Our hardened hearts (our minds are closed)

 As promised I will discuss my experience with euthanasia. We have so many names for the same: assisted suicide (if the patient agrees to it; sometimes is assisted homicide as probably it was the case in my own experience…!). It is also called the practice of ending life in a painless manner. The word euthanasia comes from the Greek and it means “good death.”  In religious terms, all death is good since it simply starts our final journey to see one day, the Trinity. However, for the world, euthanasia is good for purely human reasons.

 

Here is my story: in 1996, jobs in anesthesiology were scarce and I had to work in temporary ones, in order to just give vacations to the anesthesiologists of different hospitals. I took a summer assignment in a resort place near a lake in the Midwest. One Thursday I had and emergency case where we had to operate no matter what physical  condition the patient was in. The case was of an 80-year-old woman who apparently had cancer of the pancreas and involving most likely the liver. She was very sick since her liver function in the laboratory studies revealed that there was an obstruction in the bile duct system and these studies were also very abnormal as to the health of the liver itself. I decided to use what we call “Cadillac anesthesia,” term used in ancient times when we had to do the best with less… that is, the best we could create for a patient like this one, instead of giving intravenous drugs like Pentothal, which  would put her to sleep plus gases to keep her asleep, but both needed to be detoxified in the liver, which was very sick, and therefore, it would take much time. Obviously, the latter were not the best choices for her. Therefore, I gave an epidural to this patient, just like we give for women in labor in order to produce a minimal toxic chemical over taxation to her liver.

 

Generally speaking, the new generation of anesthesiologists (from the 1980’s on) have not been trained to use epidurals for this kind of cases for many reasons, and one is that we have much better muscle relaxants and monitoring systems (compared to the late 60’s and early 70’s), and so it is better for the patient to be put to sleep and left for several days afterwards on a respirator, waiting for all the anesthetics to clear in their own time, while the patient is kept sedated so that they don’t suffer the imposition of having a machine breath for them.

 

I wanted to avoid exactly that scenario since this was a very small hospital unknown to me, especially its ICU experience in keeping her on a respirator for some time for which I was totally responsible since it was due to my anesthetic, and I knew that I could give this woman a safer anesthetic as we did in the late sixties when I trained in this art. The case took 10 hours.  I ran blood gases to be certain the patient was well oxygenated and not retaining any carbon dioxide, and I kept the patient slightly sedated throughout using amnesic drugs. At the end of 10 hours there was no endo-tracheal tube to remove and she was wide awake with zero discomfort… (This is why we call it a Cadillac type of technique).  Postoperatively, I kept her with a drip of morphine in her epidural catheter in order to block all possible pain, another advantage already built in in this technique. The surgeons were amazed and thankful… There is nothing like having at the end a wide awake patient and painless… Well, the practice of anesthesia has always been considered an “art”.

 

The patient was a smart lady with a Master degree in music from a very well known university and she was a beautiful patient and we became great friends. We planned the whole thing in my visit to her the day before. She was left in the intensive care unit with this drip through her epidural for pain control. There were orders to the effect of checking her respiratory rate every hour on the hour to ascertain that the morphine was no affecting her respiratory rate by dropping it to dangerous levels, a complication of this technique that has killed patients without intent.

 

On Friday, when I visited her in post anesthesia rounds, she was sitting on a chair next to her bed and very happy, with no pain whatsoever. I talked with her about God, knowing now that she was terminal. She had been given only 6 months to live but I never learned how much she knew… She said she was Lutheran and I asked her if she was a practicing Lutheran. She was not… I asked her if she wanted to see a Lutheran Pastor. She assented. I then worked diligently with other hospital employees in this hospital of this small resort community, trying to find a good Lutheran Pastor. I did and called him. He came to visit her on Saturday!

 

After this first post operative visit on Friday, I checked her chart and noticed that during the night her respiratory rate levels had dropped to dangerously 8 times per minute (due to the morphine). I inquired from the nursing personnel and there were no clear answers. I, therefore, wrote an order to keep a close look on these dangerous levels of bradypnea (slow respiratory rate), and to treat it according to my orders in the protocol for this morphine epidural drip, which also included to call me to the hotel and let me know so that I could come to the ICU and re-adjust the drip at any time of the day or night.  I commented how well she was doing to some ICU personnel and a nurse said to me, “I bet you that she will not make it out of here alive.” I dismissed the comment as strange but never paid too much attention to it…

 

On Saturday she was even better and planning to go home in a few days. A second son from out of town had arrived and she was very happy. She had only these two sons. I discontinued the drip of morphine. I did not even charge for this visit or for the supervision and management of the drip used to control surgical pain in the immediate postoperative period. It was my contribution to her well-being. From then on, she only may have needed some oral narcotics, or at the most, a few intramuscular injections of morphine, if at all. When I visited her on Sunday she was comfortable, sitting by her bedside and soo happy for having being visited by the Lutheran pastor. Very early on Monday, much before my first case in the operating room, I went to intensive care to see her, thinking that by now she may have been transferred to a regular floor. I arrived to find a nurse cleaning her dead body to be sent to the funeral home!

 

I inquired if she had thrown an embolus from a deep vein clot, not uncommon for these cases, although she had been mobilized from the very night of her surgery precisely to avoid stagnation and formation of clots. Of course, this was the benefit of being pain free and not suffering from excessive sedation from anesthetic drugs! I was given a mumbled strange answer, which actually did not clarify the case. I went to the chart and looked at the doctor’s orders of late Sunday. There it was, a continuous intravenous morphine drip had been ordered for expected needs of surgical pain 48 hours later (?), and they called the protocol, “comfort care.” That was the hint and hidden order to euthanize her. My friends, the code names in our medical lingo for the killing of babies in the womb and of terminal patients, are: VIP (voluntary interruption of pregnancy and not a “very important person”) and “comfort care

 

I then checked the doctors progress notes and sure enough, “comfort care “ had been discussed with the two sons, and they had decided to help her with this protocol… It only meant that because her expectancy of a “good life” was nil, and she expected 6 months of suffering and a slow death from this non-curable cancer, they had decided not to allow her to suffer. Since she discussed her plans with me of all the things she wanted to do after her discharge from the hospital, I know she was not consulted. I believe that some doctors and nurses were possibly well meaning and believers in helping patients this way, but the only problem for me was that they forgot to ask the patient to make the decision herself of choosing death!

 

My spirit was sick… My own colleagues and fellow health providers (the word health sounds controversial and ironic when confronting this malady of euthanasia) who have sworn “to first do no harm”, had failed me miserably! To this moment, I know I was sent to this community to learn firsthand about euthanasia. I must add that I quietly started inquiring around about this town… There was a group headed by a consecrated religious woman… and that met regularly to indoctrinate on the right for a patient to take his/her own life! This last fact disconcerted me even more. There were times when I would wake up in my hotel room and wonder if I was just having a bad dream! This is a great example of very hardened hearts…

You  may like to keep up with the following laws as of 2008.

 ASSISTED SUICIDE LAWS STATE BY STATE

Currently, 35 STATES have statutes explicitly criminalizing assisted suicide.

NINE states criminalize assisted suicide through common law. This case was in one of these States!

THREE states have abolished the common law of crimes and do not have statutes criminalizing assisted suicide.

In Ohio, that State’s Supreme Court ruled in October 1996 that assisted suicide is not a crime.

In Virginia, there is no real clear case law on assisted suicide, nor is there is a statute criminalizing the act, although there is a statute which imposes civil sanctions on persons assisting in a suicide.

Only Oregon permits physician- assisted suicide.

Belgium, Switzerland, Luxemburg and the Netherlands have “diginity clinics” for patients from all over the world to come and choose to die.

However, continuing the theme of the need to forgive others no matter what, we know that from Isaiah 6:9 to John 12:40, Acts 28: 26 and Romans 11:8, God has allowed many of His children to have a hardened heart. We all have been in one way or another. Just remember the disciples after seeing Jesus feed 5,000 men with 12 wicker baskets full of fragments left over from the 5 original loaves and 2 fish, how they were clueless as to what had happened, and just hours later (Mark 6: 45-52) “they were astounded” when they saw the storm in the lake that was pounding on their boat being stopped by Jesus… They had not understood the incident of the loaves. On the contrary, their hearts were hardened…” (Their minds were closed) Ouch.  To miss such a miracle seems not possible, and we have been in front of great miracles in our own lives of all kinds, and we keep not understanding who this Jesus is in our lives.

He visits us through many people, events, circumstances and give us a particular set of parents and make us prophets, kings and priests by Baptism; He then places His own Holy Spirit within us and finally, feed us EVEN DAILY if we want it, with His own Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity (idem to the multiplication of the loaves of the story), and yet we act with hardened heartsOuch and Ouch… The only good news about this is that He allows our hardened hearts to give fruit as in Romans 8:28. When the “blind man since birth” became healed and the disciples asked Jesus why this happened to him, Jesus answered, “Neither he nor his parents sinned; it is so that the works of God might be made visible through him.” John 9:2-3.

What I have learned and I am very certain about it, is that I must try my best to “watch and pray” so that my times of visitation are not missed due to my hardened heart. Here is where prayer is so important. Going back to the image of the kicking Jesus of Notre Dame, I may catch the ball (His mercy) that He throws me, if I am trying to be a disciple the best I can (with self denial, embracing my crosses, following Him especially with love for His will and my neighbor), so that I carry it to the end zone for the salvation of one soul or souls (touchdown). However, the works of Satan would be around chasing me, trying to tackle me so that I do not get to the end zone… Between that and my own crosses and my own flesh, I may get sooo distracted that important people, events and ways may come to me, to help me defy or escape my tacklers, and I may be clueless… because my heart is hardened, just thinking of how I can do it myself… and of course, lacking the trust that He is the Commander in Chief and He manages this game… I am just a player serving Him.

Sadly, through brain plasticity we have become used to take over because the media constantly tells us that we have to be ourselves (whatever that means) and take action and that we can get whatever we want if we try hard… Just look at the retirement plans… I had several financial advisers come to offer their help in the 70’s and 80’s, when I was making one quarter million dollars a year! I call it: “monkey behavior.” We do what the other monkeys do… We plan this retirement on a beach or a mountain, and all the money we need to be so… We forget that we are just servants…Well, I did not plan anything. I gave the moneys away upon His guidance and it worked very well. I have all I need: so much joy and peace, super weather, love from family, and yes, God and mammon do not mix. I know because I have lived it. The Book is right. We also forget that many a time, the retirement plan is used by someone else since we die early or in our USA, we lose the money because the economy plays a trick in our calculations…Our monkey behavior is the product of our hardened hearts, since we cannot see the Truth, understand it and less live it…

The way I learned to stay away from this hardened heart status  is prayer and prayer and prayer asking for His mercy so that “I can see” (like the man of the story), as I repent (with real purpose of amendment, especially of the times when I do not fully love Him or my neighbor) and believe in the Gospel and do what It says regarding the two  most important commandments and no matter what; that is, no excuses… The Gospel also says that His mercy will be there to assist me in everything, and through the Holy Spirit within, I can do mighty things (for my own spirit and other’s)… In fact, all battles are already won through His mercy…  Nothing new… It is in the Book of instructions… And the result will be what He said, that if “I see”… I end up making visible the works of God in my life, and this glorifies my Daddy in heaven… How simple…

Let us keep praying as a Body in order to conquer our hardened hearts… It is not just a reflection but a Truth that we must deal with… I love to remember His Words… because they are powerful… Matthew 7:21. “No everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father in heaven.” His Words are clear and SCREAM for our attention for action…

SPANISH

Nuestros corazones endurecidos o mentes cerradas

Como les prometí, les contaré de mi experiencia con eutanasia. Tenemos muchos nombres para lo mismo: suicidio asistido por un médico (si el paciente lo quiere; otras veces es homicidio asistido por un médico y lo que es probable que yo viví en esta experiencia…!) También se llama la práctica de terminar la vida sin dolor. La palabra eutanasia viene del griego y significa “buena muerte”. En términos religiosos, toda muerte es buena ya que comienza nuestra última caminata para ver algún día a la Santísima Trinidad. Sin embargo, para el mundo, la eutanasia es buena pero con raciocinios puramente humanos.

Aquí está la historia: en 1996, los trabajos en anestesiología eran escasos y tenía que coger  algunos temporales para darle vacaciones a los anestesiólogos del hospital que visitaba. Acepté una asignación en un lugar de veraneo cerca de un lago en el medio oeste de los E.U. Un jueves se me llamó para una emergencia donde tenemos que operar aunque el paciente esté muy enfermo. El caso fue de una mujer de 80 años quien aparentemente tenía cáncer del páncreas y que envolvía el hígado. Estaba muy enferma ya que los estudios de laboratorio mostraron que había una obstrucción del conducto biliar y que el hígado estaba con mucha disfunción. Decidí usar lo que llamábamos hace muchos años “anestesia tipo cadillac” (claro refiriéndose a este carro de lujo), término que sugiere que teníamos que hacer lo mejor con lo poquito que teníamos. .. Y en lugar de darle pentotal sódico para dormirla y gases para mantenerla anestesiada, los cuales se detoxifican en el hígado y el cual estaba en muy malas condiciones, y por lo tanto, estas drogas toman días para desaparecer del organismo de un paciente, opté por darle una anestesia epidural similar a la que reciben las mujeres en labor de parto, para poder reducir a un mínimo los tóxicos que llegaban a su hígado.  

En general, la nueva generación de anestesiólogos (de los años 1980 en adelante) no han recibido adiestramiento con esta técnica de epidural para casos de cirugía abdominal por muchas razones, y una es que tenemos ahora mejores drogas para relajar los músculos y facilitarle al cirujano su trabajo, y muchos mejores sistemas de monitoreo, y entonces es mucho mejor poner el paciente a dormir y después de la cirugía dejarlo entubado, sedado y con un respirador para darle tiempo al hígado a que metabolice la anestesia.

Yo quería evitar precisamente eso, ya que se trataba de un pequeño hospital el cual yo no conocía, y especialmente no sabía de la experiencia con un respirador en cuidados intensivos y del cual yo era responsable porque se debía a mi anestésico. También sabía que podía darle un anestésico muy seguro  como lo hacíamos al final de los años 1960 y principios de los 70, cuando me adiestré en este arte. El caso tomó 10 horas. La monitoreé midiendo los gases sanguíneos para comprobar que estaba bien oxigenada y sin retener dióxido de carbono, y mantuve a la paciente ligeramente sedada. Al final de las 10 horas, no había un tubo endo-traqueal que remover y ella estaba totalmente despierta y sin dolor… (Es por esto que llamamos a esta técnica, Cadillac…)  En el posoperatorio, la mantuve con un goteo de morfina a través del catéter epidural en la espina dorsal para bloquear todo dolor, y esta fue otra gran ventaja de esta técnica. Los cirujanos estaban pasmados y agradecidos. No hay nada como tener un paciente totalmente despierto y sin dolor al final de una operación en el abdomen y tan larga. Bueno, la práctica de anestesia siempre se ha considerado un “arte”.

La paciente era muy inteligente con una licenciatura en música de una universidad muy conocida, y también era una paciente muy linda y nos volvimos grandes amigas. Habíamos planeado todo en mi visita pre-operatoria. Se le llevó a la sala de cuidados intensivos con este goteo de morfina epidural para controlar el dolor. Deje órdenes para que se le chequeara su ritmo respiratorio cada hora para asegurarme que la morfina no le bajaría sus respiraciones a un nivel muy bajo, y una de las complicaciones de esta técnica es que el paciente puede morir sin maldad alguna porque la respiración disminuye a niveles incompatibles con la vida.  

El viernes cuando la fui a ver, la encontré sentada a la par de la cama y muy feliz, sin dolor alguno. Le hablé de Dios, sabiendo que tenía una enfermedad terminal con 6 meses de vida, aunque nunca llegué a saber si ella lo sabía. Me dijo que era luterana y le pregunté si frecuentaba alguna iglesia. Me dijo que no. Le pregunté si quería ver a un pastor luterano y dijo que sí. Con diligencia, hablé con varias enfermeras para localizar una iglesia con un buen pastor, lo llamé y el sábado él vino a visitarla!

Después de esta conversación del viernes, fui a chequear su cartulina y noté que durante la noche anterior su respiración había bajado a 8 por minuto… (Debido a la morfina). Le pregunté al personal de enfermería y nadie me dio una respuesta clara. Entonces escribí una orden para monitorearla con más frecuencia y de fijarse en estos niveles tan bajos; también de tratarlos con las órdenes dejadas en el protocolo del jueves, incluyendo que se me llamara a mi hotel para venir al hospital a cambiar el goteo personalmente, ya fuera de día o  de noche. Le comenté a una de las enfermeras cuán bien estaba la paciente y ella me contestó, “Le apuesto que no sale de aquí viva.” Yo no le puse mucha atención a ese extraño comentario…

El sábado se sentía mejor y hasta hacía planes para su regreso a su casa en pocos días. Un segundo hijo que vivía lejos había llegado a verla y estaba muy feliz. Tenía solo dos hijos. Discontinué el goteo de morfina epidural y no le cobré por el manejo de la misma para quitarle el dolor quirúrgico. Fue mi contribución para su bienestar. De ahí en adelante podría necesitar narcóticos orales o quizás una pocas inyecciones intramusculares de morfina. Cuando la visité el domingo estaba muy tranquila, sentada a la par de su cama y muy feliz porque el pastor luterano la había visitado. Muy temprano el lunes y antes de comenzar mis casos en la sala de operaciones, fui a cuidados intensivos a verla, pero pensando que quizás ya la habían transferido a una sala corriente. Cuando llegué, una enfermera estaba limpiando a cadáver para mandarlo a la funeraria!

Pregunté si había sufrido de un coágulo en el pulmón proveniente de una vena profunda de las piernas, no poco común, aunque que ella había sido movilizada desde la misma noche de su cirugía precisamente porque no tenía dolor para hacerlo y para evitar casualmente el estancamiento de la sangre y formar coágulos. Me dieron una respuesta como entre dientes, que no me aclaró nada. Me fui a revisar la cartulina y leí  las órdenes del médico del domingo en la noche. Ahí estaba, un goteo intravenoso de morfina para tratar el  dolor quirúrgico y esto ya 48 horas después (¿?)— y ordenaron el protocolo llamado “cuidado para confortar”. Esta era la señal de una orden oculta de eutanasia. Mis amigos que leen esto: los nombres códigos en nuestra lengua médica para matar bebitos en el vientre y pacientes terminales, son VIP (voluntaria interrupción de preñez) y “cuidado que conforta”

Entonces chequeé las notas de progreso del médico de cabecera y claro, el protocolo de “cuidado que conforta” había sido discutido con los dos hijos, y ello decidieron usarlo. Como ella tenía solo unos meses de vida y una buena vida no era posible ya que se esperaba que sufriera mientras la muerte le llegaba lentamente, habían decidido no dejarla pasar por esto. Ya que ella había discutido conmigo los planes que tenía y todas las cosas que quería hacer después de salir del hospital, estoy segura que no se le consultó. Yo creo que algunos médicos y enfermeras posiblemente quieren ayudar de buena fe a estos pacientes, pero el problema para mí fue que se les olvidó preguntarle a la paciente si quería adelantar su muerte!

Mi espíritu se me enfermó… Mis colegas y proveedores de salud (la palabra salud suena controversial e irónica cuando se confronta la eutanasia) quienes han jurado “primero no hacer daño”, me habían fallado miserablemente. En este momento, me di cuenta que había sido mandada a esta comunidad para aprender personalmente sobre la eutanasia. Comencé entonces a investigar calladamente la comunidad en general. Se me dijo que había un grupo dirigido por una religiosa consagrada y que se reunía regularmente para adoctrinar  a otros en el derecho que tienen los pacientes de terminar su propia vida. Este hecho me desconcertó aún más. Hubo momentos que me despertaba en el hotel y me preguntaba si todo esto era sólo un sueño! Este es un gran ejemplo de corazones muy endurecidos.

Tal vez quieran enterarse de las siguientes leyes sobre eutanasia en el 2008:

Leyes de suicidio asistido Estado por Estado.

En este momento, 35 Estados, tienen estatutos que explícitamente criminalizan el suicidio asistido.

NUEVE Estados criminalizan el suicidio asistido a través de derecho consuetudinario. Este caso pasó en uno de esos Estados.

TRES Estados han abolido el derecho consuetudinario y no tienen estatutos que criminalicen el suicidio asistido.

En Ohio, la Corte Suprema Estatal falló en octubre de 1996 que el suicidio asistido no es un crimen.

En Virginia, no una ley clara sobre el suicidio asistido, ni hay tampoco una ley que criminalice este acto, aunque hay un estatuto que impone sanciones civiles en personas que asisten al suicidio.

Solamente Oregón permite el suicidio asistido por médicos. 

Bélgica, Suiza, Luxemburgo y Holanda tienen “clínicas de dignidad” para que los pacientes de todas partes del mundo acudan a recibir su muerte.

Sin embargo, continuando el tema de la necesidad de perdonar a otros a todo costo, sabemos que desde Isaías 6:9 a Juan 12:40, Hechos 28:26 y Romanos 11:8, Dios permite a muchos de Sus hijos a endurecer su corazón. Todos hemos sufrido de lo mismo en una forma u otra. Recuerden a los discípulos que después de ver a Jesús darle de comer a 5.000 hombres con 12 canastas llenas de fragmentos que habían quedado y comenzando con 5 panes y dos pescados, cómo nunca se dieron cuenta de este milagro. Y unas pocas horas después, (Marcos 6: 45-52), se maravillaron cuando vieron que Jesús terminó con una tormenta en el lago. “Ellos no habían entendido el incidente de la multiplicación de los panes. Al contrario, sus corazones se habían endurecido” y en otra traducción dice que “sus mentes estaban cerradas.” Auch. No entender este milagro parece imposible, y sin embargo, nosotros también estamos enfrente de grandes milagros de todas clases, pero nos mantenemos sin entender quien es este Jesús en nuestras vidas…

Él nos visita a través de muchas personas, eventos, circunstancias y nos da un par de padres muy particular y nos hace profetas, reyes y sacerdotes en nuestro Bautismo; luego coloca Su propio Espíritu dentro de nosotros y finalmente, nos da de comer cada día si  así lo queremos, su propio Cuerpo, Sangre, Alma y Divinidad (idéntico a la multiplicación de los 5 panes), y aun así, nos mantenemos con corazones endurecidos…. Auch y más auch… La única buena noticia es que Él permite que estos corazones endurecidos existan para dar frutos como en Romanos 8:28. Cuando el ciego de nacimiento fue sanado y los discípulos le preguntaron a Jesús por qué esto le había pasado a este hombre, Jesús contestó, “La causa de su ceguera no ha sido ni un pecado de él ni de sus padres. Nació así para que el poder de Dios pueda manifestarse en él.Juan 9:2-3.

Lo que he podido entender y estoy muy cierta de ello, es que debo tratar lo mejor que pueda que debo “observar y orar” y así no fallar debido a la dureza de mi corazón en reconocer mis visitaciones  . Aquí es donde la oración es muy importante. Volviendo a la imagen del “kicking Jesus” de Notre Dame en Indiana, yo puedo llegar a recibir el balón (Su misericordia) que Él me lanza, siempre y cuando esté tratando de ser una buena discípulo (negándome a mí misma, abrazando mis cruces y siguiendo a Jesús especialmente con amor a Su voluntad y a mi prójimo), de manera de llevar el balón al otro lado (“end zone”), para la salvación de una o varias almas (touchdown). Sin embargo, el trabajo de Satanás estaría siempre a mi lado persiguiéndome, tratando de pararme para no poder llegar al “end zone”… Entre esto último y mis propias cruces y mi propia carne, me puede distraer tanto que ignoro a gentes, eventos y caminos importantes que me llegan, todos para ayudarme  a derrotar o escapar del demonio, y puede que yo esté sin entender nada porque mi corazón está endurecido, solo pensando como lo puedo hacer yo misma.. y claro, faltando en mi confianza que Él es el comandante jefe y que es Él el que maneja este partido… Yo sólo soy una jugadora a su servicio.

Es triste que a través de la plasticidad cerebral nos hemos acostumbrado a querer ser nosotros los encargados de nuestras vidas porque los medios de comunicación constantemente nos dicen que tenemos que ser nosotros mismos (lo que sea que este término signifique), y que tomemos acción porque podemos obtener todo lo que nosotros queramos si lo tratamos de hacer… Se nos presiona a poner atención a los planes de retiro… Yo tuve varios consejeros de finanzas que me seguían tratando de manejar mi portfolio en los años 70 y 80, cuando ganaba un cuarto de millón de dólares por año. Yo llamo a eso, “conducta de monos.” Tratamos de hacer lo que los otros monos hacen…

Así planeamos nuestro retiro en la playa o en la montaña, y todo el dinero que nos costará nuestro retiro. Se nos olvida que somos sirvientes…  Bueno, yo decidí no planear nada y a través de Su sabiduría, darle el dinero a los pobres y me trabajó muy bien. Tengo todo lo que necesito: mucho gozo y paz, un tiempo soleado y tibio en el invierno, amor de mi familia, y sí, Dios y el  mundo (maimón) no van juntos. Y lo sé porque lo he vivido… La Biblia está correcta. También se nos olvida que muchas veces, el dinero del plan de retiro termina en otras manos porque morimos antes de tiempo, o como en los Estado Unidos, perdemos el dinero ahorrado porque la economía nos falla en nuestros cálculos… Y esta conducta propia de monos es producto de nuestros corazones endurecidos, ya que no vemos las Verdad, no la entendemos y menos podernos vivirla…

La forma que yo aprendí para librarme de un corazón endurecido es con oración, y oración y más oración pidiendo por Su misericordia, de manera de que “yo pueda ver “ (como el hombre de la historia), mientras me arrepiento (con verdadero propósito de enmienda, especialmente por los momentos en que no amo a Dios o a mi prójimo), y creer en el Evangelio, haciendo lo que me manda en cuanto a los dos mandamientos  más importantes a todo costo; esto es, sin excusas… El Evangelio también dice que Su misericordia estará siempre asistiéndome en todo, y a través del Espíritu Santo dentro de mí, yo puedo hacer grandes cosas (para mi alma y la de otros)… De hecho, todas las batallas están ganadas a través de Su misericordia… Nada nuevo… Todo está en el Libro de instrucciones… Y el resultado será lo que Él dijo que si veo… puedo hacer visible los portentos de Dios en mi vida, y esto glorifica a mi Papito en el cielo. ¡Qué simple!

Mantengámonos orando como el Cuerpo de Cristo para conquistar nuestros corazones endurecidos… De nuevo, esto no es una reflexión pero una verdad que tenemos que entender… Me encanta recordar Sus palabras porque son fuertes… Mateo 7:21 ‘ “No todo mundo que me llama Señor, Señor, entrará al Reino de los cielos, sino solo aquel que hace la voluntad de mi Padre en el cielo.” Sus Palabras son claras y GRITAN llamando nuestra  atención para que actuemos…

 

 

 

 


