get lost and hoped that these many Rosaries would give me a substantial formation to follow Him… I completed a total of 31 Rosaries for this three day weekend.  I have continued to pray many Rosaries since. She wants it done until Pentecost Sunday.

I am going to close with a quote that I had already shared in the past but that fits this blog on the wedding dress or garment for holiness.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         The “The gate becomes very narrow between the pull from the outside and our fidelity to love God first and foremost. And here the words you read from Ms. Anais Nin, the French Novelist, make a lot of sense:  “Love never dies a natural death. It dies because we don’t know how to replenish its source. It dies of blindness and errors and betrayals. It dies of illness and wounds; it dies of weariness, of withering, of tarnishing. And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.

“Do not seek the ‘because’  -  in love there is no because, no reason, no explanation, no solutions. We don’t see things as they are; we see them as we are. The only abnormality is the incapacity to love.” (End of quote)

I also read this in Spanish but will translate… It is very interesting…

Wikipedia says, “I know everything.”

Google says, “I have everything.”

Facebook says, “I know everybody.”

Internet says,Without me, you are nothing

Electricity says, “Ha, ha, ha… Keep talking.”

I say, “Our wedding dress is the spiritual electricity that allows us to know everything, to have everything, to know everybody, and to be somebody in Christ Jesus for the salvation of many…”

The month of May is upon us, the month dedicated to this Mother of God and our Mom too. There are many feasts:

May 3: Our Lady of Jasna Gora

May 5: Our Lady of Pompeii

May 8: Our Lady of Luján, patroness of Argentina and Paraguay(?)

May 9: Our Lady of the Miracles (Mauriac, France)

May 12. Second Sunday of May 2013. Our Lady of the Forsaken (Nuestra Señora de Desamparados). Our Lady of Grace.

May 13: Our Lady of the Blessed Sacrament. Our Lady of Fatima.

May 14: Nuestra Señora de la Evangelización. Perú.

May 22. Mary Queen of the Apostles

May 24. Our Lady Help of Christians.

May 25.  Our Lady of Consolation, Carey, OH

May 31. Mary, Mediatrix of all Graces. The Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

May you have a very blessed Pentecost!!!!!!!!!

P.S.: This announcement is from my theologian son’s parish in Omaha, NE. You may like to watch it.

Coming soon on EWTN! Learn how a young priest took a parish that had been in decline for 40 years and brought it to life by “re-establishing the mystery, awe and wonder of God” in his parishioners! Watch “Where Heaven Meets Earth: The Story of St. Peter Church.” Premieres at 3 a.m. and 6:30 p.m.EST, Tuesday, April 30. Find out more at www.heavenmeetsearth.tv.

 

 

 


