Following Jesus

This topic of what it means to follow Jesus but in my personal walk with Him, continues here but it will take several blogs to cover its many aspects. However, after much prayer and looking at the national events of January 20 plus expecting those of January 22, I have to tell you that I have a lot of hope… A half century ago, when I arrived in Los Angeles as an exchange student at age 17, my Bostonian foster parents told me that I could not make friends with Mexico- Americans, Jews or Blacks… No other rule was given or explanation of the why it had to be so!

I lived and practiced discrimination under this guidance from very good people who treated me very well, and now in retrospect, it helps me to remember them and to be able to realize that cultural trends are great transformers of our very plastic brains… It is interesting that they had no problem about my Hispanic ancestry based south of Mexico, but I could not make friends with some Latinos… So, I lived firsthand but in reverse, what Dr. King was experiencing in the South.

It was soo good when yesterday I saw such trend being reverted… In this sense, God has shown grace to this our USA. How many prayers people have said during these 50 years to have this answer today? Probably millions of them. And since for God all things are possible, we also can expect changes in the name of the right to life, since all the world is in His hands, as I heard it being chanted just this morning. However, just like Dr. King and followers did who preached freedom and equality but with peaceful means, the time is here for us to preach the right to life for another group of human beings, our babies and elders. In our case, we need to preach it with our lives of discipleship… Yet, not with words (so tiresome and boring) but in Spirit and Truth, and follow the Master as He hinted us to do. (It rhymes… Hmm)

Our Lord was so clear! John 12: 24,26 – “Amen, amen, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains just a grain of wheat; but if it dies, it produces much fruit. Whoever serves Me must follow Me, and where I am, there also will My servant be. The Father will honor whoever serves Me.”

It is obvious that if He went to Calvary, we must travel there through our many crosses, minor and huge, but with a big “yes” during this earthly journey… Unless we die and fall to the ground, we may not do too much else for ourselves and others. His will is such… His Words are not just interesting passages with the right for us to choose, or which ones we like to follow… but they are clear statements. I must say that early in my journey, and no doubt by His grace, possibly because I encountered Him as being ALIVE in the Eucharist before age 7, I sought His will with fidelity without I even knowing what I was doing.

This came to be apparent so many years later and once I connected the dots. In retrospect, my obedience through grace must have facilitated the many occasions where signs, wonders and miracles came out of the blue; so I can assure anyone that He is alive on this earth… and only waiting for our yes in its fullest meaning at every present moment through the death of ourselves like the grain of wheat; also understanding that our Daddy will honor us and in huge matters… Huge!  I have more than 10 instances of “life changing experiences” where I took a left or right turn in a miraculous way. I have debated much regarding if I should tell you about them, and the more I thought of not bugging you with these stories, the more I knew that they will prove to any of you how involved He is in our lives… I am sure that you have your own stories, but maybe you may not have made a list of the many times you found yourselves walking with Him in route to Emmaus!

We all have been given talents to multiply and not to keep them buried in order to give Him glory; therefore, I will not be boasting about these talents as mine, but given to me.  We can only boast in Jesus Christ and His power. There is no question that my obedience to His will (although not knowing much about it during my early years of this walk with the Lord), brought me the knowledge of when to turn to the right or the left, and each move produced extraordinary fruits for me and my family. A priest said recently that even the demons know Jesus well as we read in the Scriptures talking to Him! So, knowing Him per se is not the only requirement for these signs and wonders to happen, but ALSO our “constant” prayer as we obey His will day and night, with great gusto, in the darkness of our crosses or in the mountain top experiences as we delight in His Presence.

In my next two blogs, I will enumerate them in a hopefully succinct matter of how I was guided to the right or left, and this have kept me “awake” and falling in love with Him more and more, to the point of hoping one of these days to go “home” to my Father and remain at His feet like Lazarus’s sister, Mary, staring at His Countenance forever and ever. I cannot wait! It is soo exciting… How I wished I was Mary Magdalene and scream to everyone, “He is alive. Come and see!” Therefore, I must exclaim:

 “The Lord is my Shepherd and there is nothing I shall want… You guide me along the right path for the sake of Your Name. Even when I walk through a dark valley, I fear no evil for You are at my side…  Only goodness and love will pursue me all the days of my life; I will dwell in the house of the Lord, for years to come.”  (Psalm 23). No doubt that the Psalmist knew what he was chanting!

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me…

SPANISH

Siguiendo a Jesús

Este tópico de lo que significa seguir a Jesús en mi caminar con Él, continúa aquí pero tomarán varios “blogs” para cubrir sus varios aspectos. Sin embargo, después de mucha oración y contemplando los eventos nacionales del 20 de enero, más esperando los de enero 22, les tengo que decir que tengo mucha esperanza… Hace medio siglo, cuando yo llegué  a los Ángeles  como una estudiante de intercambio at la edad de 17 años, mis padres bostonianos “adoptivos” para ese año, me dijeron que no podía tener amigos méxico-americanos, judíos o negros. No me dieron ninguna otra regla ni la explicación del por qué no podía juntarme con estos grupos sociales.

Así que viví y practiqué la discriminación bajo la guía de muy buena gente que me trató muy bien, y ahora, en retrospectiva, me ayuda recordarlos y a darme cuenta de que tendencias culturales son grandes transformadoras de nuestros cerebros que son tan plásticos… Es interesante que nunca tuvieran ninguna objeción por mi ascendencia hispana de un país al sur de México, pero no podía hacer amigos entre otros latinos… Es así que yo pude vivir en carne viva aunque al reverso, lo que el Dr. King vivió en el sur de E.U.

Fue tan especial cuando ayer vi revertida esa tendencia discriminatoria… En este sentido, Dios ha mostrado gran gracia para nuestros Estados Unidos. ¿Cuántas oraciones se habrán dicho durante estos 50 años pasados? Probablemente muchas. Y si ya que para Dios todo es posible, nosotros también podemos esperar grandes cambios en el nombre del “derecho a la vida”, ya que el mundo entero está en Sus manos, como esta mañana lo oí cantar. Sin embargo, así como el Dr. King y sus seguidores hicieron, y quienes predicaron libertad e igualdad en forma pacífica, el tiempo ha llegado para nosotros también predicar el derecho a la  vida para otro grupo de seres humanos, nuestros bebitos y viejitos. En nuestro caso, necesitamos predicar con nuestras vidas de discipulado… Sin embargo no con palabras (qué aburrido y cansado), sino en Espíritu y Verdad, siguiendo al Maestro como Él nos indicó hacerlo.

¡Nuestro Señor fue tan claro! Juan 12:24,26“Yo les aseguro que si el grano de trigo que cae en la tierra no muere, queda infecundo; pero si muere dará fruto abundante. Si alguien quiere servirme, que me siga; correrá la misma suerte que yo. Todo aquel que me sirva será honrado por mi Padre.”

Es obvio que si Él fue al Calvario, nosotros debemos ir también con nuestras cruces, menores o grandes, pero con un gran “sí” durante nuestra estadía en esta tierra… A no ser que muramos y caigamos a la tierra, no podremos hacer gran cosa por nosotros mismos o por otros. Su voluntad así lo establece… Sus Palabras no son solamente pasajes interesantes con nuestro derecho a escoger cuáles queremos seguir… sino que son declaraciones claras… Debo agregar que temprano en este viajar con Él, y sin duda debido a Su gracia porque tuve un encuentro con Él al saberlo vivo en la Eucaristía antes de cumplir los 7 años, yo traté fielmente de hacer su voluntad sin saber ni que lo estaba haciendo…

Esto fue aparente muchos años después y una vez que conecté todos los puntos de mi trayectoria. En retrospectiva, mi obediencia a su voluntad a través de la gracia, debe haber facilitado muchas ocasiones donde señales, maravillas y milagros me llegaron sin ton ni son, y por esto puede asegurarle a cualquiera que Él vive con nosotros… sólo esperando nuestro sí en su significado más completo para cada presente  momento a través de la muerte de nuestra voluntad como el grano de trigo, y también con el conocimiento de que nuestro Papito nos honrará en asuntos inmensos… ¡Inmensos! Yo tengo más de 10 instancias de experiencias que cambiaron totalmente el rumbo de mi vida y donde tome un giro a la derecha o la izquierda en forma milagrosa. He pensado mucho si les contaba acerca de ellas, y entre más rehusaba molestarlos con estas historias, más supe que les probará a todos cuánto Él está envuelto en nuestras vidas… Yo estoy segura de que vosotros tenéis  vuestras propias historias, ¡pero quizás no hayáis hecho una lista de los muchos momentos que os encontrasteis  con Él en el camino a Emús!

Todos hemos recibido talentos que tenemos que multiplicar y no enterrarlos, y esto para darle gloria a Dios; por lo tanto no estoy haciendo alarde acerca de estos talentos como si fueran míos, sino como recibidos. Nosotros sólo podemos alardear de Cristo Jesús y de su poder. No me cabe duda de que mi obediencia a Su voluntad (aunque sin darme mucha cuenta en mis años primeros de mi caminata con el Señor), me dio el conocimiento para saber doblar a la derecha o a la izquierda, y cada giro produjo frutos extraordinarios para mí y para mi familia. Recientemente, un sacerdote dijo que aun los demonios conocían a Jesús muy bien como lo leemos en las Escrituras cuando hablaban con Él. Así que conociéndolo a Él por sí mismo no es el único requisito para que estas señales y maravillas pasen, sino TAMBIEN  nuestra oración “constante” a medida que obedecemos Su voluntad día y noche, con gran gusto, ya sea en la oscuridad de nuestras cruces o en las vivencias en la cima al experimentar Su Presencia.

En mis próximos dos “blogs”, enumeraré estas señales y maravillas y espero que en una forma sucinta, de cómo fui guiada a doblar a la derecha o izquierda, y esto me ha mantenido “despierta” y enamorándome más y más de mi Señor, hasta el punto  de esperar con ansias mi retorno a la casa de mi Padre uno de estos días y permanecer como la hermana de Lázaro, María, contemplando Su Faz eternamente. ¡Cuán difícil se me hace la espera! ¡Es tan excitante! … Cómo desearía ser como María Magdalena y gritarle a todo mundo, “Jesús está vivo. Vengan a ver.” Por lo tanto debo exclamar:

“El Señor es mi pastor a mí nada me falta… Me guía por la senda del bien, haciendo honor a Su Nombre. Aunque pase por un valle tenebroso, ningún mal temeré, porque Tú estás conmigo… Tu amor y Tu bondad me acompañan todos los días de mi vida; y habitaré por siempre en la casa del Señor.” (Salmo 23) Sin duda que el Salmista sabía lo que cantaba.

¡O gracia tan maravillosa; qué dulce  es tu sonido que ha salvado a una miserable como yo!…

 


