Mercy and the New Year

As we approach a new year I want to digress from the long topic of how I have worked on discipleship in my life and try to make a deal with some of you. There are only about 40 people to whom I have given the address of this blog, and of course, I gave you permission to give it to whomever else as long as the Holy Spirit was into this decision. But, words need to be put into action… Just narrating my experience with the mercy of God will stay as just stories… We are the Body of Christ, and therefore we should become one in our prayers. We can pray for each other and for others, and the plan is juicy, but I want you who are reading this message to pray about this idea of communal prayer. As of January 1 we could become an army of prayerful believers. There is a catch, though… We have to pray for ourselves to live a life that hears the Word of God and acts on it, so that our common prayer may have power.

This is my argument: So far I have shared several aspects of His Word regarding how to become a disciple and more is coming. Today I felt drawn to a particular page in the Bible and it was Mark 10 and verse 15 says, “Amen I say to you, whoever does not accept the Kingdom of God like a child will not enter it.” And how can we become and trust like children? He answers in the same chapter that for God nothing is impossible. However, we have to ask… for His mercy to transform us. In the mean time, just trying to fulfill our call to be His disciples can truly draw His mercy to change us, and if we pray for each other, well, the sky is the limit in blessings to be received. We know that we are living in a time of extreme moral and spiritual decadence with many threats for our own safety any place in the world. So, why not get this army to pray for all maladies by name, and ask for His mercy to help us.

But first, let me review how the theme of God’s mercy came to me, especially for my Protestant friends who read this blog and have encouraged me to keep it up!  Saint Faustina Kowalska was a nun in Poland who conversed with God just like Abraham did. Jesus used her to bring attention to His mercy and she wrote a diary in obedience to her spiritual directors. She had a third grade education and died at age 33 (1905-1938) from tuberculosis. She lived almost in the years of Pope John Paul II. He was born in 1920. Jesus asked her to have an artist paint His picture with two rays coming out of His Heart, one pale like water and one red like blood.

As you remember in John 19: 34, after He was dead on the cross, the Roman soldiers did not have to break His legs as it was the custom for those crucified in order to accelerate their death. They only pierced His side and blood and water came out… Jesus revealed to St. Faustina that this Blood and Water represented His mercy being poured out over us since He had just paid with His life for all our infidelities. He taught her a prayer that says, “O blood and water which gushed from the side of Jesus as a fountain of mercy for us, I trust in you.”

He also taught St. Faustina how to ask for His mercy especially for Poland in those days prior to World War II, and promised her that by saying this prayer now known as the Chaplet of Divine Mercy, His mercy would protect the whole world. This can be found in entries 475-477 of her Diary, easy to get from any Catholic book store.  In 1934 He told her (entry 83), “Before I come as the just Judge, I will come as the King of Mercy,” may be hinting His last coming. So, it makes sense if we get united and pray for each other and the whole world with these words of the chaplet. In later blogs I will give the details of the actual wording for this prayer for those who do not know it.

I can attest to major miracles I have seen through my daily prayer using this chaplet for my family and for many different groups of individuals worldwide. For example, about two years ago, Mr. Ahmadinejad had promised to submit some British sailors to a trial because apparently they had navigated in Iranian waters, and we all presumed that execution could be the result of the trial. That day I spent in my parish several hours in front of the Eucharistic Lord asking for His mercy for this man and the sailors and begging the Lord to give me love for him. Prayer without loving is devoid of power. And yes, I finally saw him as a human created in the image of God and loved him for being a unique human being loved by God no matter what. Early next day, he appeared smiling saying that he was releasing the sailors and no one ever in the media has come up with the reason why.

But it was yesterday (so late in my life, ouch) that I finally understood a major act of mercy of my God for me. My grandmother, a prayerful woman, had devotion to the Divine Mercy when I was a little child. She was 38 years old when I was born and took care of me as a second mother. I still have the picture she had of the Divine Mercy Jesus as painted in Poland per orders of St. Faustina, showing in the back the prayers of the chaplet in Spanish and copyrighted by the Order of Priests, Marians of the Immaculate Conception from Massachusetts, who brought the devotion to the U.S. from Poland in the early 1940’s. The printing of the image had been done in Dearborn, MI.

I then finally realized that my grandma was praying it since I even know to this date the last words in Spanish said at the end of the chaplet… God’s mercy was around me in a special way. To begin with, I remember well when at ages 4-5, I would tell everybody that I wanted to be a doctor and a secretary. I never had any doubts since… Then I fell in love with Jesus in the Eucharist at age 6.5 and knew He was there in the Host although I could not see Him, and I never even remember my grandma telling me so. I presume that it was a merciful act of God in my soul. I fought and “demanded” to become a boarder in this brand new elementary school where He was exposed for adoration 24/7 (for my Protestant brothers, the Host is displayed as opposed to be inside the Tabernacle).

My desire to be near Him, to sleep near Him (my bed turned out to be almost yards from Him in the chapel)  was beyond comprehension and I still remember it all in my first grade!!!… This love affair has never ended. Even more, I have a niche waiting for my ashes in my home country within the Temple of the Sacred Heart and just a few feet from the Tabernacle which houses Him… My body should be close to Him even after my death. But not only I fell in love with Him to the present day, but He provided in strange ways. At age 10 I felt I had to attend a business school in the evenings in order to become a secretary, while also was attending regular school for my fourth grade (by now not a boarder any more – too expensive) and my grandma again was the helper. Two years later, I graduated as a secretary after studying typing, commercial redaction and short hand while also completing my fifth grade! This serves me now since I can type very fast.

When I was age 16, the American Field Service from New York chose my country with four other Latin American countries to give a scholarship to two high school students, one boy and one girl for each country. Originally I was not chosen but a few months later, the girl who was coming was asked by the American Embassy which helped with the project, to give up the chance and instead, the scholarship was given to me!!!! I became an exchange student in southern California for a year and learned my second language and graduated from high school year. We never knew why the switch!

But it was not enough… I became a physician in another Latin country and paid only $90 for tuition for the seven years. It is a long story but if I kept a high GPA, I was exonerated from paying tuition… even that I was not a national! The school of medicine was majestic and when I came to this U.S. I had no problem whatsoever with my training in anesthesiology and ended up practicing at the level of the University of Michigan and the Cleveland Clinic.  If this were not His mercy, I could not explain it in any other form. St. Faustina narrates in her diary of similar miracles. One time they needed rain in Krakow and she prayed for 3 hours for mercy for this city, and it started raining.

Just imagine if we form this army and pray for His mercy for each other and for this world! If any of you want to form part of it, you must understand that we have to pray daily as we try our best to become disciples, knowing well that our desire to apply ourselves is all He wants. He does the rest. There will be more details later this month about the list of peoples and themes that we can pray for, and you should have your personal list of needs ready, always understanding that prayers to get rid of crosses are not recommended…

We need to pray for our churches, for our unity as Christians as He prayed in John 17, for our priests and pastors of all denominations, and especially for our U.S.A or our respective countries, its government officials and all our enemies, and for us to love all as creations of God. You do not have to let me know. It will be between you and the Holy Ghost. But I guarantee you results!!! And if you do not believe in prayer or in the power of His mercy, try it asking for resolution of personal problems! Nobody has to know! You may be surprised…

And just to give you more hope in this enterprise of prayer, recently I had shared how once I spent 17 hours adoring Jesus in the Eucharist. Did it sound like bragging? Well, nah! He needs our prayers for the world and when I did this marathon, a fire within me led me to do it! I did not know it would be 17 hours. I was used to 5-10 hours here and there when needed for very major problems, especially for world needs. But in order to be a disciple I need to follow Jesus and the Bible says that in one occasion He prayed all night before he chose His 12 apostles… Is that a hint? You bet! Therefore, just 10 minutes saying this chaplet asking for His mercy or during the day asking for mercy like the Publican in the temple, is not too much to ask! And I had shared this long 17 hours marathon because it was a way to point to His own example, and how He calls us to do so without any warning…The next Bible verses speak of His mercy for the Israelites and it should be the same for us.

Moses song: “In Your mercy you led the people you redeemed; in Your strength You guided them to the holy dwelling.” Ex. 15:13

 “For the Lord, your God, is a jealous God, inflicting punishment for their fathers’ wickedness on the children of those who hate Me, down to the fourth generation, but bestowing mercy down to the thousandth generation on the children of those who love Me and keep My commandments.” Exodus 20: 5-6

Next  time I will continue writing about what I have experienced regarding our crosses.

SPANISH

Misericordia y el nuevo año

Ahora que nos acercamos al año nuevo, quiero apartar por el momento el extenso tópico de cómo he venido aprendiendo a ser discípula de Jesús para hacer un trato con ustedes. Sólo son unas 40 personas a las que le he dado la dirección electrónica de este blog, y claro, les he dado permiso de pasarlo a otros siempre y cuando la decisión la hagan con el Espíritu Santo. Pero las palabras necesitan ser puestas en acción… Solamente narrar mi experiencia con la misericordia de Dios permanecerá tan solo como historias y nada más…. Nosotros somos el Cuerpo de Cristo, y por lo tanto, estamos llamados a ser uno en oración. Podemos orar unos por otros y también por los demás, y el plan es jugoso, pero quiero que tú que está leyendo esto, ores al respecto si quieres ser parte de esta idea de oración comunitaria. Para el primero de enero podríamos convertirnos en una armada de creyentes orantes. Pero hay una estipulación… Debemos orar por nosotros mismos  para vivir una vida en que oímos la Palabra de Dios y la ponemos en acción, para que nuestra oración en común tenga poder. 

Este es mi argumento: hasta el momento he compartido aspectos de Su Palabra que tienen que ver en cómo ser discípulo Suyo. Hoy fui llamada a leer una página en la biblia, Marcos 10 y el versículo 15 dice, “Amén, Yo les digo que quien no acepte el Reino de Dios como un niño no podrá entrar en él.” ¿Y cómo podremos confiar y ser como un niño? Él responde en el mismo capítulo que “para Dios nada es imposible.” Sin embargo, debemos pedir Su misericordia para que nos transforme. Entre tanto, el solo tratar de cumplir con el llamado a ser discípulos puede extraer Su misericordia para cambiarnos, y si oramos unos por los otros, bueno, no hay límite para las bendiciones que podremos recibir. Sabemos que estamos viviendo tiempos de decadencia moral y espiritual extremas con grandes amenazas contra nuestra propia seguridad en todas partes del mundo. ¿Entonces, por qué no ser parte de esta armada para orar por todas estos problemas por nombre, y pedir Su misericordia para remediarlos?

Pero primero, permítanme revisar cómo el tema de la misericordia de Dios llegó a mi vida, especialmente para mis hermanos protestantes quienes sé que leen este blog y quienes me han animado a seguir escribiéndolo! Santa Faustina Kowalska fue una monja polaca que conversaba con Dio como lo hacía Abrahán. Jesús la usó para que le prestáramos atención a Su misericordia, y ella escribió un diario en obediencia a sus directores espirituales. Ella tuvo una educación de sólo tercer grado y murió de 33 años afectada con tuberculosis (1905-1938). Vivió casi al mismo tiempo que el Papa Juan Pablo II. Éste nació en 1920.  Jesús le pidió que contratara a un artista para pintar Su imagen con dos rayos saliendo de Su Corazón, uno pálido como el agua, y el otro rojo como sangre.

Como ustedes deben recordar en Juan 19:34, después de Jesús morir en la cruz, los soldados romanos no le quebraron sus piernas como era la costumbre para los crucificados y así acelerar su muerte. Ellos sólo le entraron una lanza en su pecho y sangre y agua salieron de Jesús. Él le reveló a Sta. Faustina que esta Sangre y Agua representaban Su misericordia que se derramaba sobre nosotros una vez que Él había pagado con Su vida por todas nuestras infidelidades. Le dictó esta oración que dice: “O Sangre y Agua que brotó del costado de Jesús como fuente de misericordia para nosotros, yo confió en ti.”

También le enseñó a Sta. Faustina cómo pedir por Su misericordia especialmente por Polonia in aquellos días poco antes del inicio de la segunda guerra mundial, y le prometió que diciendo la oración que ahora se conoce como la coronilla de la Divina Misericordia, Su misericordia protegería al mundo entero. Esto puede leerse en las anotaciones 475-477 de su diario. En 1934, Jesús le dijo (anotación 83), “Antes de que venga como el Juez justo, vendré como el Rey de Misericordia” y probablemente aludiendo  a su última venida a esta tierra. De manera que tiene sentido unirnos en oración unos por los otros y por el mundo entero con estas palabras de la coronilla. En ” blogs” posteriores daré los detalles de cómo rezar esta coronilla para los que no la saben.

Yo puedo testiguar de muchos milagros que he visto a través de mi oración diaria usando la coronilla por mi familia y por muchos otros grupos de individuos en el mundo entero. Por ejemplo, hace como dos años, el señor Ahmadinejad (Presidente de Irán) había prometido someter a unos marinos británicos a un juicio porque aparentemente los había encontrado navegando en aguas iranesas, y todos presumimos que el juicio los condenaría a una ejecución. Ese día yo pasé varias horas en mi parroquia a los pies de mi Señor Eucarístico pidiéndole por Su misericordia para este hombre y para los marinos, y rogándole que me diera amor por este presidente. La oración sin amor carece de poder. Y sí, finalmente pude verlo como un humano creado en la imagen de Dios y pude amarlo por ser un ser único y amado por Dios sin importarle su pecado. Temprano al día siguiente, Ahmadinejad apareció sonriendo para decir que dejaba libres a los marinos,  y nadie en los medios de comunicación ha podido explicar el por qué fueron puesto en libertad…

Pero fue hasta ayer (tan tarde en mi vida, auch) que finalmente entendí el acto de misericordia de Dios más grande en mi vida. Mi abuela, una mujer muy religiosa, tenía devoción a la Divina Misericordia cuando yo era pequeña. Ella tenía 38 años cuando yo nací y me cuidó como una segunda madre. Yo todavía preservo la imagen que ella tenia de Jesús de la Divina Misericordia como fue pintado en Polonia por órdenes de Santa Faustina, mostrando en la parte de atrás cómo rezar la coronilla en español y publicada por la Orden de sacerdotes Marianos de la Inmaculada Concepción con sede en Massachusetts, quienes fueron los que trajeron la devoción desde Polonia a los Estado Unidos en los años 40. La imagen fue impresa en Dearborn, Michigan.

Finalmente me di cuenta que mi abuela esta orando la coronilla y hasta yo me acuerdo todavía de las últimas palabras que terminan la coronilla y que debí aprenderlas de ella. La misericordia de Dios estuvo alrededor mío cuando era niña en una manera muy especial. Para comenzar, me recuerdo que los 4 o 5 años, yo le decía a todo el mundo que quería ser médico y secretaria. Nunca tuve dudas desde entonces. Luego me enamoré de Jesús en la Eucaristía a los 6 y medio años y sabía que Él estaba presente en la Hostia aunque no lo veía, y tampoco recuerdo a mi abuelita explicándome esto. Presumo que fue un acto misericordioso de Dios en mi alma. Entonces peleé y “demandé” ir como estudiante interna a una escuela primaria nueva adonde Jesús estaba expuesto día y noche.

Mi deseo de estar cerca de Él, de dormir cerca de Él (mi cama terminó estando muy cerca y unas cuantas yardas de Jesús en la capilla) no tenía casi ni sentido a mi edad, y todavía me recuerdo  muy bien todo este episodio al comenzar mi primer grado. Este amor no ha cesado. Aún más, tengo listo un nicho que espera por mis cenizas en mi país de origen dentro del Templo del Sagrado Corazón y a unos pocos pies del Tabernáculo adonde Él reside. Mi cuerpo yacerá muy próximo a Él aun después de muerta. Pero no sólo me enamoré de Jesús hasta el día de hoy, pero Él ha proveído en formas extrañas. A los 10 años sentí un llamado a asistir a una escuela comercial nocturna, mientras cursaba mi cuarto grado en el día (para entonces ya no era interna por ser muy caro el vivir en este colegio)  y mi abuelita lo propició. Dos años más tarde me gradué de secretaria después de haber estudiado mecanografía, redacción comercial y taquigrafía mientras completaba el quinto grado de primaria. Todo esto me preparó para este momento ya que puedo escribir con mucha velocidad.

Cuando tenía 16 años, un grupo llamado American Field Service de Nueva York, escogió a mi país con otros 4 países latinoamericanos para dar una beca de intercambió a dos estudiantes por país, varón y hembra. Yo no fui originalmente escogida para ganar la beca, pero unos meses después la compañera escogida a venir fue llamada por la embajada americana que ayudó en el proceso,  y se le dijo que no recibiría la beca. Poco después se me fue dada a mí y pasé un año en el sur de California aprendiendo mi segundo idioma y graduándome de escuela secundaria. Nunca supimos el por qué del cambio!!!

Pero esto no fue suficiente… Me gradué de médico en otro país latinoamericano y pagué solamente $90 por la educación de 7 años. Es una historia larga pero si mantenía un alto índice académico no tenía que pagar… aun que no era ciudadana de este país! La escuela de medicina fue majestuosa ya que vine a los Estados Unidos y nunca tuve problemas con mi adiestramiento en anestesiología y hasta llegué a practicar en altos centros de salud como la Universidad de Michigan y la Cleveland Clinic. Sólo con su misericordia podría yo explicar todos estos hechos… Sta. Faustina también narra milagros similares en su diario. Una vez se necesitaba lluvia en Cracovia y ella oró por 3 horas por misericordia para esta ciudad, y comenzó a llover!

¡Imagínense si formamos esta armada y oramos por Su misericordia para cada uno de nosotros y por este mundo! Si alguno quiere ser parte de este plan, deben entender que debemos orar todos los días a medida que practicamos nuestro discipulado, entendiendo bien que nuestro deseo y aplicación es todo lo que se requiere. Él hace el resto. Daré más detalles al final de mes acerca de la lista de personas y temas por los que podemos orar, y ustedes deben tener hecha su lista personal de necesidades, recordando que las oraciones que piden deshacerse de las cruces no son recomendables…

Necesitamos orar por nuestras iglesias, por la unidad de todos los cristianos así como Jesús  lo hizo en Juan 17:13; por nuestros sacerdotes y pastores de todas las denominaciones, y especialmente por los Estados Unidos o países respectivos, sus oficiales de gobierno, y por todos nuestros enemigos, y por nosotros para amar a todo mundo como creaciones de Dios. No me tienen que dar una respuesta. Será entre ustedes y el Espíritu Santo. Pero yo garantizo los resultados!!! Y si no creen en el poder de la oración o en el poder de Su misericordia, pidan por soluciones a necesidades personales. Nadie tiene que saberlo! Se sorprenderán con las respuestas!

Y para darles más esperanza en este trabajo de oración, reciénteme compartí como había pasado 17 horas continuas a los pies de Jesús Eucarístico. ¿Les pareció una fanfarronada de mi parte? Bueno, no fue así. Él necesita oraciones por el mundo y cuando hice este maratón de oraciones, un fuego interno me consumió. Yo no sabía que iba a ser 17 horas. Estoy acostumbrada a 5 – 10 horas de vez en cuando y si es necesario orar por eventos globales de urgencia. Pero para ser discípula tengo que seguir a Jesús (hacer lo que Él hizo) y la biblia dice que en una ocasión Él oró toda la noche antes de escoger a los 12 apóstoles… ¿Es eso una señal para nosotros? Claro que sí… Entonces 10 minutos pasados diciendo la coronilla y pidiendo durante el día como lo hizo el publicano en el templo, “Señor ten misericordia de mí un pecador”, no es pedir mucho. Yo compartí la historia de este maratón de 17 horas para poder referirme a su propio ejemplo que nos dejó y cómo a veces Él nos llama a hacerlo y de pronto. Los siguientes versos bíblicos hablan de Su misericordia para los Israelitas y debe ser lo mismo para nosotros.

El canto de Moises: “En Tu misericordia Tu dirigiste a la gente que redimiste; con Tu fuerza los guiaste a la casa santa”. Éxodo 15:13-

“Porque el Señor, tu Dios, es un Dios celoso, que inflige castigo hasta la cuarta generación a los hijos por la maldad de sus padres que Me odian, pero derramando misericordia hasta la milésima generación en los hijos de aquellos que Me aman y guardan Mis mandamientos”. Éxodo 20: 5-6.

Para el próximo blog, seguiré escribiendo lo que entiendo de nuestras cruces…

 

 


