Christ is Risen! Alleluia! Therefore, “Yes we can”

This will be a short blog because we have much to meditate in these next 4 days so sacred for us. Look at these facts that worry me and probably many of you:

1. I contacted the U.S. House of Representatives for my city, regarding FOCA or the Freedom of Choice Act, which will protect a woman’s right to choose the birth of her child or not. I received an answer from my Representative and it turned out to be a woman. She wrote, “This gives women the choice to terminate a pregnancy prior to fetal viability, or to terminate a pregnancy after viability when necessary to protect the life of a mother.” She made sure to say that it is important for our government to protect individual libertiesAs a doctor I was never able to differentiate between the individual liberty of a mom or a baby. ¡But right now, life does not seem to be valued if one does not have enough growth to make it outside of the womb!

But this is only one little part of the immense number of changes that we are seeing in our country, changes that a friend of mine feels he never thought he would ever see! One that truly scares me, it is forcing health care providers and hospitals to participate in procedures with moral or religious objection. In this case, the above idea about how important it is for the government to protect individual liberties, seems not to apply. Ouch and ouch and ouch… What a confusion we have… It is dividing us, it is discouraging us, and it is giving us much fear… It all sounds demonic. I thank God that I am retired! Otherwise, without hesitation, I would have to return to practice to my place of origin . I also thank God that my physician son is a nephrologist, and not an obstetrician or anesthesiologist. God is sooo good!

2. In the other hand we have our own, our voices within our Church starting the “blame game”. Someone wrote that the “greatest road block to ending abortion is found in diocesan offices.” Triple ouch here too! Yes, there may be some “offices” that are not extremely active in promoting life and that even obstruct those Catholics who do (I know of such cases), but blaming others is not the answer for anything, ever! If I were to blame someone, I would say that the greatest block we have is ourselves, because we do not believe in our own power of prayer to a God Who resides on this earth!

3. However, MY greatest concern that I have right now is that all of us who truly believe in the “right to life”, we seem to be asleep or confused or faithless. If this Sunday we are going to celebrate ONE MORE TIME, the fact that Jesus after being dead for 3 days, rose from the dead, and that He is at the right hand of the Father pleading for us, why is it that since the 1970’s (Roe v Wade) we cannot get it straight in our heads that YES WE CAN change what we need to change because He can do it for us? Why cannot we believe it?

Are we truly organizing ourselves, and I mean personally?  Are we starting to live seriously a life of  conversion by doing’s God’s will without protestation as we embrace with gusto the good and bad  (crosses) in our lives, and trying to love our neighbor without hesitation and no matter what? And under these two conditions, are we taking time aside, every day, some 15 minutes, and beg God for mercy for this country? Why haven’t we done it?  Do I need a Bishop or Priest or a prayer group or a retreat master to tell me what I know I have to do because the Bible says so? Of course not. I do not know about you, but I am running the best I can, because YES I CAN change the world in whatever little or big ways He wants to do it.

And I want to do it because He loves me sooo much, that the least I can do is to work hard at “doing whatever He tells me…” In my opinion, these words of Our Lady are the most important MESSAGE over any other message from any of her apparitions. But I also want to do it because I know it works big time! I even get overwhelmed with so many miracles that I see when I enter in this style of life: prayer united to doing His will in everything without fighting Him (except sometimes for a few minutes due to my humanity), and loving my neighbor even when I want to die of repugnance, BUT EVERYTHING DONE FOR HIS GLORY, or coming from a heart that recognizes Him as King of my soul. YES I CAN, AND I CAN ASSURE OF THAT…

Personally, and I felt this way for several years, and I could not go through another Lent, year after year, if by Easter I am not feeling resurrected, at least in my unequivocal certainty that He is in a every Tabernacle waiting to feed me with His power and strength, with His miracles, with His love and Mercy, just like my own mother did when I was a baby;  and that His Holy Spirit lives within me as the Guest of my soul,  just to remind me of this Truth, and to guarantee that I know when to move to the left or to the right, for this Truth to be lived in my life…

I wish you the most blessed Easter for 2009, but also I want to use this opportunity to challenge you that by 2010, you can say without hesitation, “YES I CAN change this country with my brothers and sisters because He is risen; indeed, He is risen, and I know He is because many things have changed for the better, including some signs of conversion of those who want to protect human liberties according to their own classification of the human race.” In my opinion, it is about time to realize that we belong to each other and that we are responsible for each other, and that Satan has done all of this tempting of our brothers and sisters with crazy ideologies and reasoning, and we allowed him to do it. Enough is enough! The best campaign against what it is happening is our own ongoing transfiguration into His likeness, a work that He does but that we have to allow Him to do, by the way we obey His commandments, by the way we follow Jesus after denial of ourselves while seriously embracing our crosses.

Note: I have added a few other details to the story of the man whose finger grew a tip on its own, like what kind of white powder he had to apply for 10 days and who ordered it and in what city. This is in the page titled Embryonic Stem Cell Research.

The next blog will be written by next Wednesday, prior to Divine Mercy Sunday!!!! I am going to start the Divine Mercy Novena on Good Friday for this our U.S.A. Will you join me? The novena prayers can be found in the Internet via Google.

¡Cristo Resucitó! ¡Aleluya!  Por lo tanto, “sí se puede”

Este será un “blog” corto porque tenemos mucho que meditar en los próximos 4 días que son tan sagrados para nosotros. Pongan atención a estos puntos que me preocupan a mí y probablemente a muchos de ustedes, aunque no vivan en los Estados Unidos.

1. Yo contacté al miembro para mi ciudad de la Casa de Representantes del Congreso de Estados Unidos, con referencia a FOCA, o la propuesta de ley para obtener la “libertad de escoger”, la cual protegerá el derecho de toda mujer a escoger el nacimiento o muerte de su bebé en su vientre. Resultó ser una mujer también. Ella me contestó lo siguiente en defensa de FOCA: “Esta ley le da a las mujeres el derecho de terminar una preñez antes de la viabilidad del feto, o de terminarla después que el feto es viable, cuando sea necesario para proteger la vida de la madre.” Ella se aseguró en escribir que es importante para nuestro gobierno el proteger las libertades individualesComo médico que soy, yo nunca pude diferenciar entre la libertad individual de la mamá y del bebé. ¡Pero ahora, la vida parece no tener valor si uno no tiene el suficiente desarrollo para sobrevivir fuera del vientre!

¡Pero esto es sólo una pequeña parte del inmenso número de cambios que estamos viendo en este país, cambios que un amigo mío siente que él nunca se imaginó que los vería! Un cambio que verdaderamente me asusta , es el de forzar a los proveedores de servicios de salud y a los hospitales a participar en procedimientos con objeción moral o religiosa. En este caso, la idea de cuán importante es para el gobierno federal proteger las libertades individuales, parece que no se aplica. Auch, auch y auch.. ¡Cuánta confusión que tenemos!… y que está dividiéndonos, descorazonándonos, y dándonos mucho miedo… Todo esto suena demónico. Le doy muchas gracias a Dios de que estoy retirada. De otra forma, tendría que volver a mi país de origen a trabajar. También le doy gracias a Dios que mi hijo médico es un nefrólogo, y no un obstetra o anestesiólogo.

2. Por otro lado tenemos a los nuestros, voces dentro de la Iglesia comenzando con el juego de echarle la culpa a otros. Alguien escribió que “el mayor obstáculo para terminar con el aborto se encuentra en las oficinas diocesanas”. ¡Aquí yo exclamo un auch triple! Sí, puede haber algunas “oficinas” que no son extremadamente activas en promover el derecho a la vida, y hasta obstaculizan aquellos católicos que lo hacen, pero culpar a otros no es una respuesta para nada, y ¡nunca lo será! Si yo fuera a culpar a alguien, yo diría que el mayor obstáculo somos nosotros mismos, ¡porque no creemos en el poder que tenemos en nuestra propia oración… a un Dios Quien reside en esta tierra!

3. Sin embargo, MI mayor preocupación es que  todos nosotros los que creemos en el “derecho a la vida”, parece que estamos dormidos, confundidos y sin fe. Si este domingo vamos a celebrar UNA VEZ MÁS, el  hecho de que Jesús después de estar muerto por 3 días, resucitó y que se encuentra a la derecha de Su Padre, intercediendo por nosotros, ¿por qué es que desde los años 1970 (caso de Roe contra Wade), nosotros no podemos entender en nuestras cabezas que SÍ PODEMOS cambiar lo que necesitemos porque Él lo puede hacer por nosotros? ¿Por qué?

¿Estamos organizándonos personalmente? ¿Estamos comenzando a vivir seriamente una vida de conversión, haciendo la voluntad de Dios sin protestar y a medida que abrazamos con gusto lo bueno o malo (cruces) en nuestras vidas, y tratando de amar a nuestro prójimo sin titubear y no importa cuán duro sea? Y bajo estas dos condiciones, ¿estamos dedicando cada día, unos 15 minutos para pedirle a Dios por su misericordia para este país? ¿Por qué no lo hemos hecho? ¿Necesito yo de un Obispo o Sacerdote o grupo de oración o de un predicador en un retiro para que me diga lo que tengo que hacer cuando la biblia ya lo indica? ¡Claro que no! Yo no sé si ustedes lo hacen, pero yo estoy corriendo lo mejor que puedo, porque YO SÍ PUEDO cambiar el mundo en formas pequeñas o grandes, de acuerdo a lo que Él quiera.

Y lo quiero hacer porque Dios me ama tanto, que sería lo mínimo que puedo darle y es “hacer lo que Él me indica”… En mi opinión, estas palabras de la Virgen María constituyen el mensaje más importante, sobre todo otro mensaje de cualquiera de sus apariciones.  Pero también lo quiero hacer porque sé que trabaja. Hasta estoy cansada de recibir milagros cuando yo entro en esta forma de vida: oración aunada a hacer Su voluntad en todo sin protestar (excepto a veces por unos cuantos minutos debido a mi humanidad) y a tratar de amar a mi prójimo aunque me quiera morir de asco, pero todo para su gloria, o sea de un corazón que lo reconoce como el Rey de mi alma. SÍ SE PUEDE Y SE LOS ASEGURO.

Personalmente, y esto lo he sentido por muchos años, yo no podría pasar por otra cuaresma, año tras año, si para la Pascua de Resurrección yo no pueda sentirme también resucitada, al menos con la certeza inequívoca de que Él está esperándome en cada Tabernáculo para darme de comer con Su poder y fuerza, con Sus milagros, con Su amor y misericordia, exactamente como mi propia madre lo hizo cuando era una bebé; y de que Su Santo Espíritu vive dentro de mí como un huésped de mi alma, sólo para recordarme de esta Verdad, y para garantizarme cuándo debo doblar a la izquierda o derecha, para poder vivir esta Verdad en mi vida…

Les deseo muchas bendiciones para la Pascua de Resurrección del 2009, y aprovecho para hacerles un reto para el 2010, y que entonces puedan decir sin miedo, “YO SÍ PUEDO cambiar a este país junto a mis hermanos y hermanas porque Él resucitó; en verdad, Él lo hizo, y lo sé porque muchas cosas han cambiado para lo mejor, incluyendo algunas señales de conversión de aquellos que desean proteger las libertades humanas pero de acuerdo a su propia clasificación de la raza humana.” En mi opinión, ya llegó el tiempo de darnos cuenta que pertenecemos unos a los otros y de que somos responsables unos por los otros, y también, que Satanás ha tentado a nuestros hermanos y hermanas con ideologías y razonamientos locos, y que nosotros se lo hemos permitido. ¡Llego el tiempo de cambiar! La mejor campaña contra lo que está pasando, es nuestra constante transfiguración en Su semejanza, un trabajo que Él hace pero que nosotros debemos permitirle hacer por la forma cómo seguimos Sus mandamientos, cómo seguimos a Jesús, cómo nos negamos a sí mismos y abrazamos nuestras cruces.

Nota: El próximo “blog” aparecerá para eso del próximo miércoles, anterior al domingo de la ¡Fiesta de la Divina Misericordia!!! Voy a comenzar a rezar la novena de la Divina Misericordia este Viernes Santo para bien de los Estados Unidos. ¿Me acompañan? Las oraciones de esta novena se pueden encontrar en el Internet vía Google, y se hace un “click” para obtenerla traducida al español…

 

 

 

 

 

 


