What does it mean to follow Jesus?

I will resume the topic of discipleship as defined by Jesus and as I have experienced it in my own life. I have written about denial of self and embracing our crosses with “gusto,” for they are roads of sanctification. Otherwise Jesus would not have placed them in the definition. Now, to follow Him is a long topic. He left so many hints, so many! After prayer, I felt drawn to start with one of the hints. On Mathew 12, we find the disciples going through a field of grain on the Sabbath and eating some of it because they were hungry. Immediately the Pharisees called Jesus’ attention as to the unlawful action of His followers. Jesus tells them of two occasions in the Torah where the same was done and it was not a sin…  On verse 7 he said, “If you knew what this meant, ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice,’ you would not have condemned these innocent men.”

In Matthew 22:36-40, the Pharisees wanted to test Him and asked Him a question:  “Teacher, which commandment in the law is the greatest? He said, ‘You shall love the Lord, your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the greatest and the first commandment. The second is like it: you shall love your neighbor as yourself. The whole law and the prophets depend on these two commandments.’”

So we are dealing with two main topics for which He gave us many hints besides the above verses: (1) God’s Mercy and (2) our love for Him and neighbor. However, some years ago, when I was contemplating the parable of the prodigal son (Luke 15: 11-31), something was very evident. Everybody refers to this parable as the best description of the mercy that God the Father… (or the crazy love) that He has for us that He even sent His only begotten Son to rescue us…(John 3: 16)

This parable is a great portrayal of what we need to do no matter how sinful we are. We just have to repent and ask for forgiveness to our Dad in heaven. But I found something else in this parable besides this greatest description of mercy… His older brother became angry about the party that his dad had thrown for his lost son who had spent his inheritance doing very worldly improper things.  The older son argued with his father and said “Look, all these years I served you and not once did I disobey your orders… ” There it was— he had been obedient to his dad but he was not showing “mercy” towards his brother; he was not loving him.

I immediately realized that I had to be very careful… I could do all the time the will of my Father in heaven but if I did not love my brother and sister, and in this case, if I did not forgive my neighbor completely, I was not fulfilling the two commandments… How many times have I resented people for persecutions that they inflicted on me and worse, most of them with no apparent provocation, based on lies and misunderstandings …? Tons of times

If I were to follow Jesus, that is, His hints in the Word and His own example, I would have to repent ASAP from any lack of love including total forgiveness for my neighbor, and beg Him for His grace and mercy in order for me to be able to see His own Face in my persecutor. I finally understood the parable of the prodigal son and I even identified myself with both sons… With the prodigal one because I have received so many graces through the Sacraments, the Church at large, good friends, great sons, and so, I have failed to multiply my gifts; even worse, many times I did not use my graces for the Kingdom; in the other hand, I was like the older son because I was resenting those who had persecuted me… Ouch!

But I have to report that when I recognized my dual behavior as the two sons in this parable, I repented and tried hard to amend my ways, and sure enough, His mercy was abundant and I started working more diligently for the Kingdom (for the salvation of souls), and at the same time and to my great surprise, I would no resent others for more than a short while… What a power… Even now, it still hurts what they did, but I have no ill feeling towards anyone. On the contrary, when I pray for them, I do it with “gusto.” “God is good and His mercy endures forever,” said the Psalmist, and we just have to ask for His mercy… and to cooperate with Him to receive it by repenting and trying our best to “follow Him,” to do what He modeled to us, from the pulpit of the crib to the pulpit of the Cross.  

I want to quote St. Faustina in entry No. 678 – “The essence of the virtues is the will of God. He who does the will of God faithfully practices all of the virtues (And I remind you that the will of God is first and foremost to obey the two most important commandments of love of God and of neighbor) …Sweeter to me are the torments, sufferings, persecutions, and all manner of adversities by divine will than popularity, praise, and esteem by my own will.”

This gives us a very clear picture that to follow Jesus, we must definitely try to love God and neighbor, and that asking for His mercy with a resolved heart to change our previous behavior, is clue to be successful; and in this way, we become true disciples. It is also interesting that we find in the words of St. Faustina that she was fully practicing discipleship: she denied herself by not wanting to seek anything even good if coming out of her own will; she was also embracing her crosses because they were sweet since they proceeded from God’s will. Wow! And being His “secretary of mercy,” she was acting in this manner because she was constantly bathed with His mercy…

It is so important to establish here that this is not a reflection and leave it as a hard thing to do. No, this is the Truth that we must desire to accept and practice, knowing that His mercy comes and finishes the job in our hearts. Our work is mainly to recognize our sin and to repent, but wanting to truly amend our ways.  If we just believed this Truth and followed through, we would be surprised by the power of His mercy within our hearts… And once we see this change in ourselves by God’s love, then we grow in faith and hope and even in charity, and big time! There is nothing like seeing the resurrection of our souls from our sinfulness. 

Ever since and as I learned through the years the importance of my commitment to simultaneously love God and my neighbor, and not as a spiritual schizophrenic, dividing these loves: that is, serving my brothers and sisters but refusing to do God’s will in everything else, or vice versa, I have made a faithful attempt to practice this dual love in every present moment. These are a few examples of my reformed behavior:

1. In the expressways, I love to speed (would not have minded to be a Nascar driver!) but of course I cannot beyond the particular limit, not only out of respect for the civil authorities (by Jesus’ recommendation) but to protect my neighbor; yet, when my neighbor passes me at huge velocities, or worse, slides in front of my car no matter what to make a particular exit, I used to be very mad with that person… Well, nowadays I get mad for seconds and turn around and love  my brother by asking God for His mercy to protect the life of my offender and to save his/her soul and I do have love for them; I mean what I ask of God!

2. There are some political figures that I simply used to detest… I resented them big time especially for their position in “life” issues. Just imagine if the Virgin Mary would have thought of ending her pregnancy because it meant meriting to be stoned to death, since she was pregnant and single… No doubt that Jesus was an inconvenient pregnancy for this 15 year old.  Or imagine the lesson we have of Jesus in his human nature, just a few cells, since His Mom left immediately after His conception (by the Holy Ghost) in order to serve her cousin Elizabeth, and how these few cells made John the Baptist jump with joy in her mother’s womb… Or think of the excited John, a fetus of only 6 months that still needed his mom to feed him in order to finish his formation, and we have many fetuses between ages 6 and 9 months of gestation, who are decapitated through late term abortions! Ouch and ouch…

So, I have suffered from major resentment for them but only until some months ago when I repented for this sin and asked God for His mercy to love them as my most dear brothers and sisters, and especially those who call themselves members of my Church… I had to separate the sinner from the sin, since all of them are images of God and loved by Jesus just as much as any other. And indeed, shortly after, I felt so much love, that it was then that I was ready to intercede for mercy for them. Without love and total forgiveness since they do not know what they are doing, my prayer would not be that powerful… I remember here the words of St. Paul of Tarsus that love can do all things (re: future of FOCA)

3. Another major source of resentment has been the stand of some of our feminist voices of wanting to claim the right to choose to do what they want with their bodies… For some of us born ages ago and who no doubt have suffered some discrimination due to our gender, the question of the dignity of life as a right for all humans, was always as clear as crystal water. Contraception was never an issue in my life as a married woman even before the encyclical of Humanae Vitae was written by our Pope Paul VI. My neighbor came first (those babies God wanted me to bear to this world as I cooperated with His plan of creation) and God’s will also came first, so that He would decide what to do with my own physical body… And He did a precious job… He spaced my 4 sons… and decided to sicken my womb, so it needed to be surgically removed! His mercy is endless and just! In my next blog early next week, I will share with you my experience as a physician and how they euthanized a patient of mine…

I know that some of you, who are praying as the Body of Christ for mercy for us and the world, may feel weak and let a day or two pass by. To those, please remember how powerful you are as intercessors… You must be carrying some cross of some sort, and that cross united to prayer and faithfulness to love God and neighbor at all cost, is a heavenly credit card that will buy huge miracles for you and us and the rest of the world . Also, remember your responsibility as a member of this Body — we belong to each other. Soon we will talk about following Jesus  as He did pray to His Dad, and also regarding what He said that whatever we need we have to ask for and knock… and therefore, we will get…Prayer is not a choice but a mighty need… with mighty potential to open wide His ocean of Mercy! The Lord Jesus is our quarterback. He throws the ball (His mercy) and we catch it with no effort if we follow Him as disciples (obeying His will and loving our brothers with automatic forgiveness obtained in a personal process of conversion similar to my stories above) and through prayer for ourselves and others, we take it all the way to the end zone to save other souls (touchdowns)…. This is what the “touchdown or kicking” Jesus painting at Notre Dame University stadium in South Bend, IN, reminds me of!

SPANISH

¿Qué significa seguir a Jesús?

Continúo aquí el tópico de discipulado basado en la definición que Jesús nos dio y lo que yo he entendido en mi propia vida. Ya he escrito acerca de auto-negación y de cómo abrazar nuestras cruces pero con gusto, ya que son caminos para nuestra santificación. De otra manera, Jesús no las hubiera incluido en Su definición. Ahora seguimos con el tópico más extenso. Él nos dejó muchas señales, muchísimas! Después de orar, me sentí guiada a comenzar con la siguiente señal. En Mateo 12, en un sábado, los discípulos y Jesús caminaban a través de un campo sembrado con granos, y porque tenían hambre, los cortaron y comenzaron a comérselos. Los fariseos inmediatamente le llamaron la atención a Jesús con lo que parecía una ofensa contra la Ley. Jesús les recuerda que en las Escrituras, lo mismo se hizo dos veces y no fue considerado un pecado. Y en el verso 7,  Él les dijo, “Si supieran lo que significa: ‘quiero misericordia y no sacrificio, no condenarían a los inocentes.”

En Mateo 22:36-40, los fariseos querían poner a Jesús a prueba y le hicieron esta pregunta: “Maestro, ¿cuál es el mandamiento más importante de la ley? Jesús les contestó: Amarás al Señor tu Dios con todo tu corazón, con toda tu alma y con toda tu mente. Este es el primer mandamiento y el  más importante. El segundo es semejante a éste: Amarás a tu prójimo como a ti mismo. En estos dos mandamientos se basa toda la ley y los profetas.”

Así que estamos hablando de dos tópicos principales y Él nos dio muchas señales acerca de ellos no sólo con las palabras de arriba pero en otras partes: (1) La misericordia de Dios y (2) nuestro amor por Él y por nuestro hermano/a. Sin embargo, hace algunos años cuando contemplaba la parábola del hijo pródigo (Lucas 15:11-31), algo se me hizo muy evidente. Todo mundo se refiere a esta parábola  como la mejor descripción de la misericordia de Dios Padre… o el amor loco que Él nos tiene, y por el cual mandó a su único Hijo a salvarnos… (Juan 3:16).

Esta parábola es la mejor representación de lo que debemos hacer sin importar cuántos son nuestros pecados. Debemos arrepentirnos y pedirle perdón a nuestro Papá en el cielo… Pero yo vi algo más en esta parábola además de la descripción de la misericordia del padre para su hijo. El otro hijo y hermano mayor del hijo pródigo, se puso furioso que su padre hubiese dado una fiesta para recibir al hijo perdido quien había malgastado su herencia en cosas mundanas y muy impropias. El hijo mayor ofreció a su padre el siguiente argumento: “Mira cómo todos estos años te he servido y nunca desobedecí tus órdenes.” Ahí estaba la señal — él había sido obediente a su padre pero no estaba demostrando misericordia para su hermano; no estaba amándolo. Inmediatamente me di cuenta que yo debía de tener mucho cuidado… Yo también puedo ser fiel a la voluntad de mi Padre en el cielo pero si no amo a mi hermano/a, como en esta parábola, si no perdono a mi prójimo completamente, no estoy cumpliendo con los dos mandamientos más importantes… ¿Cuántas veces he resentido a muchos por persecuciones que me hicieron y lo peor, la mayoría de ellas sin provocación aparente, o basadas en mentiras y malentendidos? Toneladas de veces

Si fuera a seguir a Jesús, esto es, todas sus señales para seguirlo incluyendo Su propio ejemplo, tendría que arrepentirme inmediatamente por mi falta de amor que incluye el perdón total de mi prójimo, y además pedirle Su gracia y misericordia para poder ver Su propia Faz en la persona de mi enemigo. Finalmente había entendido la parábola del hijo pródigo y hasta me había identificado con los dos hermanos… Como el hijo pródigo, yo también había recibido muchas gracias a través de los Sacramentos, de la Iglesia en general, de buenos amigos, de hijos magníficos, y había fallado en multiplicar todos estos regalos; pero lo peor es que no usé estas gracias para bien del Reino de Dios; por otro lado, también yo soy como el hijo mayor porque estaba resintiendo todos aquellos que me han hecho daño… Auch!

Debo reportarles que cuando reconocí la dualidad de mi conducta como la de los hermanos de esta parábola, me arrepentí y comencé a tratar de enmendarme, y por supuesto, Su misericordia fue abundante y comencé a trabajar con mayor diligencia para el Reino (para la salvación de almas), y al mismo tiempo, y me tomó por sorpresa, ya no resentía a mi prójimo por más de un poco tiempo. ¡Cuánto poder! Todavía hoy, me duele lo que me hicieron, pero no los resiento. Al contrario, cuando oro por ellos, lo hago con gran “gusto”. “Dios es bueno y su misericordia es eterna”, dijo el salmista, y nosotros solo debemos pedir por Su misericordia y cooperar con Él para recibirla, a través del arrepentimiento y tratando siempre de seguirlo, de hacer todo aquello que Él nos modeló, desde el púlpito del pesebre hasta el púlpito de Su Cruz.

Quiero aquí citar las palabras de Sta. Faustina (678) – “La esencia de las virtudes es la voluntad de Dios. Aquel que obedece la voluntad de Dios practica todas las virtudes (Y yo les recuerdo que la voluntad de Dios es primordialmente obedecer los dos mandamientos más importantes: amor a Dios y al prójimo) … Lo más dulce para mí son los tormentos, sufrimientos, persecuciones, y toda clase de adversidades permitidas por la divina voluntad, más que la alabanza, popularidad, gran estima de otros, si lo obtengo por mi propia voluntad.”

Esto nos da una idea muy clara que para seguir a Jesús, debemos tratar de amar a Dios y nuestro prójimo, y que si pedimos Su misericoria con un corazón resuelto a cambiar nuestra conducta anterior, es la clave para el éxito, y en esta forma nos convertimos en discípulos. Es también interesante que en las palabras de Sta. Faustina encontramos que ella estaba practicando su trabajo de discípula: se negaba a sí misma y no quería ver ningún éxito salir de su propia voluntad; a la vez, abrazaba sus cruces porque eran dulces ya que procedían de la voluntad de Dios. Uau! Y como era Su “secretaria de misericordia”, ella actuaba así porque estaba cubierta por Su misericordia…

Es muy importante establecer en este momento que esto no es una simple reflexión y dejarla como si fuera algo difícil de hacer. No, esta es una Verdad que debemos desear, aceptar y practicarla, sabiendo que Su misericordia nos llega para  completar la transformación de nuestros corazones. Nuestro deber es principalmente reconocer nuestro pecado, arrepentirnos, con gran propósito de enmienda. Si sólo aceptáramos esta verdad  y la obedeciéramos, nos sorprendería el poder de Su misericordia en nuestros corazones. Y una vez que veamos estos cambios y todo mediado por el amor de Dios, hasta crecemos más en nuestra fe, esperanza y hasta en caridad y en abundancia! No hay nada como ver la resurrección de nuestras almas desde los despojos de nuestro pecado.

A través de los años pude comprender la importancia de comprometerme a amar simultáneamente a Dios y a mi prójimo, y no vivir como una esquizofrénica espiritual que divide el amor: esto es, servir a mi prójimo con gran fidelidad y desobedecer la voluntad de Dios en todo lo demás, o viceversa. Desde entonces, he hecho un esfuerzo por practicar en cada presente momento el amor a Dios y al hermano. Estos son algunos ejemplos de mi reforma:

1. En las autopistas, a mí me encanta correr (no me hubiese disgustado ser una chofer de carros en una carrera de Nascar…), pero claro, no puedo ir  más allá de la velocidad límite no sólo por respeto a las autoridades civiles (por recomendación de Jesús), sino para proteger a mis compañeros y choferes de otros carros; sin embargo, cuando my prójimo me pasa a grandes velocidades, o lo peor, cuando se meten delante de mi carro a toda costa para poder llegar a una salida específica, pues antes me ponía furiosa con esa persona…  Bueno, en estos tiempos me pongo brava por sólo unos segundos e inmediatamente  me esmero en amarlos al orar por misericordia para proteger sus vidas y para salvar sus almas!

2. Hay ciertos políticos que usaba detestar… Los resentía por su posición contraria al derecho de la vida. Imagínense a la Virgen María  si ella hubiese pensado en terminar su embarazo porque significa que moriría apedreada ya que estaba preñada y soltera… No hay duda que la preñez de Jesús era inconveniente  para esta niña de 15 años. O imagínense la lección que tenemos de que Jesús en su naturaleza humana, representada por sólo unas cuantas células, ya que su Madre había salido corriendo a casa de su prima Isabel poco después de su concepción (por obra del Espíritu Santo), hiciera que Juan saltara de gozo en el vientre de su madre… O piensen como el mismo Juan, un feto de sólo 6 meses, el cual todavía dependía de su madre para su manutención y crecimiento, ya tenía una dignidad y conocimiento del Mesías, y nosotros decapitamos a fetos de 6 a 9 meses de gestación a través del aborto tardío… Auch y auch!

Bueno, sufría de gran resentimiento hacia ellos hasta hace unos cuantos meses atrás cuando me arrepentí de mi pecado y le pedí a Dios por Su misericordia para amarlos como mis más queridos hermanos y hermanas, y muy especialmente aquellos que se llaman miembros de mi Iglesia…. Tenía que separar el pecador de su pecado, y amar al pecador por ser una imagen de Dios…como estoy segura que Jesús lo ama… Y de verdad, muy pronto comencé a sentir gran amor por ellos, y fue entonces que sí podía interceder por ellos pidiendo por misericordia por sus almas. Sin amor y perdón total, ya que ellos no saben lo que hacen, mi oración no tendría poder…

3. Otra fuente de resentimiento ha sido la postura de voces feministas que claman por el derecho a escoger lo que ellas quieran para sus cuerpos… Para algunas de nosotras que nacimos hace siglos… y que hemos sufrido discriminación debido a nuestro sexo, el tema del derecho a la vida para todos los seres humanos, siempre fue clara como el agua limpia. La contracepción nunca fue una opción para mí como mujer casada aun antes de que la encíclica Humana Vitae fuera escrita por el Papa Pablo VI. Mi prójimo tuvo prioridad (aquellos bebés que Dios quería traer a este mundo a través de mi cooperación con Su creación ), y lo mismo tuvo prioridad Su voluntad, para que Él decidiera lo que quería de mi propio cuerpo físico. Y él hizo una labor maravillosa… Él me mandó 4 hijos separados con tiempo para mi práctica de medicina y  para mi conveniencia… y decidió darme una enfermedad para mi vientre y así tener que ser removido quirúrgicamente. Su misericordia es sin fin y justa. En mi próximo blog a principios de la semana que entra, les contaré sobre cómo terminaron con la vida de una paciente mía.

Yo sospecho que algunos de vosotros que se han unido en oración como Cuerpo de Cristo para pedir por Su misericordia para nosotros y para el mundo entero, pueden sentirse débiles o tentados a no hacerlo por un día o dos. A vosotros les digo que por favor recuerden su poder como intercesores… Deben estar llevando algún tipo de cruz, y esa cruz unida a la oración y a la fidelidad de amar a Dios y al prójimo, es una tarjeta de crédito celestial que puede comprar muchos milagrazos para todos nosotros y para el resto del mundo. También recuerden nuestra responsabilidad como miembros del Cuerpo de Cristo, porque nos pertenecemos unos a los otros.

Muy pronto hablaremos de las sugerencias y ejemplo de Jesús de orar a nuestro Padre en el cielo. Sólo tenemos que pedirlo. La oración no está en la categoría de escogencia: la oración es una necesidad poderosa… y con un potencial enorme para extraer Su océano de misericordia. Jesús es nuestro “quarterback” (lo siento para aquellos que no conocen el fútbol americano…). Él lanza el balón (Su  misericordia) y nosotros lo recibimos sin esfuerzo alguno si vivimos como Él nos recomienda (amando Su voluntad y amando a nuestros hermanos y hermanas con perdón automático obtenido en un proceso de conversión personal como lo  narrado anteriormente), y a través de la oración por nosotros mismos y por otros, corremos sin parar hasta el otro lado (end zone) y salvamos almas (touchdowns). Esto es lo  que la pintura del “touchdown o kicking de Jesús” en el estadio de fútbol de la Universidad de Notre Dame en Indiana, significa para mí…

 

 

 

 


