More on my crosses

More on my crosses

To pick up from where I left, the topic is how to become a disciple according to Jesus’ instructions and how I tried to live this call through the years, learning many angles of the subject matter mostly from His own life, His own Mother who gives us a few hints in the  Bible, and from many Saints. As the readings of Scripture for the Masses of the last few days show an emphasis on being “watchful,” I realized that the following message brought by the Holy Spirit with big force, will truly point out the need of being alert. I have been able to reflect through the years and have found out that many sources of my crosses originate with me, like the past two already discussed in page 1. That is the saddest part of all because although God allows some of them, but for me to create my own is something to ponder on and ask for His mercy to be able to be alert, to spot them and to have the grace to reject them.

So, the third most common source of crosses in my life is my pride. And it is not what you may think. For several years, and as shared in the community of different parishes, I felt that a few people would be upset with my “so called” pride for what I knew in my running the race as best as I could. I have been openly persecuted for this and in psychological terms it is easy to understand. My interest in God may have looked too strong and challenged at an unconscious level those people to do the same … even without I trying to target anybody per se. And why do I mention it? Simply because it would be a very plausible behavior on my part as well, and to be alert for it. I also mention it because it was a grace that I received of not being proud of all graces received after I encountered Christ as a child, and I want to mention it just to underline His mercy and give Him glory. It also reveals an example of how He takes away some weeds ahead of time, which may make us stumble in our race towards our Daddy’s home and which may make others stumble as well.

Yet, I have experienced other forms of pride that became crosses… There are things that are clearly the will of God but my pride is so mischievous that I reason myself out and lock myself from doing certain things (like trying to stop writing this blog), all happening in a subtle way at some unconscious level. It is a sin of my flesh very hard to resist because it looks so reasonable, so realistic, and ends up taking me back from doing things I should do for the Kingdom, or may send me to do things that I am not able to accomplish because it is not God’s will for me. It is a form of persecution that I do to myself, and it also denies God the opportunity to do the miraculous because I simply refuse to do the ridiculous.

I have always felt that servanthood is one of the greatest themes in the Word of God. Jesus came to serve. Pride ends up providing some fear, some spiritual paralysis and it is the hardest to resist since it so reasonable and yet, interferes with my work as a servant of the Lord. My pride source may come from human respect, fear of losing friendships or a job, not willing to throw away my future plans and/or making me look like a dodo. The problem in all of this is that I hardly recognize my pride because my “reason” prevails even that the premise is wrong. Again, it shows how I love myself too much to risk forms of behavior that may ruin my reputation, my popularity, or fail to do what others expect of me.

It is important to remember that little children, except for their basic needs to meet hunger, cold, sleep, they have no major other problems that need denial of themselves, and most importantly, they have zero pride… They are soooo free. As I move away from being a little child, my crosses increase as my pride develops further (thanks to original sin as well), and asking daily for His mercy it is a must in order to be able to manage my own human frailties. Therefore, not one day should pass without I saying from the heart, “Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.” The worse of pride is that it is very subtle. But in my little experience in running this race, discouragement should never be part of recognizing our sins. Jesus was emphatic about not being afraid or discouraged… He did it all for us. In the Bible we have this great story that clearly expresses how He is always around winning our battles as in the Old Testament was clearly predicted (Exodus 14:14). Here is the story:

John 21 describes how seven disciples including Peter decided to go fishing. They had seen Jesus twice before after His resurrection and before ascending, and one time coming back in order for Thomas to examine His wounds and believe. They caught nothing during the night and came ashore. Some 100 yards from shore they saw a man who asked them if they had caught any fish, but they failed to recognize Jesus. Upon saying no, He sent them to throw the net in the right side of the boat and again  this is shallow water, and they obeyed this stranger with this ridiculous idea and could not hauled it back into the boat because it had 53 large fish. Then they recognized Him and even ate the breakfast He had ready for them: fish and bread.

Hints:

1. How many times we go through to life not recognizing our Jesus in the poor, in the needy, in our persecutors? Something good to reflect for this Advent season.

2. If the apostles had not done the ridiculous as asked by a stranger, that is to throw the net in the wrong side of the boat and in shallow water, they would not have had this huge miracle where even fish were summoned to be there against all odds.

3. Jesus would have done enough by providing the fish, but He showed His tenderness like a mom for the baby in her womb, and anticipated their need for food since they had been fishing all night. He cooked for them. Wow! What a love!

4. God always have reasons to ask us to do things, even if those look simply ridiculous. The flesh, the world and Satan will convince us to use our reason and we are terribly happy to do so in order to be looked up as “normal” human beings, not crazy ones. May I tell you that I found out that as I found myself being called to do ridiculous things,  with great effort and begging for His mercy to take over my decisions as I obeyed, I did find so many miracles and my peace, joy, and trust (faith without fear) catapulted to mountain tops in intimacy with God. Letting go of our own reasoning but under the umbrella of His Divine Mercy, is a way to grow in trust, which in turn produces more of His mercy and our pride becomes less and less, but it is not stagnant. In the next blog I will talk about another cross but that the world makes for us.

As an example of His tenderness in my life, because I moved to a State where I do not have a license to practice medicine and I do not have doctors taking care of me since I remember (unless I may need one for surgery or other major acute malady), I order my prescription drugs to a far away pharmacy using the license I still possess in another State.  I ran out of Zovirax, a medication for viral infections and that I needed. Since I cannot go to the nearest drugstore to buy it I had to order it and wait some 4 days to arrive. Shortly after I placed the order by phone, I found 2 capsules of this drug on the floor, even that I had not opened any medication container from which to fall from, and knowing that I was totally out for weeks.  These were like the fish the disciples caught. He wanted to be sure I know He is around and in charge of all my battles… And needless to say, I am more in love with Him now than I was before this gift of His love. With the psalmist I have to yell to everybody out there and also with Mary Magdalene say: He is good and His mercy endures forever! He is alive; come and see.”

Naturopathic medicine note: this time I will only remind you that when I give ideas for books to read, they are secular books. The book “You, Staying Young” my have chapters that are written by physicians to begin with, and we do not see parts of the body with special attention to their function, but only as parts that need some fixing, and sexual related organs have no meaning for us at a professional level but we just think of the anatomy in general like any other part. So, some chapters may be X-rated for the general public, but please, those who do not need to read them for there is not use to them, pray for guidance from the Holy Spirit to do so or not.

SPANISH

Más sobre mis cruces

Para continuar adonde dejé el tema anterior, el tópico es cómo hacernos discípulos de acuerdo a las instrucciones que Jesús nos dejó y cómo yo he tratado de vivirlas , aprendiendo muchos ángulos de esta  material, a través mayormente de Su propia vida, la de Su Madre, quien nos da unas cuantas sugerencias en las Escrituras y de muchos de los santos. Ya que las lecturas de las Misas de los últimos días enfatizan la necesidad de vigilancia, me di cuenta que el tema de este mensaje que el Espíritu Santo trajo a mi mente con mucha fuerza, también enfatiza la necesidad de estar alerta. Pude reflexionar cómo a través de los años encontré muchas fuentes de mis cruces que se originaron en mí misma, y como las dos cruces discutidas en los mensajes anteriores (página 1), o sea, mi dificultad de auto-negación y mi resistencia a aceptarlas. Esto es lo más triste porque Dios nos manda algunas de nuestras cruces, pero cuando yo los manufacturo es importante pensar en eso y pedirle Su misericordia para estar alerta, identificarlas and y pedir por la gracia de rechazarlas.

Entonces, la tercera fuente más común de mis cruces es el orgullo. Y no es lo que pueden imaginarse. Por algunos años, y a medida que participé en la comunidad de las diferentes parroquias, entendí que algunas pocas personas se enojaban con mi so “llamado” orgullo por lo que conocía en mi caminar espiritual. He recibido amplia persecución por eso y en términos sicológicos es fácil de entender. Mi interés en las cosas de Dios parecía muy poderoso y desafiaba a un nivel inconsciente, a que otros hicieran lo mismo… aunque yo no tuviera ningún interés en hacerlos sentir mal. ¿Y por qué menciono esto? Simplemente porque es también una conducta posible en mí misma hacia otros and para estar alerta. También lo menciono porque fue una gracia que recibí cuando tuve mi primer encuentro con Cristo en mi niñez, y lo quiero hacer para subrayar Su misericordia y darle así gloria. También muestra cómo Él remueve tempranamente algunas  cizañas, las cuales pueden hacernos tropezar en nuestra carrera hacia la casa de nuestro Papito y hacer tropezar a otros con nuestro orgullo.

Sin embargo, yo he vivido otras formas de orgullo que se tornaron en cruces. Hay cosas que son claramente la voluntad de Dios pero mi orgullo  es tan mezquino que yo uso mi raciocinio para ignorarlas, y me encierro en mí misma para no hacerlas, como el tratar de no escribir este blog! Y todo pasa en una forma tan sutil a nivel de mi inconsciente que ni cuenta me doy. Es un pecado de mi carne y muy difícil de resistir porque luce tan razonable, tan real, y termina distanciándome de hacer las cosas que debo para el Reino de Dios, o me manda a hacer cosas las cuales yo no puedo cumplir, simplemente porque no son la voluntad de Dios. Es una forma de persecución contra mí misma, y también le niega a Dios la oportunidad de hacer lo milagroso porque  yo rehúso hacer lo ridículo.

Yo siempre he creído que ser “esclavo-a” del Señor es uno de los grandes temas de la Palabra de Dios. Jesús vino a servir. El orgullo termina produciendo miedo, una forma de parálisis espiritual, y es muy difícil de resistirlo porque es tan razonable, y sin embargo, interfiere con mi trabajo de servir a Dios y al prójimo. La fuente de este orgullo puede originarse en respeto humano, miedo a perder amistades o un trabajo, o el no querer deshacerme de mis planes para el futuro y que me puede hacer lucir como una tonta. El problema central es que yo casi no reconozco my orgullo porque mi raciocinio prevalece, aunque esté fundado en una premisa errónea. De nuevo, muestra como yo me amo a mí misma tanto que no quiero  arriesgarme con formas de conducta que puedan arruinar mi reputación, mi popularidad, o fallar en hacer lo que otros esperan de mí.

Es muy importante recordar que los niños pequeños, excepto por sus necesidades básicas de solventar su hambre, frío o sueño, no tienen ningún otro mayor problema que necesite su auto-negación, y aún más importante, tienen cero cantidad de orgullo. Ellos son taaan libres… Pero a medida que dejo mi infancia, mis cruces aumentan a medida que  mi orgullo se desarrolla (gracias al pecado original), y pedir a diario por Su misericordia es una necesidad para poder manejar nuestras debilidades humanas. Por eso, no debe pasar ni un solo día sin decir desde mi corazón, “Jesucristo, Hijo de Dios, ten misericordia de mí, una pecadora o un pecador.” Lo peor del orgullo es que es muy sutil. Pero en mi pequeña experiencia en este correr de la vida espiritual, el desaliento nunca debe ser parte de nuestro reconocer de este pecado. Jesús fue enfático en decir que no tuviéramos miedo. Él lo hizo todo por nosotros. En la biblia tenemos esta historia que claramente expresa cómo siempre Él se mantiene cerca ganando nuestras batallas así como el Antiguo Testamento lo predijo (Éxodo 14:14). Aquí está la historia…

Juan 21 describe a 7 de los discípulos, entre ellos Pedro, y quienes decidieron ir a pescar. Ya habían visto a Jesús dos veces antes de su ascensión, una de ellas cuando él apareció para que Tomás le inspeccionara sus huellas y que así creyera en su resurrección. Se pasaron toda la noche pescando y no hubo ningún pez que quisiese entrar en su red. Procedieron entonces a devolverse a la playa y a unas 100 yardas antes de llegar, vieron a Jesús quién les preguntó si habían cogido algo, pero no lo reconocieron. Cuando le contestaron que no habían tenido éxito, Él los mandó a tirar la red en el lado derecho de la barca, y de nuevo esto en aguas muy poco profundas y le obedecieron a este extraño con algo tan ridículo, y entonces ni pudieron halar la red dentro de la barca porque había 53 peces en ella. Fue entonces que lo reconocieron y hasta comieron el desayuno que Jesús les tenía preparado de pescado y pan.

Sugerencias en esta historia:

1 ¿Cuántas veces caminamos en nuestra vida sin reconocer a Jesús en los pobres, los necesitados, en nuestros enemigos? Algo interesante para reflexionar para este tiempo de Adviento.

2. Si los apóstoles no hubiesen hecho lo ridículo, esto es, tirar la red en el lado incorrecto de la barca y en aguas no profundas, no hubiesen tenido este milagro tan grande adonde aun los pobres pescados fueron ordenados a venir a estas aguas cercanas a la playa…

3. Jesús hubiése hecho el máximo con sólo proveer este milagro, pero Él demostró su ternura como lo que siente la mamá por su bebé en el vientre, y anticipó la necesidad que tenían de comer ya que habían estado pescando toda la noche. ¡Cuánto amor! Uau!

4. El Señor tiene siempre razones para pedirnos que hagamos ciertas cosas, aunque estas luzcan ridículas. Nuestra carne, el mundo y el demonio nos tratarán de convencer para que usemos nuestra razón, y lo peor es que a nosotros nos encanta hacerlo de manera de poder lucir “normal” ante los demás y no locos de atar. Déjenme decirles que a medida que me encontré llamada a hacer lo ridículo, y con gran esfuerzo personal rogándole al Espíritu Santo para que Su misericordia  reinara sobre mis decisiones a medida que las obedecía, me encontré con muchos milagros y con paz, gozo y total confianza (fe sin miedo) que me lanzaron a nuevos picos de intimidad con Dios. Cuando dejamos de usar nuestra razón pero bajo la sombrilla de Su Divina Misericordia, se convierte en una forma de confianza que a su vez produce más de Su misericordia, y nuestro orgullo de desvanece poquito a poquito, y no se queda estancado. En mi próximo “blog” contemplaré de cómo el mundo manufactura cruces para nosotros.

Como un ejemplo de Su ternura en mi vida, relato que desde que me movilicé a este Estado adonde no tengo licencia para practicar medicina y yo no tengo médicos encargados de mi salud, a no ser que algún día los necesite para cirugías o enfermedades mayores, tuve que ordenar mis medicinas a una farmacia en un lugar lejano y  usando mi licencia de otro Estado. El Zovirax se me terminó hace como un mes, una droga contra viruses y lo necesitaba, y como no puedo correr a la farmacia más cercana, tuve que ordenarlo por teléfono y esperar que llegara en unos cuatro días. Poco después de ordenarlo, me encontré con dos cápsulas de Zovirax en el suelo, y ni había abierto ningún envase con drogas y estaba segura que las había terminado hacía mucho tiempo. Corrí a lavarlas y me las tomé…  Estas cápsulas se convirtieron en un milagro como los pescados de la historia bíblica. Él quería asegurarse de que yo supiera que estaba cerca y encargado de todas mis batallas… Y les aseguro que estoy más enamorada de Él ahora que antes de recibir este regalo de Su amor. Con el salmista tengo que gritar a todo mundo por ahí y como lo hizo María Magdalena que  “Él es bondadoso y su misericordia es eterna. Está Vivo. Vengan a ver.”

 

 


