Policies and procedures for the spiritual life

These are the ways how I applied my knowledge of JCAHO’s policies and methods in healthcare, to my spiritual life for my ongoing conversion into discipleship. And one more time, why did I do it? I will write a few Bible verses that were essential for me to understand what I had to accomplish; again, not out of directing my own spiritual life. No. It was only to have a “procedure” or method to open my soul to the grace and mercy of God and according to what He had already done with Israel…

Leviticus 6: 1-6 – Paraphrasing it says that the Israelites needed to have a holocaust all night on the hearth of the altar. God said, “The fire on the altar should be burning.” (I had to be conscious as well about the need for my ongoing sacrifice being burned day and night in the altar of my Temple of the Holy Ghost or “SOY” as discussed on Feb. 7)

Joshua 1: 1, 5-9. God said to Joshua, “Prepare to cross the Jordan. No one can withstand you while you live. Be firm and steadfast, so that you may give this people possession of the land. Above all, be firm and steadfast, taking care to observe the entire Law which Moses enjoined on you. Do no swerve from it either to the right or to the left that you may succeed wherever you go! Keep this book of the law in your lips. Recite it by day and night, that you may observe carefully all that is written in it; that you will successfully attain your goal. I command you: be firm and steadfast! Do not fear nor be dismayed for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

(I needed to prepare myself in order to cross the Jordan and posses the land, the Promised Land for my soul, or that life where I will have milk and honey à peace, joy, knowledge and wisdom to keep seeking the Kingdom within. I had to recite the Law daily so that I would not swerve to the right or left true the enticements of my flesh, the world or the devil; but even more important, there was a major hint that I would doubt, that I would tend to quit, that I would find the road too tough to follow and would stop and/or be tempted to go back to the Egypt (slavery) of my previous life… It was clear because God warned Joshua three times to be firm and steadfast. I needed a plan of action to keep this new commandment for action. I had been commanded to do so).

2 Samuel 24: 18-25 – David had sinned against the Lord by counting the number of soldiers of his army. This was a clear sin of mistrusting God’s love and mercy for Israel and himself as King in order to defend themselves against their enemies. He was told to offer a holocaust to stop the pestilence that had fallen on his people, yet he bought the land even that it had been offered to him without pay to build the altar for the offering, because he said, “I cannot offer holocausts that cost nothing!” (For me too, I had to offer holocaust for my sins, a sacrifice, something that cost me, like “SOY,” in order to cross the Jordan River of my spiritual life)

And how were these Scriptures put together? I was adoring Jesus in the Eucharistic Host when I was given the go to check in my Bible pages 195, 295 and 395 where I found these three readings all within a few minutes. And low and behold, there it was a complete succinct presentation from the Holy Spirit of what to do. In hindsight, I had been doing most of it for many years, as you will learn in future blogs but just by grace. However, this plan of written reminders that looked like policies seemed to be the safest way to keep track of the Law being written in action in my soul, a new way to help my job as the CEO of my spiritual life, in order to be led without too much swerving to the right or left and get to posses the Promised Land a little at the time, and be alerted to any correction of sinful patterns to be made.

Policies and procedures for my spiritual life

TITLE: List of policies and procedures establishing the standard of care for my soul in order give glory to God and to receive the fullness of His mercy and love.

PURPOSE (Objective, goal)

1. To identify the core matters for the restoration of my soul by following Jesus’ command, “Repent and believe in the Gospel”, using the Bible and teachings of the Roman Catholic Church (Catechism and Papal teachings), in order to open myself to further encounters with Jesus that would give me the graces necessary to answer His call to discipleship and holiness.

2. To focus my attention of mind and heart to practice these core matters in order to own my shadow, to know my sinful patterns as seen under the light of God’s Law, and this way to be able to correct them earlier than later.

3. To develop a plan of prayer asking for God’s mercy in order to be firm and steadfast in following it, acknowledging daily that this plan will cost me, but reassured with the hope of  the fruits of this experience of walking with Jesus to Emmaus and His precious care for me.

PROCEDURES (Implementation, methods)

A. List of core matters– (Each major topic of this list will have its own policy and procedure, and a summary will be shared in future blogs).

1. Self-denial. List of subjects where self-denial is still raw or very imperfect and a list of conquered topics.

2. List of present crosses with a survey of resistance or acceptance to them and the successful practice of offering them with a resounding YES to His will (SOY), or lack of.

3. Prayer life: setting up a specific time for prayer plus constant prayer plans (praying without ceasing) keeping track of my failures. Taking seriously my role as an intercessor for the whole world (the Body of Christ), and keeping track of when I failed to do it and why?

4. Sacramental life to know the graces that each Sacrament brings and the need for the state of grace to receive them. To make inventory of how I have lived the gifts of prophet, common priesthood, king and as Temple of the Holy Spirit.

5. Daily reading of Sacred Scripture (with application to my spiritual life under the guidance of the Holy Spirit)

6. Review of the Commandments (Decalogue) with a list of which ones I brake often or follow poorly and with a root cause analysis of the why.

7. Study of all commands that Jesus highlighted (like do not be afraid; trust in Me) making a list of those that I am not keeping and why, especially the virtues found in a child.

8. Re: faith – list of what I believe with certainty, what I doubt and all fears that affect my trust in God’s love for me.

9. Re: hope – what facts, people or events rob the hope that with God all things are possible; that He is my shepherd and therefore I shall lack nothing; that I am a child of God and therefore equipped by Him to return to my Father’s home. To establish remedy to anything that torpedoes my hope.

10. Re: love for God – List of ways in which I show of obedience to God’s will and those which I do not obey and why

11. Re: love of neighbor – how I practice or fail to practice servanthood – my duty to become a gift to others, including enemies, in whatever ways I am called to do it and according to their need. How I share my time, resources and gifts for the sake of the Body of Christ  and when I fail to do it and why.

12. Management of worldly passions: attachment to people, style of life, money, possessions, social status as symptoms of lack of denial of self.

13. The practice of daily thanksgiving to God remembering the story of the leper who returned to thank Jesus and the added spiritual healing he received.

14. Getting to know Satan in the Bible and identifying patterns of his temptations in my life and in the history of the world. Finding the ways how he can be completely annihilated in prayer and with obedience to God which he did not do, understanding that it is his most important tactic to tempt me (to disobey the will of God). To use Our Lady as a model with her “yes” and how she became his most powerful enemy.

15. The mystery of the Church: since Jesus did not go by Himself to proclaim the Good News but immediately called 12 men, made one of them the leader, and sent them in two’s as well to do the same proclamation, how have I followed His example in this work of collaboration in communion with others, in unity for the work of the Kingdom?

16. Work of evangelization: Jesus visited people in a special way through spiritual healing and love and two women became evangelists in their own right: the Samaritan woman at the well and Mary of Magdala. How well have I followed the example of these two women? How hard do I work at proclaiming the Good News from the pulpit of my own conversion and transfiguration?

17. Every week, I must take time to contemplate the mercy of God for me in different stages of my life, as a reminder of how He has carried me like an infant in His arms in this walk through the desert in route to the Promised Land.

18. I must have a plan of silence to listen to the Holy Spirit for direction via the Bible but also through the reading of spiritual books from Catholic spiritual masters, magazines or use of media in every form, including specific Catholic TV programs. To establish a modus operandi whereby all reading, watching and hearing must be used to target areas that need growth, and not to use it as just information in these times of the “CNN” phenomena.

19. I must examine with a magnifying glass, how I manage my free time, most especially how  many hours I waste in allowing worldly views of the media make permanent and silent changes in the plasticity of my brain without I even noticing it…

20. Complete root cause analysis of my failure to comply with this plan

B. Development of plan of action for each item above, geared to pre-empty behaviors that may block the ongoing conversion of my soul.

C. Establish a process for the review every June of above plan, with the purpose of finding out what behavior patterns have failed the most, and submit them to Jesus in the Eucharist seeking His healing. Offer healing Masses and Rosaries to eradicate sinful patterns.  Make a list of the fruits received, not for pride but as an incentive to be faithful to present plan, and acknowledging this way, the love of God for me.

 Every year in December, re-assess status of plan of action after a novena to the Holy Spirit, and modify the plan accordingly for the New Year.

D. Have a plan to regularly invoke the Celestial Court to intercede for this work in my soul: the Mother of God, the Saints, the Nine Choirs of Angels, and the souls of those who loved us and are already with God and those in Purgatory as well (the latter for us Catholics who believe in this station of waiting to be purified from the effects of sin for which we have already being forgiven through the Blood of the Lamb, precisely by suffering this desire to be with God and not been able to, and this in order to be ready to occupy our respective mansion in heaven).

SPANISH

Reglas y procedimientos para la vida espiritual

Estas son las formas cómo yo apliqué mi conocimiento de las reglas y métodos de la Comisión acreditadora de organizaciones de salud en E.U., a mi vida espiritual para obtener mi conversión y  llegar a ser una discípula de Jesús. Y una vez más, ¿por qué lo hice? Les compartiré unos cuantos versos bíblicos que fueron esenciales para poder yo entender qué era lo que tenía que hacer; y de nuevo, no para yo dirigir mi propia vida espiritual. No. Fue hecho sólo para tener un “procedimiento o método” que abriera mi alma a la gracia y misericordia de Dios y de acuerdo con lo que Él había hecho con Israel…

Levítico 6: 1-6 – Haciendo un sumario, Dios les pidió a los israelitas mantener un holocausto toda la noche sobre la fogata o brasas en el altar de sacrificios. El Señor dijo, “El fuego permanecerá siempre encendido sobre el altar, sin apagarse.” (Yo también me tenía que acordar de que debía tener un sacrificio ardiendo día y noche en el altar de mi templo del Espíritu Santo como “SOY” discutido en Feb. 7).

Josué 1: 1, 5-9 – Dios le dijo a Josué, “Ponte en camino y cruza el Jordán con todo este pueblo. Nadie podrá resistirte mientras vivas…No te dejaré ni abandonaré. Sé fuerte y valeroso, porque tú entregarás a tu pueblo en posesión de la tierra que juré dar a tus antepasados. Sobre todo, sé fuerte y valeroso para cumplir fielmente la ley que te ordenó mi siervo Moisés; no de desvíes ni a la derecha ni a la izquierda, y triunfarás en todo lo que emprendas. Ten siempre en tus labios las enseñanzas del libro de la ley; medítalo día y noche para cumplir exactamente todo lo que está escrito. Así prosperarás en todas tus empresas y tendrás éxito. Yo te mando a ser fuerte y valeroso. No temas ni te acobardes, porque el Señor tu Dios estará contigo dondequiera que vayas.”

(Yo necesitaba prepararme para cruzar el Jordán y posesionarme de la Tierra Prometida para mi alma, o aquella vida adonde encontraré leche y miel à paz, gozo, conocimiento y sabiduría para poder continuar buscando el Reino dentro de mí. Cada día debía de recitar la ley  de manera de no desviarme a la derecha o la izquierda seducida por mi carne, el  mundo o el demonio; pero aún más importante, había una gran advertencia de que podría dudar, de que tendería a terminar la búsqueda, de que encontraría el camino muy pedregoso para seguir y que pararía y/o hasta volvería al Egipto (mi esclavitud) de mi vida anterior… Estaba claro que tres veces Dios le advirtió a Josué  a estar firme, fuerte, valeroso. Yo necesitaba un plan de acción para cumplir con este nuevo mandamiento.  Se me  había mandado a hacerlo.)

2 Samuel 24: 18-25 – David había pecado contra el Señor al mandar a contar el número de soldados de su armada. Este había sido un pecado de falta de confianza en el amor y misericordia de Dios para Israel y para él y de cómo poder defenderse de sus enemigos. Se le pidió que ofreciera un holocausto para parar la pestilencia que le había caído a todo el pueblo, y hasta compró la tierra adonde erigir el altar para el holocausto, aunque se le había ofrecido ser regalada, y dijo, “Yo no puedo ofrecer holocaustos que no me cuesten algo”. (Esto es para mí también, y tengo que ofrecer holocausto – expiación – por mis pecados, un sacrificio que me cueste algo, como “SOY” explicado en el blog del 7 de febrero, de manera de poder cruzar el Río Jordán de mi vida spiritual).

¿Y cómo encontré estos versos bíblicos? Estaba adorando a Jesús en la Eucaristía cuando sentí la necesidad de ir a tres páginas bíblicas, 195, 295 y 395, y ahí encontré las tres lecturas en materia de minutos. Y de pronto me di cuenta que tenía en mis manos una indicación recibida por el Espíritu Santo de lo que debía de hacer. Mirando al pasado, casi todo esto lo estaba cumpliendo ya por algunos años como lo leerán en “blogs” futuros, pero por pura gracia de Dios, sin tener mucha consciencia de lo que hacía y de por qué. Sin embargo, esto de tener por escrito algo semejante a los reglas y procedimientos conocidos para dirigir un centro médico, era un plan más seguro para mantener la Ley de Dios en mis labios, algo que me ayudaría en mi trabajo del manejo espiritual de mi alma sin doblar constante y falsamente a la derecha o izquierda, en mi camino hacia la Tierra Prometida, y estar alerta a cambiar senderos no deseados.

Reglas y procedimientos para mi vida espiritual

TÍTULO: lista de reglas y procedimientos que establezcan el estándar de cuidado de mi alma para darle gloria a Dios y para recibir la totalidad de Su misericordia y amor.

PROPÓSITO (Objetivo, meta)

1. Identificación de tópicos esenciales para la restauración de mi alma para seguir a Jesús y Su mandato, “Arrepiéntete y cree en el Evangelio”, usando la biblia y enseñanzas de la Iglesia Católica Romana (catecismo y enseñanzas del Papa), para así poder abrirme a futuros encuentros con Jesús, y por lo tanto, poder seguirlo respondiendo a Su llamado al discipulado y a la santidad.

2. Para enfocar la atención de mi mente y de mi corazón en la práctica de estos tópicos esenciales  de manera de aceptar ser dueña de mi sombra, o sea de mis patrones de  pecado cuando son expuestos bajo la luz de la ley de Dios, y en esta forma corregirlos tempranamente.

3. Para desarrollar un plan de oración pidiendo la misericordia de Dios para ser firme y fuerte, y aceptando cada día que este plan me costará, pero recordando al mismo tiempo los frutos de esta experiencia de caminar con Jesús a Emáus, y de su precioso cuidado por mí.

PROCEDIMIENTO (implementación, métodos)

A. Lista de materias esenciales(Cada tópico mayor de esta lista tendrá sus propias reglas y procedimientos, y un sumario de ellas será compartido con ustedes and futuros blogs)

1. Auto-negación. Lista de materias donde mi auto-negación es todavía muy débil o imperfecta y una lista de tópicos conquistados (como un aliento para seguir adelante).

2. Lista de cruces presentes con un examen de resistencia o aceptación de ellas y el estado exitoso o no de la práctica de mi “sí” resonante a Su voluntad  (“SOY”).

3. Vida de oración: planes para estipular un tiempo específico para orar, más un plan de oración constante, e identificar cualquier fracaso y por qué. Tomar en serio mi deber como intercesora por todo el mundo, y determinando cuando fallo en hacerlo y por qué.

4. Vida sacramental. Conocer las gracias conferidas con cada Sacramento y qué significa recibirlos en estado de gracia. Revisar cómo he vivido mi regalo de profeta, sacerdocio común, rey y Templo del Espíritu Santo.

5. Lectura diaria de las Sagradas Escrituras con aplicación de versos a mi vida espiritual bajo la guía del Espíritu Santo.

6. Revisar los Mandamientos (Decálogo) y hacer una lista de los que siempre quebranto o que sigo pobremente con un análisis de las causas.

7. Estudio de los mandatos que Jesús señaló una y otra vez (sobre todo – no tengan miedo, confíen en Mí), con una lista de los que no estoy obedeciendo, especialmente aquellas virtudes presentes en los niños.  

8. Virtud de la fe – hacer una lista de lo que creo con certitud, lo que dudo y todas las cosas que afectan mi confianza en el amor de Dios por mí.

9. Virtud de la esperanza Identificar qué factores, gentes o eventos me roban la esperanza de que con Dios todas las cosas son posibles; de que Jesús es mi Pastor y que a mí nada me falta; de que soy una hija de Dios y por lo tanto Él me ha equipado para que retorne a la casa de mi Padre. Establecer formas de remediar todo lo que se convierte en un torpedo de mi esperanza.

10. Amor de Dios – Hacer una lista de las cosas en que soy obediente a Su voluntad  y otra en las que fallo y por qué.

11. Amor al prójimo – Cómo practico o dejo de practicar la “servidumbre”, mi deber de convertirme en un regalo para otros, incluyendo mis enemigos, en cualquier forma que sea llamada a hacerlo y de acuerdo a sus necesidades. Cómo comparto mi tiempo, recursos y dones por el bien del Cuerpo de Cristo y cuándo no lo hago.

12. Manejo de las pasiones mundanas como ataduras a gentes, estilos de vida, dinero, posesiones, estado social, que son síntomas de mi falta de auto-negación.

13. La práctica cotidiana de dar gracias a Dios recordando al leproso que retornó a darle gracias a Jesús y de la sanación espiritual que recibió.

14. Conocer a Satanás en la Biblia, identificando sus patrones para tentarme personalmente  y en la historia del mundo. Encontrar la forma de cómo anihilarlo completamente con oración y obediencia a la voluntad de Dios en lo cual él falló, reconociendo que es la forma más frecuente de tentarnos (hacernos desobedientes) como lo hizo con Adán y Eva. Usar el modelo más grande de su destrucción, el Si de María, nuestra Madre, y contemplar cómo ella se transformo en su mejor enemiga.

15. El misterio de la Iglesia: ya que Jesús no se fue solo a proclamar la Buena Noticia sino que inmediatamente llamó a doce hombres, estableció un líder entre ellos, y a todos los  mandó en grupos de dos, preguntarme cómo yo he seguido este precepto y colaborado con este trabajo de comunión, de unidad, de compañía con otros para el trabajo del Reino.

16. Trabajo de evangelización: Jesús visitó a muchos a través de sanación espiritual y amor como lo hizo con dos mujeres que se convirtieron en evangelizadoras, la mujer Samaritana que encontró en el pozo y a María de Mágdala. ¿Cómo he seguido yo el ejemplo de estas mujeres?

17. Cada semana, tomar tiempo para contemplar la misericordia de Dios por mí en las diferentes etapas de mi vida, para recordarme de cómo Él me ha cargado en sus brazos como un bebé en este caminar en el desierto hacia la Tierra Prometida.

18. Establecer un plan de silencio para escuchar al Espíritu Santo y su dirección en la biblia pero también a través de la lectura de libros católicos de maestros espirituales, de revistas o con el uso de otros medios de comunicación incluyendo programas en la  televisión católica. Sin embargo, también establecer un modus operandi por el cual toda lectura, o lo que oiga o vea debe ser usado en aquellas aéreas que necesitan crecimiento, y no deben ser usadas solamente como información al estilo de el “CNN” de nuestros tiempos.

19. Debo examinar con una lupa cómo manejo el regalo del tiempo libre, y muy especialmente cuántas horas yo pierdo permitiendo que opiniones mundanas de los medios de comunicación y en forma muy silenciosa, cambien el contenido de mis ideas a través de la plasticidad de mi cerebro y sin yo notarlo…

20.  Estudio y análisis de las causas que son la raíz de mi falla en contemplar, aceptar y seguir este plan.

B. Desarrollar un plan de acción para cada punto arriba, con el cometido de evitar conductas que bloqueen la constante conversión de mi alma.

C. Establecer un proceso para revisar este plan cada Junio con miras a identificar aquellas formas de conducta que están fallando más, y hacer un propósito de enmienda y someterlo a Jesús en la Eucaristía en busca de sanidad. Ofrecer Misas de sanación y Rosarios para erradicar estos patrones de conducta no deseables. Hacer una lista de los frutos ya recibidos, no por orgullo sino como un incentivo para ser fiel a este plan y así darme cuenta también del amor de Dios para mí.

Cada año en diciembre, revisar el plan después de una novena al Espíritu Santo y modificarlo si es necesario para el Año Nuevo.

D. Tener un plan de invocación a la Corte Celestial para que interceda por este trabajo en mi alma: La Madre de Dios, los Santos, los Nueve Coros de Ángeles, y las almas del purgatorio.

 

 

 


