The ways of God

In my human plans, I was going to mention all these life changing turns I made throughout my life in a sequential calendar way, from my youth to now… But, it never occurred to me that yesterday this God of ours was going to play tricks on me and made me take some turns that resulted in a merciful act for someone else! I realized I should mention it because it depicts well what He does when He wills our walk as we obey…

As a rule of life, when I have to do several things like shopping at different places, going to the post office or putting gas in the car, etc., I normally pray on the morning of and let the Holy Ghost give me the sequence and times for these things. So, yesterday I did so since I was going to 12 Noon Mass and I had some 3 hours before to do some of the things and after Mass as well. I sensed a certain sequence and followed it.

I needed to pick up some naturopathic products in my preferred “Whole Foods Market” nearby my church but noticed that I found everything as if by magic… There are so many products that many times either I take forever to find them or have to look for an employee to get them for me… Not yesterday… It was simply magic… They just appeared in front of my eyes. I immediately realized that this was probably a sign and that I should alter the schedule since I had time to stop at a nearby supermarket and still make my Holy Hour or adoring Jesus in the Eucharist prior to Mass.

Sure enough, I also found everything very quickly at this supermarket and please, notice the timing… There is a time for everything under the sun… (Ecclesiastes 3:1) and this includes His mercy. There were three cashiers opened for business and for no great reason I decided to choose one of them. At almost every place, cashiers ask you, “And how are you doing today?” For some years, always, always and without thinking I answer, “With the grace of God, I am doing great.” Sometimes I add, “Without His grace I do not know if I would be doing well.” 

This cashier, may be 30 something, smiled from ear to ear and said, “You are right.”… I added, “And it is the truth… I felt in love with Jesus at age 6, and He is so ALIVE among us. The sad part is that many  seem not to know it.” Still smiling, she took a tiny step back and shook her body and said, “You give me goose pumps.” At that precise moment, I realized that while saying my last statement, I had felt a discharge of power that had gone out of me. She registered it or said in other words, the Holy Ghost had moved in her heart! Without thinking much I asked, “Do you have depressions in your family.” Instantaneously, she responded with a big “Yes.”

I then shared this blog address and sent her to January 6 to read about carrageenan and aspartame and why. She was very receptive (and not like some who look at me like if I were lying to them). I could sense so much humility and holiness in this woman! At the end she said, “Do you know that you were sent to me?” I assented but she had no idea that this meeting had been truly planned by God and later modified further by finding so fast what I had to buy, and precisely to meet her in the time of God.

The night before, I had been rearranging bunches of papers that I brought when I recently moved and found a cardboard with a message that I had written and said, “Spiritual servanthood is a visitation to others in Spirit and Truth , but always willingly going in haste to do it. I was called to do a job – to serve them with the message anew of His mercy. Now, I am sent but after recognizing why I want to do it! — To glorify my Dad! My fiat (yes) is beyond a yes. It is a way to say to my Father, “I love You and therefore, I want to please You.” Feast of St. Juan Diego, December 9, 2007.

I realized right and there that I had just lived the above words: first and through grace, I affirmed the majesty of God to this humble woman (visitation in Spirit and Truth) and then, the mercy of God made itself present, that is, the knowledge that depression  was present in her family… This information may be a life changing event for her or her family although I will never know!

That same morning and before all these events, I was saddened when I learned that in N.Y., the present Governor has added a new tax on some sodas because of their sugar content, and this to help out with the rampant increase of obesity and of course to create revenue. It could mean that some years down the line, Coca Cola, Pepsi and the like, may not even sell “regular” sodas… And everything will be tainted with Aspartame… Worse, it could become the custom over this whole land. Even now, people from N.Y. may remember the tax and opt to buy the so called “diet” pops…They will choose a very toxic product that excites brain cells instead of regular sugar that is not a toxic, and one which depresses some of us. Worse, the literature has pinpointed to the higher incidence of brain tumors since the 1970’s… Precisely when this low calorie sugar came into vogue… And we also have had several public figures being treated for brain tumors…

Well, this is another example of when years ago I was guided to make a specific turn and found a gift for me and many others. First, my little son at age 8 wanted diet pop. I used to drink pop with saccharine, but I found this new product and thought that may be the flavor was much better, especially for an 8 year old… It is amazing that this moment was most likely another sacred moment because I remember the exact supermarket, city and actual scenario when I chose this new product … This led us to know that we get depressed with Aspartame, most likely due to a our genetic makeup… Had I not picked up the new product for just one member and noticed what it did to him… we may have not suspected it as the source of depression and headaches for me, as well. And since saccharine disappeared from pop…we would not have had a choice and would have taken it.   

In the same way and as written before, jobs were scarce in the 1990’s and I had to work for 3 months in a State far away from my home… Every two weeks I had to fly South West airlines to visit my family… If I had not had repetitive instances of eating the same cottage cheese in these flights (not even knowing that carragenan existed) in order to notice the depression that followed, and had I not being led by the Spirit to buy the Weight Watchers brand in the city I worked, which had carrageenan as well, I may not have being able back at home to compare brands and discover this sea weed… So, today I could be living in a nursing home depressed and with Alzheimer’s… No doubt that every turn in this story was guided from above.

I want to leave you with this last thought: we have to follow what He said… Just reading about it will not do… Remember how Simeon was led by the Spirit to the Temple to meet the Messiah King. This story is a big hint for us… Also in Luke 12: 22, 26, 29-31, Jesus said, “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life and what you will eat or about your body and what you will wear. ..If even the smallest things are beyond your control, why are you anxious about the rest…? As for you, do not seek what you are to eat and what you are to drink, and do not worry anymore. All the nations of the world seek for these things, and your Farther knows that you need them. Instead, seek His kingdom, and these other things will be given to you besides.”

His Kingdom is within us. He has ordered us to seek it. His Kingdom has been described as His lordship over us. But His lordship cannot be just a concept or words or wishful thinking, but an experience where we do not worry about anything and if we do, we ask for His mercy. Where led by the Spirit, we do what He did and we love, we forgive, we serve and we suffer. Where we follow Him by leaving everything else behind because we are servants but also His children as well. As this cashier felt goose pumps, I knew that we both were present to His lordship in each other. A very sacred moment indeed!

Corollary:  the Holy Spirit has led me to what my body needed to prevent depression and loss of memory, so I could live a decent life and share the gifts with others. I only had to say “yes” to all things that came to me, to the turns to right or left as I submitted to His lordship. In these stories you can see very clearly how at times He led me through difficult paths (jobs far from home) but in order to create the events and hints to solve each puzzle. Yesterday, He led me to be a Good Samaritan but He took care of each detail, of each turn, so that I could take care of my neighbor’s wounds. This is why at Holy Hour and Mass that followed, I knew I had to thank Him in a brand new way for having called me by name, for engraving His Name on my heart, for His lordship over me, for my childhood encounter with Him, and all other wonders of His mercy.

Naturopathic pearls from Newsletter of Feb. 2009 by Julian Whitaker, MD. He reports that in a recent meeting at U.C. San Diego School of Medicine, worldwide experts on Vitamin D said that supplementation with this vitamin during pregnancy and infancy, may reduce the risk of a child developing Type I (juvenile) diabetes by 80 to 90%.  They also said that most of the world’s population – including 85% of Americans – is deficient in Vitamin D at this time of the year, every year.  “You’d need to eat 2 o 3 daily servings of salmon or sardines, drink 5 glasses of fortified milk, or take a spoonful of cod liver oil just to get the meager RDA of this vitamin, which isn’t enough.” Dr. Whitaker has been prescribing 2,000 to 4,000 IU to patients in his clinic in Newport Beach, CA, in order to keep good levels through blood measurement or between 40 to 70 ng/mL.

“Ultraviolet –B (UVB) radiation from the sun penetrates the skin, and reacts with cholesterol to form vitamin D. The UVB makes up a very small portion of the spectrum of sunlight, and the angle of the sun during the winter makes impossible for UVB to reach much of the Earth. Even if you sunbathed for hours on a cold, sunny day, you would not get enough UVB to enable your skin to make this vitamin. So, unless you take vitamin D supplements, your levels plummet during the winter months.”   

I add that vitamin D is a requirement for the proper absorption of calcium. Some authors have said that vitamin D serves like the gate keeper, the porter in the intestines, by opening the door for calcium to travel through and enter the blood stream. And as I reported before, good calcium levels are important for running the electrical circuits in our entire body, to prevent osteoporosis and to decrease the deposits in the plaque that occlude the arteries. Asking your physician for a measurement of Vitamin D levels on a yearly basis, may not be a bad idea, according to this science.

SPANISH

Los designios de Dios

En mis planes humanos, iba a contarles todos los giros que he hecho en mi vida pero siguiendo la secuencia del calendario, desde mi niñez hasta el presente… ¡Pero nunca se me ocurrió que este nuestro Dios iba a jugarme una trampa porque ayer me hizo tomar unos giros que resultaron en un acto misericordioso para otra persona! ¡Me di cuenta que tenía que mencionarlo porque ilustra lo que este Dios hace cuando Él manda y nosotros le obedecemos!

Como una regla de mi vida, cuando tengo varias cosas que hacer como ir de compras a diferentes lugares, o al correo o a poner gasolina en mi carro, etc., generalmente yo oro en la mañana y le pido al Espíritu Santo darme la secuencia y horas para estas cosas. Así que ayer así lo hice ya que iba a Misa del medio día y tenía 3 horas antes y tiempo después de la Misa para completar lo que quería hacer.

Necesitaba comprar algunos productos naturopáticos en mi tienda preferida que queda cerca de mi iglesia y me di cuenta que pude encontrar todo como si fuera magia… Hay tantos productos que muchas veces o me tardo demasiado o tengo que buscar una empleada que me los encuentre… Pero no ayer y todo pareció en frente de mis ojos como si fuera por magia. Inmediatamente me di cuenta que esto era una señal y que debía cambiar mi itinerario y hasta tendría tiempo para ir al supermercado cercano y hacer  mi Hora Santa, o adorar a Jesús antes de la Misa.

En el supermercado  también encontré todo muy rápidamente y por favor noten el elemento del tiempo… “Todo tiene su momento, y cada cosa su tiempo bajo el cielo…  (Eclesiastés 3:1) y esto incluye Su misericordia. Tres cajeras estaban abiertas y yo escogí una sin pensarlo mucho. En Casi todos los lugares las cajeras preguntan, “Y como le va hoy”. Por varios años, yo siempre, siempre y sin pensarlo, respondo, “Con la gracia de Dios me va  muy bien”. A veces añado, “Sin Su gracia no sabría si me va bien.”

Esta cajera, quizás de unos treinta años, se sonrió de oreja a oreja y me dijo, “Tiene usted razón”… Yo agregué, “Y esto es la verdad… Yo me enamoré de Jesús a la edad de 6 años, y Él está VIVO entre nosotros. Lo triste es que parece que casi nadie lo sabe.” Todavía sonriendo se hizo para atrás un poquito y dijo, “Usted me produce ‘carne de gallina’ ”. En ese preciso momento me di cuenta que al yo decir mis últimas palabras, había sentido una descarga de poder que salió de mí. Ella la había recibido o dicho en otras palabras, ¡el Espíritu Santo había movido su corazón! Sin pensarlo le pregunté, “¿Sufre usted o su familia de depresiones? Instantáneamente ella respondió con un gran “sí”.

Entonces compartí con ella la dirección de este “blog” y la mandé a leer el día 6 de enero con la información acerca de carragenan y aspartame y por qué.  Ella se mostró muy receptiva (y no como algunos que me miran como si estuviera mintiendo). Pude reconocer su humildad y santidad. Al final me dijo, “¿Sabe usted que me fue mandada?”. Yo asentí pero ella no tenía idea de cómo este encuentro fue verdaderamente planeado por Dios y modificado más tarde al  encontrar todo lo que compré tan rápidamente, precisamente para encontrarnos en el tiempo de Dios.

La noche anterior había estado organizando varios papeles que traje cuando me movilicé a esta ciudad, y me encontré con una cartulina que había escrito y decía, “La servidumbre espiritual es una visitación a otros en Espíritu y Verdad pero siempre con gran deseo y yendo de prisa. Fui llamada a hacer un trabajo – a servirles con el mensaje renovado de  Su misericordia. Ahora, soy enviada pero después de reconocer por qué lo quiero hacer— ¡Para glorificar a my Papito! Mi fíat (mi sí) es más que un simple sí. Es una forma de decirle a mi Padre, “Yo te amo y por lo tanto, quiero complacerte”. Fiesta de San Juan Diego, Diciembre 9, 2007.

Me di cuenta ahí mismo que yo había vivido estas palabras: primero y a través de la gracia, había afirmado la majestad de Dios a esta humilde mujer (visitación en Espíritu y Verdad) y luego, la misericordia de Dios se hizo presente, esto es, el conocimiento que la depresión era parte de su familia… Esta información puede que tenga un efecto  de gran magnitud en su vida aunque nunca lo sabré.

Esa mañana y antes de estos eventos, me había entristecido el saber que el Gobernador de Nueva York había añadido otro impuesto a las bebidas gaseosas debido a su contenido alto de azúcar, y esto para ayudar el aumento tan obvio de la obesidad y para generar más ingresos. Esto podría significar que dentro de unos años, Coca Cola y Pepsi y otras sodas puede que no se vendan con azúcar. Y todo estará lleno de aspárteme. Peor que eso, podría convertirse en la costumbre para todo este país. Aun ahora, la gente de Nueva York recordando el nuevo impuesto comprarán las so llamadas bebidas dietéticas… Y así escogerán un producto muy tóxico que excita las células cerebrales  en lugar del azúcar que no es tóxico, y un producto que produce depresiones en algunos de nosotros. Pero peor que eso, la literatura ha indicado que la incidencia de tumores cerebrales ha aumentado desde los años 70, precisamente cuando este azúcar sin calorías, se hizo famoso. Aún más, tenemos varias figuras públicas sufriendo de tumores cerebrales…

Bueno, este es otro ejemplo de cómo hace algunos años fui guiada a tomar un giro específico y cómo me encontré con un regalo para mí y para otros. Primero, mi pequeño hijo de 8 años quería una gaseosa dietética…. Me maravillo al pensar en ese momento, uno que probablemente fue también un momento santo porque todavía hasta recuerdo el supermercado, la ciudad y la situación precisa cuando escogí este producto nuevo… Esto me llevó a conocer que nos deprimíamos con aspárteme, y muy probablemente debido a nuestro código genético… Si no hubiese comprado este nuevo producto y habérselo dado a un solo miembro para determinar sus efectos… nunca lo hubiésemos sospechado como la fuente de depresión y de dolores de cabeza para mí también. Y ya que la sacarina desapareció de estas bebidas, no hubiésemos tenido ninguna otra alternativa sino que beberla.

En la misma forma y como lo escribí antes, trabajos en anestesia eran raros en los años 90 y tuve que ir a practicar por 3 meses a un Estado lejano de mi casa… Tenía que volar cada dos semanas  en las aerolíneas South West para visitar a mi familia… Si no hubiese tenido estas instancias repetidas de comer el mismo queso cotage en estos vuelos, (y sin saber que carrageenan existía) para poder notar la depresión que le seguía y si no hubiese sido guiada por el Espíritu a comprar la marca de queso Weight Watchers en la ciudad donde trabajaba, el cual también tenía carrageenan, no hubiese podido comparar marcas con el queso que comía donde yo residía, y no hubiese descubierto esta yerba de mar…. Así que hoy estaría viviendo en un asilo de ancianos deprimida y con Alzhéimer… No hay duda que cada paso de esta historia fue guiado desde arriba…

Quiero dejarlos con este último pensamiento: tenemos que hacer lo que Él dijo… Solamente leyéndolo no basta… Recuerden cómo Simeón fue llevado por el Espíritu al Templo para conocer al Rey Mesías. Esta historia es una gran señal para nosotros… También en Lucas 12: 22 ,26, 29-31, Jesús dijo, “Por eso les digo: no se inquieten pensando en sus vidas y qué van a comer ni con qué vestido cubrirán su cuerpo… Por tanto, si nada pueden hacer en estas cosas tan pequeñas, ¿por qué se inquietan de lo demás? …Así que ustedes no se preocupen buscando qué comerán o qué beberán. Por todo esto se inquieta la gente del mundo, pero su Padre ya sabe lo que necesitan. Busquen más bien Su reino, y Él les dará lo demás.”

Su reino está dentro de nosotros. Él nos ordena que lo busquemos. Su Reino ha sido descrito como Su señorío sobre nosotros. Pero este señorío no puede consistir en sólo conceptos, palabras u optimismo ilusorio, sino una experiencia donde no nos preocupamos por nada, y si lo hacemos, pedimos Su misericordia. Donde guiados por el Espíritu, hacemos lo que Él hizo y amamos, perdonamos, servimos y sufrimos. Donde lo seguimos dejando todo atrás porque somos sirvientes pero también Sus hijos. En el momento que la cajera dijo que tenía carne de gallina, yo supe que estábamos presentes a Su Señorío en cada una de nosotras… ¡Sin lugar a dudas, un momento muy sagrado!

Corolario: el Espíritu Santo me ha guiado a saber lo que mi cuerpo necesita para prevenir la depresión y la pérdida de memoria, de manera de poder gozar de una vida decente y para pasar este conocimiento a otros. Yo sólo tuve que decir que “sí” a todo lo que llegó, los giros a la derecha e izquierda. En estas historias pueden ver claramente cuántas veces Él me guió a través de caminos difíciles (trabajos lejos de casa) pero para poder crear eventos y señales para resolver este rompe cabezas. Ayer, me guió a ser una buena samaritana, pero Él se encargó de cada detalle, de cada giro, de manera de que yo pudiera atender las heridas de mi prójima. Es por esto que en la Hora Santa y Misa que siguieron, sabía que tenía que darle gracias en una forma nueva por haberme llamado por mi nombre, por haber gravado Su Nombre en mi corazón, por Su Señorío sobre mí, por mi encuentro con Él desde niña, y por todas las maravillas de Su misericordia.

Perla naturopática del boletín de febrero del 2009 por Julian Whitaker, MD. Él reporta que en una reciente conferencia médica en la Escuela de Medicina de la U. de California en San Diego, expertos sobre la vitamina D del mundo entero, dijeron que suplementando con esta vitamina a la mujeres preñadas y durante la infancia, puede reducir el riesgo a desarrollar la diabetes tipo I (juvenil) en un 80 a 90%. También dijeron que la mayoría de la población mundial – incluyendo el 85% de americanos – está deficiente en vitamina D en esta época del año y cada año.  “Usted necesitaría comer de 2 a 3 comidas diarias de salmón o sardinas, o beber 5 vasos de leche fortificada con la vitamina, o tomarse una cucharada de aceite de hígado de bacalao para obtener el mínimo nivel establecido (por el gobierno), lo cual no es suficiente.” El Dr. Whitaker prescribe de 2.000 a 4.000 unidades internacionales  a sus pacientes en su clínica en Newport Beach, California, para poder mantener buenos niveles en sangre y que son entre 40 y 70 ng (nano gramos) por litro.

“La radiación ultravioleta – (UVB) obtenida con el sol, penetra la piel y reacciona con el colesterol para formar la vitamina D. Esta radiación UVB forma muy poca parte del espectro de la luz del sol, y el ángulo del sol durante el invierno hace imposible que esta radiación UVB pueda llegar a la tierra. Aun si alguien se asolea por horas en un día con sol pero frío, no se podría obtener suficiente UVB para que la piel pueda hacer esta vitamina. Así que, a no ser que se tome un suplemento con Vit. D, sus niveles son muy bajos durante los meses de invierno.”

Yo añado  que la vitamina D es requerida para la absorción del calcio. Algunos autores señalan que la vitamina D sirve de portera en los intestinos, abriendo las puertas para que el calcio pueda pasar a la sangre. Y como reporté anteriormente, los niveles normales de calcio son importantes para el paso de la electricidad en nuestros cuerpos, para prevenir osteoporosis y para disminuir los depósitos en la placa que ocluye las arterias. Pedirle a su médico que le mida sus niveles de vitamina D parece ser recomendable de acuerdo a esta ciencia.


