A sign did come!

St. Joseph did mediate a sign for me that had to be big enough to induce me to continue to write blogs… Inside of me, I knew it had to be, but I wanted to be super sure that it was so… Well, on March 16, the Holy Father announced that we are going to dedicate one year for the ministerial Priesthood starting June 19…using as sponsor St. Jean Marie Vianney. I read about it on March17… I was supposed to start praying for a Pentecost for them on March 19… under the sponsorship of St. Joseph… and another Joseph (Joseph Ratzinger) decided to announce something similar in nature but within the novena of St. Joseph. He could have communicated it in April or May, but it came through… exactly as an answer from the foster father of Jesus… It means that I will not be alone from June 19, 2009 to June 2010, and with millions of people praying for them, I wonder what God is going to do… and with St. Joseph in charge of asking as well… Hmm. And St. Jean Vianney is another of my favorite Saints, and I visited Ars in France,  and I saw how Satan persecuted him to the point of burning his bed… We will have two mighty intercessors, and even making the Cure of Ars a universal patron of all priests… Hmm… He is as of now the patron saint of parish priests, but the intellectuals were not under him…

But there is more: the number 19 seems to be a magic numberDivine Mercy Sunday this year is April 19 and we heard “HABEMUS PAPAM” ON THIS DAY IN 2005…  Also, June 19 is the feast of the Sacred Heart… The Sacred Heart was part of the gift received at age 7 when I became a boarder at St. Margaret Mary School in order to sleep close to Jesus, and with the nuns, Oblates of Divine Love, becoming the announcers of the love of the Sacred Heart and His revelations to St. Margaret Mary. In my trip to France of 2002 or 2003, the main idea was to arrive there to celebrate the Feast of the Sacred Heart at Paray-le-Monial where these apparitions had occurred… Besides, this pilgrimage was directed by a wonderful Jesuit priest, now my friend… As you all may know, the Jesuits are associated with this devotion to the Sacred Heart because St. Claude de la Colombiere, SJ, was a spiritual director of St. Margaret Mary…and he firmly believed in the message given to St. Margaret. So, thank you for your prayers because I even know now that this call to pray for a Pentecost for Priests is real, since the Holy Father is calling us to focus on them as well and for a full year…

On St. Joseph’s feast, I went to Mass to offer myself to pray and offer my crosses for Priests… And the very same day, at Holy Hour, I was clear that this prayer of mine must go hand in hand with sacrifice, with the cross, as I have mentioned before… Even more, I understood clearly how we say that we will do things, like embracing our crosses with a big yes, but actually we have no real plans of how to truly do it  and with faithfulness… And lo and behold, I understood that as CEO of my soul and with this work to do, I needed to be sure that I was going to be truthful to this call…

Words and good intentions will not do too much. I could attend one million retreats but if I do not take the bull by the horns, I would have done something good but without lasting results.  Many times I have understood that retreats keep us thinking we are advancing in this growth for our soul, but borrowing from my own experience, it was the cross (imposed by many people) and united with prayer, that truly started unveiling the Crucified in my soul; He was living there day and night within me, but I had to learn to live attentive to Him, and just knowing that He was present in the Host was not enough.  As this plan came, I wrote it in a small card to be read upon rising in the morning and carried nearby all day… and I knew that it was a fruit mediated by St. Joseph…and that he gave me on his feast day.  I had already made a list of my crosses in the three categories, as I had written before. So, I had a way to inspect them daily… Besides that, these are the things that I wrote in the card in a summarized way, so that I would review them often!

My cooperation for the INCARNATION OF Baby Jesus IN MY HEART through the power of the Holy Spirit – March 19, 2009

1. Trust in God’s guidance for this particular day without any fear because of His mercy for me, this crazy love He has for me… Often remember that this faith without fear (trust) must be a reality as I look back in my life and see His Mercy as a star that has guided me to Baby Jesus, and a carrier of so many signs and wonders for me… From the shepherds to the three Magi, to our father Abraham all the way to the Virgin Mary, they all carry messages of how I must cooperate so that the gift of faith develops and may render fruit in my life.

2. Right now I will examine my crosses (from my list I had made left at the bedside as well) and re-affirm my “yes” to live under them during this day for the Kingdom of God.

3. I will get up and live this day totally determined to say yes to His will for His glory.

4. This day, I will pray constantly and at set times, especially during Mass, and will offer all suffering to my Father and place it in the paten at the Altar, in order to unite it to the Bread of Life Whose Sacrifice I will be present to, to atone for the sins of all, but most especially for the sins of Catholic ministerial Priests.

5. As I get up, I will embrace the cross of feeling like an alien in this society of noise, of television images of “make believe” that show me the emptiness of their souls, seeking to be distracted from the pain of separation and rejection of God, even that they do not know it is such. Therefore, I ask my Lord to give me great love for all of them, and most especially those members of the “culture of death,” in order to offer my life of prayer and suffering for their spiritual freedom in Christ Jesus. On this day I will pay great attention to love my neighbor in every occasion, and much more than I did yesterday.

6. I will pay attention to these points often, and if I find myself forgetting them, I will re read them during the day. With this attention will come a refusal to be discouraged or to dwell for too long in the pain of any cross, except to embrace them over and over during the day, including the saddest memories, totally aware of their richness to bring blessings for me and others.

7. After I reaffirm the embrace, the yes to any cross, present or past and every time it comes to me, I will choose to move my attention to the present moment with the determination of living it in the Presence of God, in praise and thanksgiving, repenting for the misuse of the gift of time, and all other gifts received that have been poorly multiplied!  I will be saying over and over, “I am the servant of the Lord. Do unto me according to Your Word. Here I am Lord. I come to do your will.”

So far, this has been a great gift from St. Joseph… I tend to focus too much in my pain of any kind, whether pain due to eating the wrong food that I am allergic to, or living as an alien seeing a world so confused, and/or remembering the hatred of brothers and sisters towards me, etc..  However, nowadays I quickly replace the memories but only after I become totally aware of feeling these crosses, tasting them, saying yes to them over and over with great gusto (especially for the many times I did not embrace them) and holding to them as the will of God for me, and therefore, full of graces. This way, I easily return to the graces of Calvary that He modeled for me… and continue the ascent as a soldier that wants to follow her Master to the end, out of love for Him and my neighbor…

This Lent, my Way of the Cross will be more activeà one thing is to pray the Stations every Friday during Lent (something good), and another thing is to accompany Him with my crosses fully accepted and suffered, fully embraced; walking with Him daily with the past pain of abandonment as He suffered, of rejection when Barabbas was chosen to be freed instead. This latter way is even better. This will help me much more to obtain a new Pentecost for my Priests.

One fruit already rendered from this new awareness of what to do during the day, is to see how my crosses in the past cannot compare ever to losing a home foreclosed by a mortgage lender, and to have to go and live in a tent with dirty grounds, where pets and kids run everywhere, and where when rain falls 5 days in a row, as recently did, and human beings had to get up in the middle of the night to empty the tent of water … The capital of the State of California houses an area called “tent city”… People who had beautiful homes, now jobless, without a car and homeless… have to walk far away to even buy their food because cooking is impossible. One of their answers that totally rips off my heart in pieces is to hear them saying, “What I miss the most, is to be able to take a shower whenever I want it and in total privacy.”

Therefore, my list of crosses seems nothing compared to theirs… In fact, this trip of our Pope to Africa has brought me the same feeling… The majority of these cities that he is visiting, house very poor people with children who are hungry as I write it… So, looking at my own crosses has turned instead into interior dancing of praise and thanksgiving. Even taking a shower has meaning now… and I thank God for every drop of water and the privacy that I have any time of the day or night! Wow…

I will keep you posted as to how this new effort of denial of self and picking up my crosses as He did, will render fruits in my life, but my main aim is to pour all of this living in His Word as praise and thanksgiving on behalf of the ministerial Priesthood, for their sanctification and that of His Church. Soon, I will add some other intentions to the prayer for priests that I had published in a “page” for some of us to pray daily as one Body in Christ. I will use the words of the Holy Father of March 16 as to what he feels the priests need to model, and make them a petition, and squeeze St. Joseph and the Curé de Ars in the prayer as well, as the intercessors for this to happen.  

I will try to write some short blog twice a week as before, around Wednesdays and on the weekend, at least until God sends another big sign that it is time to quit!!! I have already talked to my son to start thinking of putting together a web site on the Mercy of God near the April 19th Feast of Divine Mercy, although his present job is right now demanding for him to work even from home. So, it will be done around that Sunday. In there, there will be a link written for Priests by a priest or priests, and the Holy Spirit will supply the helper(s). All aimed to fulfill the desires of the Holy Father’s words of the why he is dedicating a year to the ministerial Priesthood, and therefore, asking for the mercy of God for this endeavor. (Note: my gallbladder continues to bug me…)

 

¡La señal llegó!

San José sí intercedió por una señal bien grande, lo suficiente para convencerme que continuaré escribiendo estos “blogs”.,, Dentro de mí, yo sabía que debía hacerlo pero quería estar súper segura… Bueno, el 16 de marzo, el Santo Padre anunció que vamos a dedicar un año dedicado al Sacerdocio ministerial comenzando el 19 de junio …. Lo leí el día 17 de marzo… Yo debía comenzar a orar por un Nuevo Pentecostés por ellos el día 19 de marzo y bajo el patrocinio de San José… y otro José (José Ratzinger ) decidió anunciar algo similar en naturaleza, pero dentro de la novena de San José.  El Papa pudiese haberlo hecho en abril o mayo, pero ocurrió precisamente como una respuesta del padre adoptivo de Jesús para mí… Esto significa que no estaré sola orando después del 19 de junio del 2009 hasta junio del 2010, y con millones de personas orando por ellos, yo  me pregunto, ¿qué será lo que Dios va a hacer?, ¡y con San José encargado de pedírselo también…! Hmm…Además, el patrono de este año será San Jean Marie Vianney,  otro santo favorito mío. Cuando visité a Ars, Francia, pude ver el odio de Satanás contra él hasta llegar a quemar su cama. Tendremos dos patronos formidables, y ahora con San Jean convertido en patrono universal de los sacerdotes, ya que hoy es sólo patrono de sacerdotes en parroquias, y los intelectuales se quedaron fuera…

Pero hay más: el número 19 parece ser como mágico… La fiesta de la Divina Misericordia este año cae en abril 19, y oímos “habemus Papam” en este mismo día en el 2005… También, la Fiesta del Sagrado Corazón de Jesús es el 19 de junio. El Sagrado Corazón fue parte del regalo recibido cuando a mis 7 años me internaron en este colegio de Santa Margarita María Alacoque, y para así yo poder dormir cerca de Jesús mientras cursaba mi primer grado, y con las monjas Oblatas del Divino Amor quienes me anunciaron el amor del Sagrado Corazón como había sido revelado a Santa Margarita. En mi viaje a Francia en el 2002 o 2003, la idea principal era de celebrar esta fiesta en Paray-le-Monial adonde estas apariciones ocurrieron. Además, esta peregrinación fue conducida por un sacerdote jesuita maravilloso, ahora mi amigo… Como ustedes deben saber, los jesuitas están muy asociados con la devoción al Sagrado Corazón de Jesús porque San Claudio de la Colombiere, S.J., fue el director espiritual de Santa Margarita, y él creyó firmemente en todo el mensaje… Por lo tanto, muchas gracias por sus oraciones, ya que veo que este llamado a orar por un nuevo Pentecostés por los sacerdotes es real, porque hasta el Santo Padre nos está llamando a enfocarnos en su ministerio y por un año entero.

En la fiesta de San José, y no puedo dejar de llamarlo San Chepe, nuestro apodo favorito para él adonde yo nací, y como josefina que soy, me encanta llamarlo así… fui a ofrecerme en la Santa Misa para orar y ofrecer mis cruces por los sacerdotes… Durante mi Hora Santa, tuve mucha claridad y entendí que toda oración debe ir mano a mano con sacrificio, con la cruz, como lo he mencionado antes… Aún más, comprendí claramente que siempre decimos que vamos a hacer ciertas cosas, como abrazar muestras cruces con un gran sí, pero que nunca en realidad planeamos cómo hacerlo y cómo ser fieles a este cometido… Y de pronto, comprendí que como persona encargada de manejar mi alma, yo debía asegurarme que sería fiel a este llamado…

Palabras y buenas intenciones no darán mucho fruto. Podría atender un millón de retiros pero si no cojo al toro por los cuernos, termino haciendo algo bueno pero que no tiene resultados que subsisten. Muchas veces he entendido que los retiros nos mantienen pensado que estamos avanzando en el crecimiento espiritual de nuestra alma, pero si pienso en mi propia experiencia, fueron las cruces (impuestas por muchas personas) y que unidas con la oración, verdaderamente comenzaron a revelar al Crucificado dentro de mi alma; Él ha estado viviendo conmigo día y noche, pero yo tenía que aprender a vivir atenta a Él dentro de mí. A medida que entendí este plan diario el día de San José, lo escribí en una tarjeta pequeña para leerlo al despertarme en las mañanas y llevarlo conmigo a través del día… y sabía muy bien que fue un fruto de San José que me regaló en su fiesta… Ya había hecho una lista de mis cruces en las tres categorías que les mencioné, y así ahora las puedo inspeccionar diariamente. Pero además de eso, entendí estas otras cosas que les pasaré con detalles y que las sumaricé en esta tarjeta para revisarlas frecuentemente…

Mi cooperación para la ENCARNACIÓN del Niño Jesús EN MI CORAZÓN con el poder del Espíritu Santo — Marzo 19, 2009

1. Confianza en la guía de Dios para este día en particular y sin miedo, porque se debe a Su misericordia, este amor loco que me tiene… A menudo debo recordar que esta fe sin miedo (confianza) debe ser una realidad si miro a mi vida pasada y veo Su misericordia como una estrella que me ha guiado al Niño Jesús, y que llevó consigo muchas señales y maravillas para mí. Desde los pastorcillos a los Reyes Magos, a nuestro padre Abraham hasta la Virgen María, todos apuntan a una verdad: debo cooperar arduamente para que el regalo de mi fe de frutos…

2. En este momento examino mis cruces (de la lista que hice y que debe estar a la par de la cama también) y re-afirmo mi “sí” a vivir bajo ellas en este día para el Reino de Dios.

3. Me levantaré y viviré este día totalmente determinada a decir que “sí” a Su voluntad para Su gloria.

4. Este día oraré constantemente y en ciertos momentos pero especialmente durante la Misa, y ofreceré todo mi sufrimiento a mi Padre y lo colocaré en la patena en el Altar, de manera de unirlo al Pan de Vida, y delante de cuyo sacrificio estaré, para expiar por los pecados de todos, pero en especial los del sacerdocio ministerial católico.  

5. Cuando me levante, abrazaré la cruz de sentirme como una extraña en esta sociedad ruidosa, con imágenes en la televisión que no son realidad y que muestran la vaciedad de estas almas buscando distraerse del dolor de la separación y del rechazo de Dios, aunque ellas no lo saben. Por lo tanto, le pido a mi Señor que me otorgue un gran amor para ellos, y muy especialmente por todos los miembros de la “cultura de la muerte”, para poder así ofrecerle mi vida de oración y sacrificio por su liberación espiritual en Cristo Jesús. En el día de hoy pondré mucha atención a amar a todo mi prójimo en todo lugar, y mucho mejor que lo hice ayer.

6. Le pondré atención a estos puntos muy a menudo, y si me encuentro olvidándome de ellos, los leeré durante el día. Con este enfoque llegaré a rehusar desanimarme o a pasar mucho tiempo en el dolor de cualquier cruz, excepto para abrazarla repetidamente durante el día, incluyendo cualquier memoria triste, poniendo gran atención a la riqueza de su bendición para mí y para otros

7. Cada vez que me llegue una cruz, y después de re-afirmar el abrazo, el sí a cualquiera de ellas,  presente o pasada,  escogeré mover mi atención al presente momento con la determinación de vivirlo en la Presencia de Dios, en alabanza y acción de gracias, arrepintiéndome de haber usado pobremente el regalo del tiempo, y otros regalos recibidos que no fueron multiplicados lo suficiente. Además, diré repetidamente, “Yo soy la esclava del Señor. Haz en mí según Tu Palabra. Yo estoy aquí Señor. Vengo a hacer Tu voluntad”.

Hasta el momento, todo esto ha sido un gran regalo de San José… Yo tiendo a enfocarme mucho en mi dolor de cualquier clase, ya sea el dolor que proviene de comer las comidas a las cuales soy alérgica, o a vivir como una extranjera viendo un mundo tan confundido, y/o recordándome del odio recibido de mis hermanos y hermanas, etc.… Sin embargo, en estos últimos días yo he podido olvidarme rápidamente estos dolores de mis cruces, después de saborearlas diciendo que sí una y otra vez con gran gusto, y las cargo como una gran bendición de la voluntad de  Dios, y por lo tanto llenas de gracias. En esta forma, regreso fácilmente a las gracias contenidas en el Calvario que Él me modeló y continúo el ascenso como un soldado que quiere seguir al Maestro hasta el final, por amor a Él y a mi prójimo…

En esta Cuaresma, mi Viacrucis será mucho más activo àporque una cosa es decir el viacrucis cada viernes de cuaresma (algo muy bueno), y otra muy diferente es acompañarlo con mis cruces totalmente aceptadas y sufridas, abrazadas, caminando con Él cada día con el dolor de la memoria del abandono como Él lo sufrió, o con el rechazo cuando escogieron a Barrabás y no a Jesús. Esta forma de viacrucis es todavía mejor. Y me ayudará mucho más a obtener un nuevo Pentecostés por mis sacerdotes.

Un fruto ya obtenido de esta concientización de qué hacer durante el día, es ver como mis cruces del pasado no se pueden compara en nada a perder una casa por falta de pago de la hipoteca y re posesionada por el prestamista, e irse a vivir en tiendas de campaña con suelos sucios, con animales y niños corriendo por doquiera, y cuando llueve por 5 días seguidos, tener que levantarse en el medio de la noche a sacar el agua a cubetazos … La ciudad capital del estado de California tiene una “ciudad de tiendas de campaña” a su alrededor…. Estas gentes tenían lindas casas, y ahora están sin trabajo, sin carro y sin casa… y tienen que caminar my largo para comprar sus alimentos ya que no pueden ni cocinar. Una de las respuestas que me rompen el corazón es oírlos decir que “lo que más extrañan es poder darse un baño cuando quieran y con total privacidad”.

Por lo tanto, mi lista de cruces parece no tener comparación con las de ellos. Aún más, este viaje de nuestro Papa a África, me ha traído un dolor parecido… La mayoría de estas ciudades que está visitando, tiene mucha gente muy pobre y con niños con hambre en este mismo momento que escribo… Así que mirando a mis propias cruces se ha convertido en una danza interna de alabanza y acción de gracias. Hasta tomar un baño tiene significado para mí ahora. Y le doy gracias a Dios por cada gota de agua y por la privacidad que tengo… ¡Uau!

Les pasaré detalles de otros frutos que vengan de este esfuerzo de auto-negación y de abrazar mis cruces como Él lo hizo, pero mi intención principal es donar todo este vivir Su Palabra, Su ejemplo como alabanza y acción de gracias por el Sacerdocio, por su santificación y de Su Iglesia entera. Pronto añadiré otras intenciones a la oración que había puesto en las oraciones diarias que algunos de nosotros íbamos a decir como Cuerpo de Cristo. Usaré las palabras del Santo Padre del 16 de marzo en lo que él cree que los sacerdotes necesitan modelar, y  pondré a San José y al Curé de Ars en esta oración como intercesores.

Trataré de escribir “blogs” cortos dos veces por semana, cerca de los miércoles y en el fin de semana, al menos hasta que mi Señor me mande otra señal para que pare. Ya he hablado con mi hijo para que comience a pensar cómo poner un “sitio web” dedicado a la  Misericordia de Dios para lanzarlo cerca del 19 de abril, la fiesta de la Divina Misericordia. Habrá un enlace para una sección para sacerdotes por sacerdotes, y el Espíritu Santo proveerá la ayuda sacerdotal. Todo para complementar los deseos del Santo Padre de dedicar un año entero al Sacerdocio Ministerial, y por lo tanto, pedir misericordia para ellos.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


