Spiritual help for our walk to Emmaus

The topic is still about how to follow Jesus in order to complete His mandate to become disciples. As said before, the 5 years that I walked on water after a lifetime of persecution was a very difficult time… Now persecutions came from outside the medical profession. But all along, what God really meant was exactly what He had prophesied years before!

First of all, ever since I learned that I have Hebrew genes, intuitively I have known that I am from the tribe of Levi… For the readings of the Mass of the great day of February 2, when we Catholics celebrate the Feast of the Presentation of Baby Jesus in the Temple, the words of the prophet Malachi 3: 1-4 had meaning… He said, “It is like the refiner’s fire. He will purify the sons of Levi…. Refining them like gold or silver that they may offer due sacrifice to the Lord! Then, the sacrifice of Judah and Jerusalem will please the Lord, as in the day of old…” Yeees… But just two days before, I ended up finding these verses in my Bible: Deuteronomy 10:8-9. “At that time, the Lord set apart the tribe of Levi to carry the ark of the covenant of the Lord, to be in attendance before Him, to minister to Him and to give blessings in His Name…!  For this reason, Levi has no share in the heritage with his brothers; the Lord Himself is His heritage…

I found myself very touched by all these readings because I found them as I had to recount with some pain all the different times where I had been pushed around for no apparent reason, and how the Lord had been so faithful to make Himself known to me at every twist and turn. It was then and just a few days ago, when I fully saw the beauty of the five years at home without the monetary means to do it, and how He came to the rescue with thousands of dollars from my children, all given without my asking them!  He just wanted me to live a different life of formation in His ways… In one of the many boxes in the garage that seven months ago came from the Midwest, I found another Bible, the one previous to my present one… In this one, I wrote in an empty page some notes. I was at a meeting for pediatric anesthesia in Toronto, Canada, April 10, 1985 and my husband and some other doctor and wife from his home country were there….

Yet, I had taken a book I was reading about St. Teresa of Avila and had found time to read it. This was the year that I stayed home to hopefully cool off my first professional persecution received just 4 months before. In this bible I wrote a quote from St. Teresa that said, Page 144 – A Life of Prayer. “It is by the goodness of the Lord that we are brought to this state. He shows so much mercy in bringing us to it. But it is of the greatest profit to those of us who are on the point of rising still higher to realize that we should be more attentive to give Him ready obedience…”

She also had mentioned how important it was to become a white (empty) page to be filled by God with His own handwriting, and obviously, it meant with our cooperation of blind obedience to His will, so that we did not partially fill the pages of our lives with our handwriting according to our will. It became clear to me then and I wrote about it in this Bible, that I was too busy living this life of joy and delight of this relationship that had flourished some 8 years before with my encounter with the Holy Spirit. I knew I had to empty myself and give Him every day a blank page of my life, in order for Him to write on it but for the service of others and not just for my delight… and comfort… Looking back, this was a major sending me to suffer more in order to sit today and share what He has done for me but duly prepared, not out of pride but out of wanting to pass on what He can do for us all…

December 28, 1985 (one year had passed and I had to start looking for a job in 1986)… My old Bible had these verses underlined:

Isaiah 43: 1-5 “Israel, the Lord who created you said, “Do not be afraid – I will save you. I have called you by name – you are Mine. When you pass through deep waters, I will be with you; your troubles will not overwhelm you. When you pass through fire, you will not be burned; the hard trails that come will not hurt you. For I am the Lord your God, the holy God of Israel, Who saves you. I will give up Egypt to set you free; I will give you Sudan and Seba. I will give up whole nations to save your life, because you are precious to Me, and because I love you and give you honor. Do not be afraid – I am with you!”

On April 23, 1986 and just days before I traveled to Indiana for an interview in this small hospital where I ended up working a couple of months later, these verses were underlined:  Isaiah 42: 9, 16 – “The things I predicted have now come true. Now, I will tell you of new things even before they begin to happen. I will lead my blind people by roads they have never traveled. I will turn their darkness into light and make rough country, smooth before them.”  

It is only a couple of days ago when I stumbled in this old Bible that I can see how I had been warned and yet fortified with the promise of light… His Mercy is soooo evident in these passages, even that I was pretty blind at the time, and He allowed it so that I would give Him my blank pages for Him to write on His will, destined to render fruit. My upcoming dark experiences would become eventually light for me…I had to further be “refined like gold or silver,” so that in due time I could graduate in this job of obedience to His will by letting His Holy Spirit lead me to stay 5 years in an odd situation and learn more about how to follow Him! Amazing grace! How busy is our God in each one of our lives…

So, now it is time to share some more of what I learned in those 5 years. First, I was taught how to build the foundation of my spiritual house… Second: He also gave me a profound knowledge about how to use a method for my own spiritual life based on the “agenda for change” of JCAHO, Joint Commission for the Accrediting of Health Organizations. But why?

In Matthew 19: 21-26, a rich young man had asked Jesus what was necessary to obtain eternal life.  Jesus asked him to obey the commandments and explained them to him. He responded that he was doing it. So, Jesus asked him to sell all he had and give it to the poor… and then to follow Him. This is so clear for all of us… We have so many obstacles in order to answer our call “by name”… In this case, the problem of this man was attachment to money, but we are attached to so many things… especially to ourselves… Once I realized how the Lord had prepared me to know this methodology of JACHO so well (I was even commended in writing by them and they suggested for me to become a supervisor for other directors), I knew that it had to be applied to my own spiritual life in order to identify my obstacles and how to plan their eradication (and remember, we just try our best and God’s grace takes over from there according to His will and time). You will find out that it is a method to “walk the talk” and an “agenda for spiritual change,”

But today I will comment only on the part of the foundation… and that I learned in those 5 years. In following blogs, I will explain this JCAHO’s agenda for change also known as Clinical Quality Assurance Peer Review Audit, but that in God’s terms, I will call it à ongoing personal spiritual quality assurance review audit… It is so easy to write and preach about what Jesus taught, modeled and commanded… Yet, we need to find a method to keep track of ourselves, in order to cooperate as best as we can with His mercy/grace, so that He can transform us on this earth for the sake of the Kingdom, for the sake of others and for His glory.

The foundation of my spiritual house is of course “love”, but there are a few qualifications that I was led to follow… So, I was given this:

SSuffer, sacrifice, and surrender our self will … to any cross thrown in our path, whether by His   

        allowing or ordering will.

O Offer it up… (An old way of saying it…) However, this offering of this sacrifice as priests by Baptism,

         must be given to our Farther daily in union with the Sacrifice of the Son, and at Mass is the best

        place to do it… Although, there is a Mass going on 24 hours/day in the whole world ,and we can

         offer it any time at that Mass even if we do not know where.

        Y –Yes to these crosses, to these sufferings but it must be evident.  We have to truly say a big

        yes to His will, whether wrapped in tears of pain or joy, agreeing fully with it, just  because we

       love Him with all our heart and mind and strength and we do it also to collaborate in the

        salvation of the world, just a Jesus did…

        I have found out that in this practice resides my cooperation with God’s grace to help me deny myself, pick up my crosses daily and to follow Him. It sort of triggers an outpouring of His mercy but like nothing else because it shows my “trust” in His love!

Yes, this is SOY, and wherever you go to the supermarket and see soy milk, think of this foundation to keep our pages blank … as St. Teresa spoke about. All day, we should be ready to “soy” our lives (I just invented a new English verb, sorry…) I find myself at times without even thinking about it, asking God for a little change of venue; or simply, wondering what is next. I am then prompted (most likely by the Holy Ghost) to “SOY”, to say yes to what is, just because it is wonderful and necessary for my sanctification, and of course, always remembering what He has done for me before, in my exodus from the Egypt of my life up to the arrival to the Promised Land on this earth, my resurrected life in Christ Jesus.

 But there is something else: in Spanish, “soy” is “I AM.” So, it has a great meaning for me. This was the Name that the God of Israel identified Himself with and through Moses, He gave it to the Israelites.  I then realized that it is the practice of “soy” that will identify His Name, “I AM,” to me as well, or said in other words, it will identify His Presence at each turn and twist or I will recognize His will every time, and therefore, it moves me to run to His arms and say, yeees to everything He wants… In fact, at times images run through my mind and without soliciting them, where I am a child running to my Father and telling Him how much I want to do whatever He wants… I often wonder if these scenarios are also a fruit of “SOY”… Hmm!

 Again, in this living of SOY and united to the JCAHO method to recognize my obstacles and to have a plan to eradicate them… is the key to become those brides who have enough oil in their lamps waiting for the Bridegroom, Whom we expect but no one knows when He will come since only our Father knows… Next Wednesday or so, we will start looking at this methodology to walk the talk, as long as we SOY day and night… which is the yeast that will make us grow in the spiritual life, at least in my experience!

 SPANISH

 Ayuda espiritual para nuestro viaje a Emaús

El tópico todavía contempla cómo seguir a Jesús de manera de poder completar Su mandato para hacernos Sus discípulos. Como escribí anteriormente, los 5 años que caminé en agua después de una vida entera de persecución fue un tiempo muy difícil… porque las persecuciones llegaron de cristianos fuera de la profesión médica. Pero todo el tiempo, lo que el Señor me mandó fue lo que había profetizado años antes.

Primero que todo, desde que supe acerca de mis genes judíos, intuitivamente he sabido que pertenezco a la tribu de Leví… Las lecturas para la Misa del gran día del dos de febrero cuando nosotros los católicos celebramos la fiesta de la Presentación del Niño Jesús en el Templo, las palabras del profeta Malaquías 3: 1-4, tuvieron mucho significado… Él dijo, “Miren, Yo envío  mi mensajero. Se pondrá a fundir y a refinar la plata. Limpiarán a los hijos de Leví y los purificará como el oro y la plata, para que presenten al Señor ofrendas legítimas. Entonces agradarán al Señor las ofrendas de Judá y de Jerusalén, como en los tiempos remotos.” — Pero había encontrado solamente dos días antes estos versos en mi Biblia: Deuteronomio 10:8-9. “El Señor entonces apartó a la tribu de Leví para que llevara el arca de la alianza del Señor, para que estuviera en Su Presencia y le sirviera, y para que bendijera al pueblo en Su Nombre, como lo siguen haciendo hasta hoy. Por eso Leví no tiene parte ni herencia entre sus hermanos; el Señor es su herencia, como dijo el Señor, tu Dios.”

Me sentí muy conmovida por estas lecturas porque las encontré precisamente en el momento en que había tenido que recordar todo el dolor de cuando había sido perseguida sin razón aparente, y cómo el Señor fue tan fiel haciéndose presente en cada giro y vuelta. Fue entonces, y de nuevo hace unos pocos días, cuando pude contemplar la belleza de esos 5 años en casa sin medios económicos para hacerlo, y cómo Él vino a mi rescate con miles de dólares provenientes de mis hijos, todos dados sin yo pedirlos… Él sólo pretendía que yo viviera una vida diferente de formación en Sus caminos… En una de las muchas cajas en el garaje y que hace 7 meses llegaron de mi casa anterior, me encontré con otra biblia vieja, anterior a la que uso ahora. En ésta escribí en páginas que estaban en blanco algunas notas. Estaba en Toronto, Canadá, el 10 de abril de 1985 en una conferencia de anestesia pediátrica, con mi esposo y otro doctor amigo y su esposa.

Sin embargo, me había llevado un libro acerca de Sta. Teresa de Ávila y tuve tiempo de leerlo. Este era el año que  me quedé en casa esperando que se calmaran los ánimos de mi primera persecución profesional recibida sólo hacía 4 meses antes. En la biblia escribí una cita de este libro sobre Sta. Teresa y que decía: Página 144 – Una Vida de Oración – “Es por la bondad del Señor que somos llevados a este estado. Él nos muestra mucha misericordia en traernos a él.  Pero es para beneficio de aquellos que están a punto de ser elevados a lugares  más altos, el darse cuenta que debemos poner mucha atención y darle a Él nuestra obediencia inmediata.”

Ella también menciona cuán importante es convertirse en una página blanca (vacía) para que el Señor la llene con su propia letra, y obviamente, significa nuestra cooperación en tener una obediencia ciega a Su voluntad, y no ser nosotros los que parcialmente escribimos en las páginas de nuestra vida de acuerdo a nuestra voluntad. Me di cuenta entonces y así lo escribí, que estaba muy ocupada con una vida de gozo y deleite que había florecido desde hacía 8 años atrás con mi encuentro con el Espíritu Santo. Supe entonces que debía vaciarme y darle a Él todos los días una página de mi vida pero en blanco, para que Él escribiera en ella  pero para el servicio de otros y no sólo para mi deleite… y confort. En retrospectiva, esto fue un mandarme a sufrir para poder sentarme hoy a compartir este cuento de Su amor por mí, y para prepararme a hacerlo no con orgullo pero con el deseo de evidenciar cuánto Él puede hacer por nosotros todos.

Diciembre 28, 1985 (Un año había pasado y tenía que comenzar a buscar un trabajo en 1986)… Mi biblia vieja tenía estos versos subrayados:

Isaías 43: 1-5 “Y ahora, así dice el Señor, el que te creó, Jacob; el que te formó. Israel: no temas que Yo te he rescatado, te he llamado por tu nombre y eres mío. Si atraviesas las aguas, Yo estaré contigo; en los ríos no te ahogarás. Si pasas por el fuego, no arderás, las llamas no te quemarán. Porque Yo soy el Señor, tu Dios; el Santo de Israel, tu salvador. He entregado a Egipto como precio de tu rescate, a Etiopía y Saba a cambio de ti; y es que tú vales mucho para Mí, eres valioso y Yo te amo… No temas que Yo estoy contigo… “

El 23 de abril de 1986 y justo a unos días antes de ser entrevistada en Indiana para mi trabajo en el pequeño hospital adonde terminaría trabajando un par de meses después, yo había subrayado estos versos: Isaías 42: 9, 16. – “Las cosas antiguas ya se han cumplido, así que les anuncio algo nuevo. Antes de que suceda lo comunico… Guiaré a los ciegos por un camino que no conocen, los conduciré por sendas que ignoran; convertiré antes ello la oscuridad en luz y lo accidentado en llano. Estos planes los realizaré; no dejaré de cumplirlos.”

De nuevo, fue solamente hace un par de días en que me encontré con esta vieja biblia que pude ver cómo había sido alertada a muchas dificultades y fortificada con la promesa de Su Luz … Su misericordia es tan evidente en estos pasajes, aunque yo estaba tan ciega en ese entonces, y Él lo permitió así para que yo le diera mis páginas blancas para Él escribir mi destino de acuerdo a Su voluntad destinada a darme frutos más tarde. Tenía que ser “purificada como el oro y la plata” de manera que en el tiempo debido me pudiese graduar en esta materia de obediencia a Su voluntad dejando al Espíritu Santo guiarme y quedarme 5 años en una situación tan peculiar, y así aprender más a cómo seguirlo! ¡Qué gracia tan maravillosa…! ¡Qué Señor tan ocupado en el manejo de cada una de nuestras vidas!

Así que ahora es el tiempo de compartir algo más de lo que aprendí en esos 5 años. Primero, pude aprender cómo construir la fundación de mi casa espiritual… Segundo: Él también me proporcionó el conocimiento de cómo usar un método para la vida basada en la “agenda de cambio” de JCAHO, la Comisión que acredita las organizaciones de salud. ¿Pero por qué?

En Mateo 19: 21-26, un joven muy rico  le preguntó a Jesús qué era necesario para obtener la vida eterna. Jesús le pidió que obedeciera los mandamientos y se los explicó. El muchacho le respondió que ya lo estaba haciendo. Así que Jesús le pidió que vendiera todo lo que tenía y se lo diera a los pobres y entonces que lo siguiera. Esto es muy claro para nosotros… Tenemos tantos obstáculos para poder responder a Su llamada que nos hizo por nombre… En este caso, el problema de esto joven era su atadura al dinero, pero nosotros estamos atados a muchas cosas también… y muy especialmente a nosotros mismos…. Una vez que me convertí en una experta en la metodología de JCAHO, y cuando vi cómo el Señor me había bendito con tres ocasiones para aprenderla tan bien (hasta JCAHO me dio una felicitación por escrito y me sugirió que mi trabajo debía ser de supervisión de otros directores…), me di cuenta que debía ser aplicada a mi vida espiritual… para identificar mis obstáculos y planear su erradicación (aunque siempre recordando que nosotros nos esmeramos en hacer lo mejor y que la gracia de Dios es la completa el trabajo de acuerdo a Su voluntad y en Su tiempo). Encontrarán cómo este método nos hace “convertir nuestras palabras en acción” y que es una “agenda para cambiar espiritualmente.”

Pero hoy sólo les comentaré la parte de cómo cooperar en la construcción de la fundación de nuestra casa espiritual y que pude aprender en esos 5 años. En los “blogs” que siguen les explicaré en detalle esta “agenda de cambio” y que yo llamaré – auditoría que asegura la calidad de nuestra vida espiritual… Es tan fácil escribir y predicar todo lo que Jesús enseñó, modeló y ordenó… Sin embargo, necesitamos encontrar un método para monitorearnos nosotros mismos, de manera de cooperar lo mejor que podamos con Su gracia/misericordia, y dejarlo que nos transforme en esta tierra para uso de su Reino y de nuestro prójimo y para darle gloria.

La fundación de mi casa espiritual  es claro el “amor”, pero hay algunos requisitos que entendí para hacerlo bien… Esto fue lo que aprendí:

SSufrir, sacrificar y someter nuestra propia voluntad… a cualquier cruz que encontremos, ya sea

        de su Voluntad para nosotros o que venga de otros y Él la permita.

OOfrecer la cruz de nuestro sufrimientos. Pero este ofrecimiento de nuestro sacrificio como  

         sacerdotes que  somos al ser bautizados, debe hacerse diariamente a nuestro Padre, en unión

 

 

Y (del inglés yes) a todos los sufrimientos,  pero esto debe ser evidente. Debemos decir que

        sí a Su voluntad, ya sea llenos de lágrimas por el dolor o por el gozo, aceptándolos

       simplemente porque amamos a Dios con todo nuestro corazón, mente y fuerza, y para colaborar

        en la salvación del mundo, así como Jesús lo hizo…  

         He podido descubrir que en esta práctica reside mi cooperación con la gracia de Dios para ayudarme a negarme a mí misma, a abrazar mis cruces diarias y para seguir al Maestro. ¡Es como que desata una lluvia de Su misericordia pero como nunca antes, y esto es porque le demuestra mi plena “confianza” en Su amor!

Sí, esto es SOY, y cuando vayamos al supermercado y veamos la leche de soya, piensen en esta fundación de nuestros albergues espirituales que mantiene sus páginas en blanco para que Dios las llene… como lo escribió Sta. Teresa … Aún más, para nosotros las mujeres de la lengua española, SOYA, debería recordarnos esto: “Soy TUYA” y hasta rima… El día entero deberíamos estar practicando “SOY”. A veces sin querer me encuentro pidiéndole a Dios un cambio de planes para mi vida, o simplemente, pensando en qué es lo que viene. Es entonces que me encuentro movida (muy probablemente por el Espíritu Santo) a decir que sí a todo, y simplemente porque toda voluntad de Dios es maravillosa y necesaria para mi santificación, y claro, además recuerdo lo que Él ha hecho por mí, los éxodos de mis Egiptos hasta la llegada a la Tierra Prometida en esta tierra, o sea my vida de resurrección activa en Cristo Jesús.

Pero como saben, en español “soy” es “Yo soy”, el nombre que el Señor le dio a Moisés para que se lo revelara a los Israelitas que caminaban en el desierto… Entonces recuerdo que SOY me identificará Su Presencia a mí también, que me identificara Su voluntad para cada giro y vuelta, y por ello cuando lo practico,  siento que estoy corriendo a Sus brazos y dándole un gran “sí” a todo lo que Él quiera…

De nuevo, vivir este SOY y aunado con el método de inventariar mis obstáculos en mi vida espiritual, es como el caso de las novias que tenían el aceite suficiente para sus lámparas mientras esperaban el novio, y el cual nosotros esperamos pero no sabemos cuándo, y solo nuestro Padre en el cielo lo sabe…. El próximo miércoles o jueves, comenzaré a contarles sobre esta metodología de JCAHO para convertir nuestro conocimiento de Dios de palabras, a acción, ¡siempre y cuando que nos mantengamos practicando SOY día y noche, porque es la levadura que nos hará crecer en la vida espiritual, al menos en mi experiencia!

 

 


