Communal prayer for 2009

I have reflected and prayed about what the Spirit of God would like us to do as One Body in Christ who not only is responsible for each other, but goes beyond it… That is that we need to pray under the certainty that we belong to each other. So, I ended up with a clear sense that the amount of words is not the point, but with what kind of heart we will say them, and I came up with a plan.

We will have a few prayers followed  by just one decade of the Rosary and one decade of the chaplet of Mercy. You may find them if you click on your right in the page titled “Daily Prayer”. But the crux of the matter is not the words per se… Again, it will be a matter of how we approach the throne of Mercy and beg for our personal needs and those of the world. In this page appears as well a full of explanation of how the Rosary is made of the Word of God, and thereby clarifying how its power resides in praying His Word and what it contemplates… On a different page titled “Intentions”, I have listed a number of needs in our lives that need His mercy, and also how we can pray for different needs of the world at large. If you do not agree with some of them, please personalize your list as you feel you want it.

The spirit of this communal prayer resides in contemplating and meaning what we are saying and at the same time, trying our best to deny ourselves, carrying our crosses with a resounding acceptance as we follow the Master Jesus, emulating what He did, specially how He loved… and so as to live the Word of God not only with our lips but with our hearts and minds… I only chose one decade of the Rosary precisely so that we can contemplate it without being too long of an effort. To be faithful to this prayer on a daily basis will be challenging, but it will take you short 15-20 minutes

. And please keep track of personal petitions that you will only know and what miracles you will see, and do not forget to thank Him… for them. Also, at an international level, we shall see what the Mercy of God can do in these very hectic times as the Body of Christ (us) clamors for His mercy day and night! Our power of intercession is huge. As you remember we have hints of being so. Abraham “dealt” with God trying to stop the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah if He found just 10 innocent people in these cities, but there was not such a number and they were destroyed. (Genesis 18). But remember Abraham’s faith that was total and even God considered him as His friend and confided to him His plans to destroy these cities. And Moses, if he kept his arms up, the Israelites would win in the battle field.  (Ex 17)… Huh!   And Moses was also intimate with God. Therefore, all intimate relationship with God assures us of our power to intercede for others and even ourselves. .

I now want to share with you my epiphany lived in January of 2001, exactly 8 years ago, because it is much related to our petition list as we pray as One Body in Christ. My theologian son was about to finish his third semester at the Angelicum in Rome and had come for the 2000 Christmas break. My husband of 37 years had just being diagnosed in November with terminal cancer and with a life expectancy of only 6 months. On February 2000 I had left a very good job because it was impossible to avoid my participation in giving anesthesia for the destruction of babies by abortion on demand. My colleagues tried hard to keep me without getting involved, but shortage of personnel in this huge hospital would place me in this position. Three times a nurse anesthetist wrote my name on the chart as the supervisor anesthesiologist even that I was not in the operating room, but the abortion had been moved at the last minute to this room of which I was the supervisor.

 

I could not find a job right away and it was God’s mercy that I did not find one, in order for me to be available for the diagnosis and surgery of my husband .  I was there with him and in the hospital he received a Jesuit priest who heard his confession, one that he had not done in more than 50 years! Nobody pushed him. He just wanted to get right with the Church in preparing himself to die! He showed the most serene accepting attitude ever possible for a dying patient. My son decided to interrupt his studies in Rome in order to help me out, since in a miraculous way a very good job found me, to become director of a surgery center and even near my home… I started my new job on March 19, shortly after this epiphany. My husband died at home, entered in a coma for two days and suddenly woke up looking around with curious eyes. I directed him to follow Jesus or the light or whatever he was seeing, and he obeyed, put his head down and expired on July 22, 2001. GOD’S MERCY WAS THERE SHOWING ME WHAT HE CAN DO! Amazing grace, how sweet the sound!

 

—-0—- Epiphany as written to friends via Internet attachment:

I started pondering that 2000 years ago, the Son of God, less than 24 hours of being on this Earth in a visible way and not just hiding in the womb of His Mother, had started calling people by name for a personal encounter with Him…

 

1) He revealed to the humble shepherds (Jews) all His glory through the Angel of the Lord and invited them to come and visit Him!  “For today in the city of David a savior has been born to you who is the Messiah and Lord.” (Lk. 2:11). When they found the child, they told everybody at the manger what the Angel had said.  All who heard it were amazed. “Then the shepherds returned glorifying and praising God.” Lk. 2:20.

2) Days later, the three Magi came to see Him. They found Him in His mother’s arms. In this occasion, the child Jesus had invited gentiles and even those with different color of skin. I understood how these Kings were very humble, willing to leave everything and to expose themselves to inconveniences in order to pay homage to a “baby,” the King of the Jews. “Where is the newborn King of the Jews?”  Mt. 2:2. They brought gifts and it certainly looks that they had the faith that gave them the certainty that they would find Him. This time the invitation did not come directly from the Angel of the Lord since they were probably pagans, but God used their knowledge of astronomy and a “star” in the heavens to guide them to His Son. With the invitation to the shepherds and Magi, I understood how our God calls us in many different ways, and therefore, it reminds us to be attentive so that we do not miss a time of visitation. This is a very important point to remind ourselves even daily.

The gifts were to mean a great deal because they were identified by name! Scripture could have omitted the nature of the gifts but it did not! Through the years I have known that they represent different aspects of Jesus’ life as King, as God and about His death. However, I now understood something else: since the Magi were gentiles as we are (not Jews), we should look at their story for guidance for own finding of Jesus. Advent just passed and our journey now is to leave everything to find the Child Jesus and make Him the King and Lord of our hearts and to bring him the same gifts as the Magi brought Him, yet understanding these gifts to the fullest.

But you would ask, “But haven’t we been seeking Him all these years?” I would answer with a loud yes, but our “free will” suffocates our determination to make this Child a permanent resident of our heart at a conscious level, in order to take care of Him like His Mom did, while in her womb. We keep asking for help and directions and we receive it from the Word of God and from the Church (the Sacraments and her teachings from retreats and homilies that help us do that), yet we get distracted over and over and we forget that no one can do it for us, but ourselves. We simply fail to be and feel pregnant with the Child Jesus and we also fail to understand that we are ambassadors of Christ, and to make it a habit of taking Him places to bless others, as His Mother did when she visited Elizabeth. We are simply not great servants of the Word Incarnate!

I understood clearly how these gifts that the Kings gave this newborn, the Child Jesus, are the clue to our journey. Herod represents our flesh, the world and the evil. They are always organizing ways to destroy the Child Who resides in us. The Magi never became distracted, and after they found the Child Jesus Who changed their lives, they were obedient to the directions given to them to avoid Herod altogether (directions to avoid the world, the flesh and the evil one, once they possessed the gift of seeing the Child and King).

 The gift of gold: it represents the surrender to the will of the King. It represents our calling to make Jesus our King, and therefore to become His subjects (disciples). It means for us to express our surrender through obedience to His laws (the Ten Commandments and all other counsels He left) and blind  obedience to His will for us.

Frankincense: it represents the sacrifice of worship and thanksgiving to Jesus as God. It represents our call to see Jesus as our God to Whom we owe worship, meaning giving Him adoration, praise, sacrifices (or our embrace of daily crosses as part of the daily “white” martyrdom to imitate the Master and to offer atonement and reparation for our sins and those of the whole world). It is an invitation to join the Saints and Angels in heaven, day and night, in their unending hymns of praise. It is a call to me to live in the presence of God all the time, conscious of my carrying of the Child Jesus in my heart. For 2001, I must heed this truth and persevere in asking for the grace to live in the presence of the Most Holy Trinity indwelling, chanting with my loving behavior, how much I love this one God.

Myrrh: represents self denial; self annihilation, the death to our most precious possession: our will. It represents therefore, the death to all attachments as we keep ourselves busy with housing this Child Jesus in our temple, our King and God, so that we forget our desires, our plans and even our sufferings and needs.  I will, therefore, refuse to opinionate about my present dilemmas (as they were this January 2001, still without a job and waiting for the death of my companion). I will trust in the Love of the indwelling Child Jesus for me and I will ignore the pros and cons of my every present moment.  As with the Magi, the Holy Spirit will guide me as He wills, and that is all what I must pay attention to. (I must report at the end of 2008 that all went well and it did not even left any scars… Amazing grace! He was there with me at all times and probably carrying me in His arms most of the time.)

I then realized that we are called to constantly offer to the child Jesus these gifts of submission to His will, the sacrifice of worship and self- denial at whatever cost.  This vigilance to offer Him these gifts will in turn bring the fruit, the grace to be perennially present to Him indwelling, without turmoil or hard work. It becomes a gift for us for the gift we offer Him. It becomes a vicious cycle but of mercy and grace for us! What a God we have, always seeking to give us everything He can! Amazing!

At this point, I understood the three Kings as never before.  They have been showing me the way for years and I never understood it well until the year 2001, as I carry the heavy cross of this present moment. Bear in mind that I am not a theologian, nor I am saying that this is the teaching of the Church. However, for me, it was an epiphany; it was and is a great teaching for my daily encouragement, most especially at this point where I have several roads to take, and where I have to choose the way of the Spirit and the road of silence and sacrifice of praise and thanksgiving, as I live in the Presence of my God in the Eucharist and indwelling.  But the epiphany continues.

3) When Jesus was 40 days old, He chose to show us another way of coming to our lives.  Unlike the shepherds and the Magi who received an invitation which they took seriously, and who therefore were given the grace to be present, face to face, with God the Child Jesus, Jesus took the initiative to visit two people at the Temple.

a) “Simeon was righteous and devout, awaiting the consolation of Israel (an attitude of waiting for the Messiah to restore God’s rule in Israel), and the Holy Spirit was upon him.” Luke: 2:25

“He came in the Spirit into the Temple and when the parents brought in the Child Jesus… He took Him into his arms and blessed God, saying, ‘Now Master you may let your servant go in peace according to your word, for my eyes have seen your salvation’ ” Luke. 2:27-30.

It was obvious to me that Simeon had prepared himself for years for this meeting. According to the footnotes of my Bible, righteousness means a moral conduct in conformity with God’s will and submission to the plan for the salvation of the human race. He was also devout, meaning a man of prayer. So the Spirit of God summoned him to the Temple to meet His Son. (This clearly establishes how worthy and wonderful it is to join a life of reform where we become people of prayer and devotion, with a moral conduct in conformity to God’s will as we surrender to the plan for the salvation of the human race, as Jesus, the incarnate Mercy of God the Father, came to do!)

 b) Anna the prophetess “never left the Temple but worshiped night and day with fasting and prayer. And coming forward at this very time she gave thanks and spoke about the Child…” Luke. 2: 37-38.

Anna never left the Temple but she was made aware by God that His Son would come.  These two were not called to find the Child Jesus, but to live a life of holiness in preparation to encounter the Messiah King. The Divine Child Jesus became a gift Himself for them since they had been, day and night, offering gifts to Him.

 

Everything became so clear to me from then on. Once more I had one more proof that my work is to be present to the Child Jesus at Mass, in private prayer time with praise and adoration and thanksgiving, and to the Most Holy Trinity indwelling the rest of the day. I am to be present with no plans, no anxiety, no fear, simply in submission, in obedience to God’s will for that moment, that hour, tenderly embracing my cross (the unanswered needs I have, the ever changing future events of jobs, finances and impending death of spouse) as an act of sacrifice to my God. But most importantly, in order to receive the Presence of the Child Jesus Himself, I must have no will, or better, make my will, His will. I must also trust in this His love for me and now even more because He was faithful to the shepherds, to the gentile Kings of the East and to two godly people, Simeon and Anna, all within 40 days of His coming to this Earth…

When I was a child in Latin America, every feast of the Presentation of Jesus in the Temple on February 2nd. , it was always very important to us.  We did not have Christmas trees.  We only had “portales” or Nativity scenes that we did not take apart until we said “the Rosary of the Niño Dios” (the God Child) on this date. So I was raised with great love for this feast. From this year on, I will have a greater view of the meaning of this feast when the Child Jesus became a gift to His faithful servants. I must add that for reasons unknown to me and as I have said to you before, I presented every son of mine to the Temple.  I made it my rule that after coming from the hospital, the baby could not go out for any other reason unless first he went to Church to be presented and consecrated to the Lord. Much ahead of their baptisms, I took them to visit the Eucharistic Jesus and gave them to Him.  I had the grace not to forgo of this rule for any of the four,  although this is not a Latin American custom or tradition that I know of.

This “epiphany” brought me back to the classic book “The Reed of God” by Caryll Houselander. She develops the theme of the lost Child Jesus in our souls. Towards the end of the book there is chapter that deals with the seeking of the Child Jesus. His parents lost him for three days when He was twelve. I personally believe this event was part of the will of God in order for us today, to discuss our loss of the indwelling Child Jesus. We do know that we are a Temple and He is there but we forget to pay attention to Him or to attempt to recognize our guest. We can lose Him in many ways.  We might let go of our main vocation, our call to be holy, or we may have erected idols in our life (power, possessions) that distracts us and make us lose the Presence of the Divine Child in us.

Houselander: “Instead we invent imaginary Christ’s, and they can be made to be anything at all that we would like Him to be. Our judgments are always, or nearly always, formed by our own needs and fears and limitations, not by an objective contemplation. Christ lives in us; but we do not know Him. We form a wrong conception of Him, an ego-projection Christ, an imaginary Christ who fits into our own narrowness, who does not shatter our complacency. To this imaginary Christ we bring all the fierce zeal and force that is born of the conviction that we are serving God -when we are at least partly serving ourselves- and this is the explanation of the sometimes terrible things we do in good faith, believing that we are serving God… To put it more directly, we build idols.”

Houselander asks, “Where must we seek? (For the lost Jesus). Everywhere – in everyone.  How must we seek?  With faith and courage and limitless love.

“Acts of faith in the presence of Christ in us are the first active exercise in this contemplation. (Say) < My God, I believe that you are within me.>

“Christ our Lord is within us; there is no room for any other awareness; everything that we see and touch and taste and think must be related to this one fact.

“We can copy His Mother and clothe Him in our thoughts, lay them upon Him like garments: a tiny shift of white linen and a little crimson surcoat…Because He is in the little house of our being, we will learn to control our minds, to gather our thoughts to silence, and to crown them with peace, just as we learn to control our voices and to move softly when a child is asleep in the house of bricks and mortar.

“The next act of faith is in Christ as we see Him in other people… Recently, in a big block, a frail little porter fell down dead. Everyone agreed that the heavy luggage he had been in the habit of carrying for the tenants was too much for him, though only after a post mortem was it realized. No one was struck by the idea that in this little man a scene from the Passion had been lived again; he had fallen under the weight of the Cross. An old man whose love for his fellow creatures endeared him to them all, confessed that whomsoever he met – before greeting him out loud – in secret he greeted Christ within him or her.

 

“Through Mary of Nazareth Christ is born again and again in the individual heart. Blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus, the little children say. And they do not understand what they say. But as they grow older with the angel’s prayer in their hearts, they begin to understand that this fruit is the Life of Christ born again in the world -always, everywhere.” (End of Houselander’s book quotes)

I suddenly understood that servanthood is the grace to become a gift to others by bringing the Christ child to them, but it presupposes a constant yes to the will of God for me at each present moment. Therefore, servanthood implies obedience. The grace to do it is available, but it only depends on my willingness to consent, to give myself permission to say yes to everything I am called to do, feel or suffer. I now have two words that I want to choose as the motto of my life: love and yes… One becomes the other since one (my yes) incarnates the other one (love) as it did in Our Lady’s life. No matter how I look at them, they are one and the same. Martha who symbolizes the servant, the yes, and Mary who chose to love in contemplation, are but two parts of my soul that must constantly be formulated and practiced in these my last years on earth. If I had to answer what is my call in life, I would have to write this: to love is my vocation but my unqualified yes is my call. This yes to the will of God is the torch of my servanthood, and both are the vehicles that will enable me to fulfill my vocation to love. All three (my yes, love and servanthood) are inseparable and were created by the Mercy of God to save me and the whole world. I finally understood that my life had to be lived as a perpetual Advent, but that is only in the state of constant Biblical servanthood that I become perennially prepared to receive the Visitation of the Child Jesus, so that I can be consecrated, like the Baptist was in the womb of his mother, to become a voice of one crying in the desert, proclaiming a baptism of repentance and making straight every winding road in a continuous anxious waiting for His coming. Therefore, Christmas should be a daily event in my life…!

And so, I invite you to imitate the Magi and bring many gifts to your inner Child Jesus, but the most valuable will be your own will in order to become one with His will, Baby Jesus’ will.

Please pray for me to grow in living this new life of constant praise and adoration to the indwelling Trinity and to the Christ indwelling in those with whom I will spend many hours in a new job. I am aware of God’s indwelling but not second by second. It is my desire to be totally immersed in this contemplation for the greater glory of God the Father and the Infant Child Jesus through the power of the Holy Spirit. I can’t wait to receive such grace.  I pray for you always. Have a blessed and holy year 2001. (End of communication to friends)

Here ends this epiphany I had in  2001, after spending most of the year 2000 without a job and therefore, praying much since it was a Holy Year, full of plenary indulgences! . But I want to close these reflections before the New Year and leave you with practical ways to exercise this living with God alone, with Christ within us. If you are a Christian of whatever denomination, Roman Catholic or not, please answer these questions for yourself. These questions appear in the lyrics of a song called The Summons. I, and as the song does, will summon you to say”yes” to the Master in a new way, in a deeper way in 2009 as we pray together as One Body. Happy New Year!

(Next blog will appear next week. Remember that January 1st. we start our prayer!)

The Summons (lyrics)

“Will you come and follow Me, if I but call your name?

Will you go where you don’t know and never be the same?

Will you let My Love be shown; will you let My Name be known?

Will you let My life be grown in you and you in Me?

 

Will you leave yourself behind if I but call your name?

Will you care for cruel and kind and never be the same?

Will you risk the hostile stare, should your life attract or scare?

Will you let Me answer prayer in you and you in Me?

 

Will you let the blinded see if I but call your name

Will you set the prisoners free and never be the same

Will you kiss the leper clean, and do such as this unseen,

And admit to what I mean in you and you in Me?

 

Will you love the ‘you’ you hide, if I but call your name?

Will you quell the fear inside and never be the same?

Will you use the faith you’ve found to reshape the world around,

Through My sight and touch and sound in you and you in Me?

 

(Will you answer as follows?)

 Lord, your summons echoes true when You but call my name.

Let me turn and follow You and never be the same.

In your company I’ll go where Your Love and footsteps show.

Thus, I’ll move and live and grow in You and You in me.

 

John L. Bell, 1949. C. Iona Community, GIA publications, Inc.

SPANISH

Grupo de oración para el 2009

He reflexionado y orado acerca de qué es lo que el Espíritu de Dios quiere que oremos  como un solo Cuerpo en Cristo, nosotros que no solamente somos responsables unos por los otros, pero que va más allá de eso… Esto es, que debemos de orar bajo la certeza de que nos pertenecemos unos a los otros.  Así que terminé con un claro sentido que la cantidad de palabras que recemos no es el punto, pero con qué clase de corazón las digamos, y así concebí un plan.

Diremos unas pocas oraciones seguidas por una década del Rosario y una década de la coronilla de Misericordia. Encontrarán estas oraciones si  hacen un “click” a su derecha en la página titulada “Daily Prayer”. Pero de nuevo, lo importante no serán las palabras mismas… sino en cómo nos acerquemos al Trono de Misericordia y pidamos por nuestras necesidades personales y por aquellas del mundo entero. En esta página que he indicado también aparecerá una explicación completa de cómo el Rosario está compuesto de la Palabra de Dios, y así aclarar que su poder reside en repetir la palabra de Dios y en el contemplar lo que esa Palabra nos recuerda… En otra página titulada “Petitions”, he enumerado varias necesidades que tenemos y que necesitan de Su  misericordia, y también las necesidades del mundo. Si alguno no está de acuerdo con alguna de las peticiones, pues personalicen su lista como ustedes quieran.

El espíritu de esta oración de grupo reside en contemplar y aceptar las palabras que  estamos orando, mientras por otro lado tratemos de negarnos a sí mismos, cargando nuestras cruces con un sí rotundo a medida que seguimos al Maestro Jesús,  especialmente en cómo Él amó… de manera de vivir la Palabra de Dios no sólo con nuestros labios pero también con nuestros corazones y mentes… Sólo escogí una década del Rosario  precisamente para que podamos contemplar lo que decimos sin hacer el ejercicio muy largo. De todas maneras, fidelidad a orar todos los días será un reto, pero nos tomará unos cortos 15 a 20 minutos.

Y por favor pongan atención a vuestras peticiones personales y a los milagros que verán, y no se olviden de darle gracias a Dios. También a nivel internacional podemos poner atención a lo que la Misericordia de Dios podrá hacer en estos momentos tan difíciles y cuando el Cuerpo de Cristo (nosotros) clama por Su misericordia día y noche. Nuestro poder de intercesión es enorme. Es materia que lo comprobemos. Como pueden recordar, Abrahán “pactó” con Dios para intervenir por Sodoma y Gomorra e hizo que Dios le bajara el número de personas inocentes a 10, y así evitar la destrucción de estas ciudades. Sin embargo, no hubo ni 10 inocentes y el Señor las destruyó. (Génesis 18). Claro, la fe de Abrahán era total y Dios lo mencionaba como a un amigo que Él tenía, y por eso le contó de sus planes contra estas ciudades. En el caso de Moisés, si mantenía sus abrazos elevados, los Israelitas podían vencer a sus enemigos. (Éxodo 17). Moisés era íntimo de Dios… Toda intimidad con Dios, toda fe que requiere vivir ampliamente su Libro de Instrucciones, nos asegura nuestro poder de intercesión.

Ahora voy a compartir con ustedes una epifanía que viví en enero del 2001, exactamente hace 8 años, y lo hago porque tiene una estrecha relación con nuestra lista de peticiones. Mi hijo teólogo estaba terminando su tercer semestre en el Angelicum en Roma y había venido para la Navidad del año 2000. My esposo de 37 años acaba de ser diagnosticado en Noviembre con cáncer terminal y con un plazo de vida de unos 6 meses más. En Febrero del 2000 yo había dejando mi buen trabajo porque se hizo imposible el evitar mi participación en dar anestésicos para la destrucción de bebés a través de abortos por demanda. Mis colegas trataban de no utilizarme pero a última hora se hacía cambios y 3 veces una enfermera anestesista escribió mi nombre como la supervisora de un aborto aunque yo no estaba ni en la sala de operaciones, pero estaba oficialmente encargada de esta sala en particular.

No pude encontrar trabajo ese resto del año y fue la misericordia de Dios que así lo permitió para poder estar libre para el diagnóstico y cirugía que mi esposo requirió y estuve ahí cuando en el hospital, un sacerdote Jesuita vino a confesarlo, algo que no había hecho en los 50 años anteriores! Nadie lo obligó. Él simplemente quiso volver a practicar su vida cristiana en nuestra Iglesia Católica y prepararse a morir. Demostró también una gran tranquilidad ante las noticia de su muy próxima muerte. Mi hijo decidió entonces interrumpir sus estudios en Italia para venir a ayudarme ya que de la noche a la mañana apareció un muy buen trabajo, como directora de un centro de cirugía y ahí mismo cerca de mi casa… Comencé a trabajar el 19 de marzo poco después de esta epifanía que les voy a narrar.  Mi esposo murió en casa el 22 de julio del 2001. Entró en coma por dos días y despertó por unos segundos mirando alrededor con ojos curiosos. Yo lo mandé a seguir lo que estaba mirando, a Jesús o a la luz o lo que fuera y el obedeció, bajó su cabeza y expiró. LA MISERICORDIA DE DIOS ME HABÍA DEMOSTRADO LO QUE ÉL PUEDE HACER. ¡Qué gracia tan maravillosa!

—0— Epifanía como se las describí a mis amigos:

Hoy comencé a pensar como hace 2000 años, el Hijo de Dios en menos de 24 horas de haber llegado a esta tierra en forma visible y no escondido en el vientre de Su Madre, había comenzado a llamar a gentes por su nombre para vivir un encuentro personal con Él.

1) Se reveló a pobres pastores (judíos) a través de un ángel y los invitó a venir a visitarlo.

Lucas 2: 11 “Hoy, en la ciudad de David, les ha nacido un Salvador, que es el Mesías, el Señor.”  Cuando encontraron al niño le contaron a todo mundo en el establo lo que el ángel les había dicho y los que los oyeron se quedaron maravillados. Lucas 2:20 “Y los pastores volvieron, alabando y glorificando a Dios por todo lo que habían visto y oído, conforme al anuncio que habían recibido.”

2) Poco después los tres reyes magos de oriente también vinieron a verlo y lo encontraron en  brazos de Su madre. En esta ocasión, el Niño Jesús había invitado a gentiles y hasta uno con diferente color de piel. Comprendí que estos reyes fueron humildes para dejarlo todo y exponerse a muchas inconveniencias del camino para venir a darle honor a un bebé,  el Rey de los Judíos. Mateo 2: 2 “Y preguntaron: « ¿Dónde está el rey de los judíos que acaba de nacer? Porque vimos su estrella en Oriente y hemos venido a adorarlo»”

Le trajeron regalos y ciertamente parece que tuvieron mucha fe que les dio la certitud de que lo encontrarían. De esta vez, la invitación no vino de un ángel del Señor ya que probablemente ellos eran paganos, pero Dios usó su conocimiento en astronomía y una “estrella” en particular para guiarlos a Su Hijo. La invitación de los pastores y los reyes magos me hicieron entender cómo Dios nos llama en formas diferentes, y por ello, debemos estar atentos para no perder nuestro tiempo de visitación. Esto es un punto muy importante que deberíamos recordar todos los días.

¡Los regalos que trajeron debieron significar mucho porque son identificados por nombre! Las Escrituras pudieron omitir los nombres pero no fue así. A través de los años he sabido que representaban varios aspectos de la vida de Jesús como Rey, como Dios y su muerte. Sin embargo, ahora entiendo algo más: ya que los Magos eran de origen gentil como nosotros (no judíos), deberíamos mirar esta historia como  una guía para encontrar a Jesús. Adviento acaba de pasar y nuestro caminar actual debería ser un llamado a dejarlo todo para encontrar al Niño Jesús y hacerlo Rey y Señor de nuestros corazones, trayéndole los mismos regalos que los Reyes magos pero con un completo entendimiento de estos regalos.

Pero ustedes se preguntarán, “¿Pero si lo hemos estado buscando todos estos años?” Yo les respondería con un ruidoso “sí”, pero nuestra libre voluntad ha sofocado nuestra determinación de hacer este Niño un residente permanente de nuestro corazón a un nivel consciente, y así estar pendiente de Él día y noche, como Su Mamá lo estuvo mientras lo cargó en su vientre. Seguimos pidiendo direcciones y ayuda y las recibimos de la Palabra de Dios y de la Iglesia (con los Sacramentos y enseñanzas como retiros y homilías que nos ayudan), pero repetidamente nos distraemos y fallamos en entender que nadie más lo puede hacer por nosotros, y nunca llegamos a sentirnos preñados o preñadas con el Niño Jesús, y también fallamos en entender que somos embajadores de Cristo, y nuestro hábito debería ser de llevarlo a muchos lugares a bendecir a otros, así como su propia Madre lo hizo con su visita a Sta. Isabel. Simplemente no somos buenos siervos de la Palabra Encarnada.

Entonces pude entender claramente como estos regalos que los Reyes magos le trajeron al Divino Niño Jesús, es la clave para nuestro propio caminar. Herodes representa nuestra carne, el mundo y el maligno. Ellos siempre están organizando formas para destruir el Niño que reside dentro de nosotros. Los magos nunca se distrajeron, y después de encontrar al Niño Jesús el cual cambió sus vidas, ellos obedecieron las direcciones para evitar encontrarse con Herodes.

Regalo de oro: representa nuestra sumisión a la voluntad del Rey. Representa un llamado a hacer Jesús nuestro Rey y así convertirnos en sus súbditos (discípulos). Significa obediencia a Sus Leyes (los 10 mandamientos y otros mandatos de Jesús) y obediencia gustosa a Su voluntad para nosotros.

Regalo de incienso: representa el sacrificio de alabanza y gracias a Jesús como Dios. Representa nuestro llamado a contemplar a Jesús como a nuestro Dios al cual debemos adorar constantemente, o sea con alabanza, sacrificios (hechos de nuestro diario abrazo a nuestras cruces como parte de nuestro martirio “blanco” para imitar al Maestro, y para expiar y ofrecer reparación por nuestros pecados). Es también una invitación de unirnos día y noche a los Santos y a Ángeles del cielo, en interminables himnos de alabanza. Es un llamado para mí en el 2001, a vivir en la presencia de Dios todo el tiempo, consciente de que cargo al Niño Jesús en mi corazón y que debo cumplir con esta Verdad y perseverar  en pedir la gracia de vivir en la presencia de la Santísima Trinidad interior, cantándole con mi conducta amorosa, cuánto amo a este Dios uno y trino.

Regalo de mirra: representa la negación a nosotros mismos; la aniquilación y muerte de nuestra posesión más preciosa: nuestra libre voluntad.  Representa por esto la muerte a toda atadura mientras nos mantenemos muy ocupados en darle albergue en nuestro Templo al Niño Jesús, nuestro Rey y Dios; y así olvidarnos de nuestro deseos, planes y hasta nuestros sufrimientos y necesidades. Yo, por eso, rehusaré emitir opiniones sobre mis presentes dilemas (como eran en Enero del 2001, todavía sin trabajo y con la muerte pendiente del compañero). Yo confiaré en el amor de mi huésped, el Niño Jesús,  e ignoraré los pros y contras de cada presente momento. Como pasó con los Reyes Magos, el Espíritu Santo me guiará como Él lo desee, y lo único que debo hacer es prestarle atención. (Debo reportar al final del 2008, que todo salió muy bien y ni dejó cicatrices…! Qué gracia más maravillosa…  Él estuvo ahí conmigo constantemente y probablemente me cargó en Sus brazos la mayoría del tiempo)

Fue entonces que  me di cuenta que somos llamados a ofrecerle constantemente al Niño Jesús estos regalos de sumisión a Su voluntad, del sacrifico de la alabanza y de auto-negación a cualquier costo. Esta vigilancia de la ofrenda constante de estos regalos se tornara en buen fruto para nosotros,  como la gracia de vivir perennemente presentes a Su presencia interior, sin dificultad o mucho trabajo de nuestra parte. Es nuestro regalo por el regalo que le damos. Se convierte en un ciclo vicioso pero de misericordia y gracia para nosotros. ¡Qué Señor que tenemos, siempre buscando darnos todo!

En este momento entendí a los tres Reyes Magos como nunca antes. Me habían mostrado el camino por años y nunca lo había entendido muy bien hasta este año 2001, mientras permanezco cargando esta pesada cruz del presente momento. Quiero recordarles que no soy teóloga, ni tampoco digo que esto es una enseñanza proveniente de la Iglesia. Sin embargo, para mí, todo esto ha sido una epifanía. Fue y es una gran enseñanza para darme fuerza diariamente, muy especialmente en este momento en que tengo varias posibles rutas a seguir, y cuando debo escoger la ruta del Espíritu y el camino del silencio y del sacrificio de alabanza y acción de gracias, mientras vivo en la presencia de Dios en la Eucaristía y interiormente. Pero la epifanía continúa…

3) Cuando Jesús tenía 40 días, él escogió mostrarnos otra forma de encontrarlo. A diferencia de los pastores y los Reyes Magos quienes recibieron una invitación la cual ellos tomaron muy en serio, y por lo tanto recibieron la gracia de estar presente cara a cara con Dios el Divino Niño Jesús, Jesús tomó la iniciativa de visitar dos personas en el Templo.

a) Lucas 2: 25-31 –  “Vivía entonces en Jerusalén un hombre llamado Simeón, que era justo y piadoso, y esperaba el consuelo de Israel (una actitud de espera del Mesías para que restableciera las leyes de Dios en Israel). El Espíritu Santo estaba en él y le había revelado que no moriría antes de ver al Mesías del Señor. Conducido por el mismo Espíritu, fue al Templo, y cuando los padres de Jesús llevaron al niño para cumplir con él las prescripciones de la Ley, Simeón lo tomó en sus brazos y alabó a Dios, diciendo: ‘Ahora, Señor, puedes dejar que tu servidor muera en paz, como lo has prometido,  porque mis ojos han visto la salvación que preparaste delante de todos los pueblos’ “

Es obvio que Simeón se había preparado por años para este encuentro con Cristo.
De acuerdo a las notas de mi biblia,
“justo” significa una conducta moral en conformidad con la voluntad de Dios y sumisión a su plan salvífico para la raza humana. Era tan devoto, o sea un hombre de oración, que el Espíritu lo trajo al Templo a conocer al Mesías.
(Esto establece claramente cuán maravilloso y valioso es el unirse a una vida de reforma espiritual donde nos convertimos en gente de oración y devoción, con una conducta moral en conformidad con la voluntad de Dios a medida que nos sometemos al plan que El tiene para la salvación del mundo, y lo mismo que Jesús vino a hacer, Quien es la misericordia de Dios encarnada!)

b) Lucas 2: 37-38. – Ana la profetiza, “Desde entonces había permanecido viuda, y tenía ochenta y cuatro años. No se apartaba del Templo, sirviendo a Dios noche y día con ayunos y oraciones. Se presentó en ese mismo momento y se puso a dar gracias a Dios. Y hablaba acerca del niño a todos los que esperaban la redención de Jerusalén.”

Estos dos no fueron llamados a buscar al Niño Jesús, sino a vivir una vida santa en preparación a su encuentro con el Rey Mesías. ¡El Niño Jesús se convirtió Él mismo en un regalo para ellos, ya que ellos habían permanecido día y noche ofreciéndole regalos a Él!

Todo se me volvió muy claro de aquí en adelante. Una vez más, había obtenido una prueba más que mi trabajo es de estar presente al Niño Jesús en la Misa, en mi oración privada y el resto del día en adoración y acción de gracias a la Santísima Trinidad interior. Y debo estar presente sin planes, sin ansiedad, sin miedo, simplemente en sumisión, en obediencia a la voluntad de Dios en cada momento, cada hora, abrazando con gran ternura mi cruz (como la presente  con muchas necesidades que no se resuelven, como el de comenzar un nuevo trabajo el cual ni tengo todavía, asuntos financieros y la muerte que toca la puerta a mi compañero), y todo ofrecido como un acto de sacrificio a mi Dios. Pero lo más importante para  poder recibir la Presencia del Niño Jesús mismo, no debo tener voluntad propia, o mejor dicho, hacer mi voluntad la Suya. Debo confiar en Su amor para mí como nunca antes porque Él fue fiel para los pastores, los Reyes paganos del Oriente, y a dos personas santas, Simeón y Ana, y todo dentro del transcurso de solo 40 días de haberse hecho presente en esta tierra…!!!

Cuando yo era una niña en Latinoamérica, cada dos de febrero, la fiesta de la Presentación del Niño en el Templo a su tierna edad de 40 días, era siempre muy celebrada. No teníamos entonces árboles de Navidad. Sólo teníamos portales o escenas de la natividad las cuales no quitábamos hasta que le rezáramos un Rosario al Niño Jesús en esta fecha. Así que crecí con un gran amor por esta celebración. Desde este nuevo año del 2001 tendré un mayor conocimiento del significado de esta fiesta cuando el Nino Jesús se convirtió en regalo para sus fieles siervos. Debo agregar que por razones que nunca entendí ni entiendo, yo presenté a cada hijo mío al Templo. Yo hice mi propia tradición que después de llegar del hospital con cada uno de los cuatro varones, el bebé no podía salir de la casa por ninguna razón antes de primero llevarlo a la iglesia a ser presentado y consagrado al Señor. Mucho antes de su propio Bautismo, los llevé a visitar a Jesús Eucarístico y se los entregué a Él. Tuve la gracia de no romper esta regla, aunque que yo sepa no es una tradición Latinoamericana.

Esta epifanía me llevo de nuevo  al libro clásico  “The Reed of God” (no sé si tiene título en español), escrito  por una inglesa Caryll Houselander. Ella desarrolla el tema del Niño Jesús que nuestras almas han perdido. Hacia el final del libro hay un capítulo que habla de la búsqueda de ese Niño. Sus padres lo perdieron por tres días cuando Él solo tenía 12 años. Yo personalmente creo que este evento fue parte de la voluntad de Dios para nosotros reflexionar hoy y discutir nuestra propia pérdida del Niño Jesús dentro de nosotros. Sabemos que somos un Templo y que Él está ahí pero vivimos sin prestarle atención y sin reconocer a nuestro huésped.  Podemos perderlo en muchas formas. Podemos rechazar nuestra vocación a ser santos, o podemos comenzar a erigir ídolos en nuestra vida (poder, dinero) que nos distraen y nos hacen perder la Presencia del Divino Niño dentro de nosotros.

Houselander escribe: “En lugar de ello nos inventamos Cristos imaginarios, y estos pueden ser lo que nosotros queramos que Él sea. Nuestra razón (de cómo queremos que Él sea) está siempre o casi siempre, formada por nuestras propias necesidades y miedos y limitaciones, y no provienen de una contemplación objetiva. Cristo vive en nosotros pero nosotros no lo conocemos. Nos formamos una concepción errónea de Él, un ego-proyección de Cristo, un Cristo imaginario que pueda caber dentro de nuestra intolerante limitación, y que no pueda destruir nuestra complacencia. A este Cristo imaginario le traemos este celo furioso, una fuerza que nace de nuestra convicción de que estamos sirviendo a Cristo, cuando al menos estamos sirviéndonos parcialmente a nosotros mismos. Y esto explica todas las cosas terribles que hacemos de buena fe, pero creyendo que estamos sirviendo a Dios… Para ponerlo más claro, estamos construyendo ídolos.”

Houselander se pregunta, “¿Y dónde podemos encontrarlo? En todas partes – en todo mundo. ¿Cómo lo podemos encontrar? Con fe y valor y un amor sin límites.

“Actos de fe en la presencia de Cristo dentro de nosotros es el primer ejercicio activo en esta contemplación (Di) – Mi Señor, yo creo que estás dentro de mí.”

“El Cristo, nuestro Señor, está dentro de nosotros; no hay espacio para ninguna otra verdad; todo lo que vemos y tocamos y saboreamos y pasamos debe estar relacionado con este hecho.”

“Podemos copiar a Su Madre y cubrirlo con nuestros pensamientos, poniéndoselos sobre Él como si fueran vestidos: un pequeño pedazo de lino blanco y una pequeño abrigo color rosa… Porque Él vive en esta pequeña casa de nuestro ser, aprenderemos a controlar nuestras mentes, a recoger nuestros pensamientos en silencio, y a coronarlos con paz, lo mismo que aprendemos a controlar nuestras voces y a movernos lentamenrte, cuando un niño duerme en la casa hecha de ladrillo y cemento.”

“El próximo acto es de fe en Cristo cuando lo vemos en otras gentes… Recientemente, en una casa de apartamentos, un portero frágil cayó muerto. Todos estuvieron de acuerdo que las maletas tan pesadas y que él tenía el hábito de cargarles a los inquilinos, había sido mucho para él, aunque esto se encontró sólo en su autopsia. A nadie se le había ocurrido que en este pequeño hombre, se había vivido una escena de la Pasión. Había caído bajo el peso de la cruz. Este viejo hombre cuyo amor por su prójimo lo hacía ayudarlo, había confesado que a todo al que él conocía, antes de saludarlo, el saludaba secretamente a Cristo dentro del otro.”

“A través de María de Nazaret, Cristo nace en el corazón de cada uno de nosotros. Santificado sea el fruto de tu vientre Jesús, los niños lo repiten pero no entienden lo que dicen. Pero cuando envejecen con la oración del Ángel en sus corazones, comienzan a comprender que este fruto es la vida de Cristo nacida de nuevo en el mundo, siempre, en todas partes.”  (Final de citas del libro de Houselander)

Pude entender súbitamente que ser un servidor es cuando recibimos la gracia de convertirnos en regalo para otros al traerles a ellos al Niño Cristo Jesús, y que presupone un constante sí a la voluntad de Dios para cada presente momento. Por eso, servidumbre implica obediencia. La gracia para hacerlo es abundante, pero todo depende de mi deseo de consentir, de darme yo misma permiso a decir que sí a todo a lo que se me llama a hacer, sentir, sufrir. Ahora tengo dos palabra que quiero escoger como moto de mi vida: amor y sí… El uno se convierte en el otro ya que uno (mi sí) encarna el otro (amor) como pasó en la vida de la Virgen María. No importa cómo vea estas dos palabras, pero son una y la misma. Marta simboliza la servidora, el sí, y María escogió amar y contemplar, pero ambas son dos partes de mi alma y que deben ser constantemente formuladas y practicadas en estos últimos años de vida en esta tierra.

Si tuviera que contestar cual es mi llamado en esta vida, tendría que decir esto: amar es mi vocación pero mi sí sin condiciones, es  mi llamado. Este sí a la voluntad de Dios es la antorcha de mi vida de sierva, y ambas son los vehículos que me permitirán cumplir con mi vocación de amar. Todos tres son inseparables (mi sí, mi amor y mi trabajo como sierva) y fueron creados por la misericordia de Dios para salvarme a mí y al mundo entero. Finalmente pude entender que mi vida tiene que ser vivida en un perpetuo Adviento, pues es sólo en mi estado de constante servidumbre como se define en la Biblia, lo que me prepara perennemente a recibir la visita del Nino Jesús, de manera de poder ser consagrada, como el Bautista lo fue en el vientre de su madre, y así poder ser una voz que grita en el desierto, proclamando el bautismo de arrepentimiento y haciendo cada camino curvo, en uno recto, a medida que esperamos ansiosamente Su llegada. Por lo tanto, Navidad debe ser un evento diario en mi vida…!

Y entonces los invito a imitar a los Reyes Magos y a traerle muchos regalos a vuestro Niño Jesús interior, pero el de más valor será el de vuestro propia voluntad para poder convertirse en un sola voluntad, la del Niño Dios.

Por favor oren por mí para crecer en vivir esta nueva vida de constante alabanza y adoración a la Trinidad interna y para el Cristo que vive en aquellos con los cuales pasaré muchas horas en un nuevo trabajo. Me doy cuenta de la Presencia de Dios interna pero no segundo a segundo. Es mi deseo poder entregarme totalmente a esta contemplación para la mayor gloria de Dios Padre, del Niño Jesús y a través del poder del Espíritu Santo. Casi no puedo esperar a recibir esta gracia. Que tengan un gran año 2001. (Final de comunicación a mis amigos)

Aquí termina esta epifanía recibida en enero del 2001, después de pasar casi todo el año 2000 sin trabajar y por lo tanto, orando muchas horas ya que era el Año Santo, lleno de indulgencias plenarias…! Pero quiero cerrar estas reflexiones antes de que llegue el nuevo año 2009 y dejarlos con algo práctico para comenzar a vivir sólo con Dios, con Cristo dentro de nosotros.  Si usted es un cristiano de cualquier denominación, Católico Romano o no, por favor responda a estas preguntas que aparecen en un canto llamado “The Summons” (citación, convocación). Este canto no  creo que se conozca en Latinoamérica. Y como leerán en las palabras de este canto, yo los convoco a decir que sí al Maestro en una nueva forma, en una forma más profunda en el 2009. Feliz Año Nuevo.

El próximo blog aparecerá la próxima semanaRecuerden que comenzamos a orar juntos el primero de enero.

La Convocación

¿Quisieras seguirme si te llamo por nombre?

¿Irías adonde no conoces y  así nunca ser el mismo/a?

¿Mostrarías Mi Amor; darías a conocer Mi Nombre?

¿Permitirías que Mi Vida crezca en ti y tú en Mí?

 

¿Dejarías todo atrás si Yo llamo tu nombre?

¿Aceptarías lo cruel y la bondad y nunca ser el mismo/a?

¿Te arriesgarías a la mirada hostil? ¿Podría tu vida atraer o dar miedo?

¿Me permitirías que Yo te conteste la oración en ti y tu and Mí?

 

¿Le permitirías ver a los ciegos si Yo llamo tu nombre?

¿Libertarías a los prisioneros y nunca ser el mismo/a?

¿Besarías a un leproso hasta sanarlo y hacer otras cosas similares?

¿Y admitirías lo que Yo significo en ti y tú en Mí?

 

¿Amarías a tu “yo” que escondes si te llamo por tu nombre?

¿Terminarías con tus miedos internos y nunca ser el mismo/a?

¿Usarías la fe que has encontrado para reformar el mundo

A través de Mi mirada y toque y sonido en ti y tú en Mí?

 

(Mi pregunta para el lector: ¿Contestarías lo siguiente?)

 

Señor, tu llamado me conmueve cuando me llamas por mi nombre.

Déjame dar vuelta y seguirte y nunca ser el mismo/a.

En Tu compañía iré adonde Tu amor y Tus huellas me lleven.

Esto es, me moveré y viviré y creceré en Ti y Tú en mí.

 

John L Bell, 1949. C. Iona Community, GIA Publications, Inc.


